All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please do not post questions about data recovery cases here (use this forum instead). This forum is for topics on finding new ways to recover data. Accessing firmware, writing programs, reading bits off the platter, recovering data from dust...



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: February 26th, 2014, 18:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9068
Location: Australia
Analysis of Seagate LOD firmware image file:
http://malthus.zapto.org/viewtopic.php? ... 3166#p3166

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 27th, 2014, 16:17 
Offline

Joined: March 27th, 2014, 16:10
Posts: 1
Location: New Zealand
Has anyone had any luck with this?

We have an MD1200 with 12xST31000424SS Seagate drives running in it, 3 with KS68 firmware, and 9 with 0006.

The 9 with the stock firmware are listed as Non-Critical and lets you set up a virtual disk, but the controller did not get past 28% in over a week for the background initialization task for a 10 disk Raid10 with 2 hot spares.

I have been trying to figure out a way to upgrade the 0006 drives to KS68 firmware, they are the same physical hardware, so it should be possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: August 26th, 2014, 9:00 
Offline

Joined: August 26th, 2014, 8:47
Posts: 1
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Hey guys, anyone made any improvement in the firmware update issues? I have 10 600GB 15K SEAGATE that work just fine on my old MD1000 and want to migrate them to my new MD3220. I just don;t want to purchase 10 new disks...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: January 16th, 2015, 10:31 
Offline

Joined: January 16th, 2015, 10:28
Posts: 1
Location: United Kingdom
I'm having a similar issue with some HGST 450GB 15K drives that were pulled from a Hitachi SAN, I acquired them very cheaply £10 per drive (I have 5 of them) and am trying to figure our how to re-configure them to work in my home LAB server.

They are recognised by my SAS raid controller a Perc H800, but any attempt to create a drive group fails.

I assume because they have the same issue a custom firmware to work with the SAN that the raid controller doesn't understand.

So if you figure out how to flash SAS drives and change their firmware I've very interested in how you achieved this :-)

Thanks,


Andy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 16th, 2015, 14:47 
Offline

Joined: March 16th, 2015, 14:39
Posts: 1
Location: Brazil
I´m trying to modify DELL image.
Download:
http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/ ... erId=C1MY4

Extract:
C:\Temp\SAS-Drive_Firmware_C1MY4_WN32_KS6B_A06.EXE /s /e=c:\dellfw

Changed with Hexaeditor the Dell header and tried to flash:

SASDUPIE.exe -u -f -o update.xml -debug debug.log

It recognize the Seagate Retail drive, but failed install.

Does anyone tried this?



Debug file:

<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceID [020798
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceName [0 ST32000444SS
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceID [120797
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceName [1 ST31000424SS
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceID [200000
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>deviceName [2 ST3500414SS
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>SASHardDriveDUPDevice: Image version set: KS6B
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>DUPWrapper: populate rc=f
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Comparing device ID:20798 with 00000
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Comparing device ID:20797 with 00000
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Comparing device ID:00000 with 00000
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>depCheck: Found matching device

<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Calling writeBuffer
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>SASHardDriveDUPDevice::updateDevice: Using Full Download
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>BufferSize=5f5e100
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>BufferSize=5f5e100
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>bufferSize=e4600 bufPointer=0
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>bufferSize=e4600 bufPointer=0 BufferSize=5f5e100
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>@2 bufferBytesToSend=e4600
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Sending e4600 bytes --- 0 to go
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>bufPointer=0
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>bufferBytesToSend=e4600
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>doProcessLibCommand: Calling ProcessLibCommand
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 2 calling ProcessLibCommand 1
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Starting ProcessLibCommand 1
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 1: StoreLib
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 1: Is a StoreLib loaded?
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 1: Calling LSI
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 1: After Calling LSI
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>ProcessLibCommand 2 Exit
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>doProcessLibCommand: After Calling ProcessLibCommand
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>WriteBuffer: Return code from ProcessLibCommand = 2d
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Got an error from writebuffer
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>Finished writeBuffer
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>DUPWrapper: updateDevice complete
<Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM><Mon Mar 16 03:36:12 PM>DUPWrapper:Device failed to update successfully


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 17th, 2015, 15:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1456
Location: Providence, RI
Seems like a lot of work to go through when the issue can simply be resolved by replacing the RAID card. Dell RAID is crap in my opinion anyway, why not just replace the card and be done with it?

_________________
Hard Drive & RAID Data Recovery Services
https://www.data-medics.com/raid-data-recovery/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 26th, 2015, 6:14 
Offline

Joined: March 20th, 2015, 8:12
Posts: 1
Location: Swtzerland
I'am also trying to put the Dell Firwmare on a Non-Dell drive. In my case it's an Western Digital WD3001FYYG and I'am trying to install this firmware:
http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/ ... erId=CKTR9

I've also extracted the exe using the commandline parameters and modified the firmware file using a hex editor. I've simply replaced the hardware ID 30692 with 00000 so that the SASDUPIE.exe finds a match for the Non-Dell drive. With this modified firmware file I've got another error. In the log I found the following lines:

doProcessLibCommand: After Calling ProcessLibCommand
SASHardDriveDUPDevice::CheckDrivePreReqs: SL_GET_LD_OF_PD failed: rc =800e
DUPWrapper: error from depCheck:1c

Does anyone have an idea what this error this means? I've attached the complete log and de debug.xml as attachments.


Attachments:
debug.log [70.92 KiB]
Downloaded 185 times
update.xml [473 Bytes]
Downloaded 192 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 6th, 2016, 8:38 
Offline

Joined: March 6th, 2016, 7:36
Posts: 2
Location: TENNESSEE
Hey
I have a DELL HDD firmware issue also....
I just bought 2 ea Dell R710 servers coming off lease.
I have 1 as a spare parts chassis with no HDD's, CPU's, Memory. The 2nd has 2 hex core CPU's 3.46Mhz, 144GB ram, AND 8ea -146Gb full DELL certified SAS 15K HDD's.
The service tags indicate that both systems went under warrantee July 2011.
SO I can assume that the HDD's are at lease 5 yrs. old and (worst case)have 4yrs+ of 24/7 running time on them.
I am going to bring the system up with Win7 Ultimate (which is not supported by Dell on the R710 but has been done by 1 or more in the internet blogs I have read).
I plan to load windows using Raid 1 (mirroring) on hdd's 0 & 1 using the Dell integrated Perc H700.
I will then set up on the remaining 6 hdd's (hdd's 2-7) a Raid 5.
All of that just to prove out the hardware and system will run on the R710.

NOW to my issue.
If all of the above works I want to go to at least 300GB or more on all 8 HDD drives and keep them DELL cert.'s SAS 15K rpm.
Now most of you are taking your calculators out and doing the math. OEM $900+- or DELL cert. $2000+- for just 300GB.
So here is the question.
If I buy 2 what ever size Dell cert.'s (USED off lease wore out) drives and 2 Seagate OEM exact hardware HDD's (ST9300xxxxx).
CAN I swap the drive PC boards or the firmware chips or ??????

Not as simple as I hope BUT has anyone tried???

ALSO - Why not use some HDD surgery and swap out the insides. basically re-manufacture the HDD with the Seagate OEM parts>>>(motor bearings, platters, R/W heads and drive for it.)

Wess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 6th, 2016, 14:40 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 2973
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Say the hardware components are swapped and so on, wouldn't the firmware problem still exist?

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 6th, 2016, 19:45 
Offline

Joined: March 6th, 2016, 7:36
Posts: 2
Location: TENNESSEE
I am saying replace the mechanical parts - bearings, motor, servo for R/W head, the head it self, platters etc. I do not think any of that has a serial # or ID on it EXCEPT maybe the platters and if there is no damage to the original Dell platters then you might get away with re-using them. But the main wear is in the moving parts. i.e. motor, bearings, head servo, and head arm w/heads too.

To do all that you need a Hepa box and the steady hands of a pickpocket to take 2 drives apart and put 1 back together. Cost is ~ $120 for a new 300GB Seagate HARDWARE matched drive to a Dell/Seagate 300GB drive AND a one time cost to put together a clean room Hepa box. I have done it or at least assisted in designing and building 3 of them. We used a purchased one as a pattern. All 3 worked but it took a lot of thought on how to build some of the parts and create a working workable clean room glove box work station with loading and unloading drawers.

The box is a lot of work so swapping the PC board or just the firmware chip(if possible) might work but I have a feeling there is an ID or serial # on the platters that will cause a problem too. BUT maybe not.....

DATA RECOVERY guru's may have some knowledge of platter ID's and serial #'s. But I know some things have to be held close as it comes from job related experience and steps into trade secrets and other legal issues.
But the price difference of $120 OEM vs $250 DELL cert. makes it impractical for hobbyist's and retired senior citizens to keep all the bells and whistle's running on a off lease server. :>))


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Need to put Dell firmware to Seagate SAS drive - need he
PostPosted: March 7th, 2016, 12:11 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 2973
Location: Massachusetts, USA
In most cases, the bulk of firmware resides on the disk itself, hence swapping hardware components will not resolve the issue.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group