All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please do not post questions about data recovery cases here (use this forum instead). This forum is for topics on finding new ways to recover data. Accessing firmware, writing programs, reading bits off the platter, recovering data from dust...



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SCSI newbie trying to issue SCSI "MODE SELECT"
PostPosted: January 15th, 2013, 20:57 
Offline

Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 17:37
Posts: 9
Location: Texas
I'm trying to issue a MODE SELECT, and am getting SK/ASC/ASCQ == 5/0x26/0
[ILLEGAL REQUEST / INVALID FIELD IN PARAMETER LIST].

There are so many ways to obtain that result... I'd love someone to review what I've got, to knock out any trivial problems. Thanks in advance:

Platform: FreeBSD 9.0
Controller: Adaptec 51645
Software: in-house HDD control software

I'm successfully issuing MODE SENSE, with the following results:

Code:
PS=1; SPF=0; PC=0x8; LEN=18
DEFAULT MODE PARAMS:
0000: 14 00 ff ff 00 00 00 00
0008: ff ff 80 08 00 00 00 00
0016: 00 00


Code:
PS=1; SPF=0; PC=0x8; LEN=18
CURRENT MODE PARAMS:
0000: 10 00 ff ff 00 00 00 00
0008: ff ff 80 08 00 00 00 00
0016: 00 00



I see that the 'WCE' (write cache enable) bit is not set in current page, but is on default page. One might presume it's supported, and it's desirable to have it enabled. I issue the following MODE SELECT:

Code:
CDB: 55 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 1c 00
DATA:
0000: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
0008: 08 12 14 00 ff ff 00 00
0016: 00 00 ff ff 80 08 00 00
0020: 00 00 00 00


and obtain: SK=0x5; ASC=0x26; ASCQ=0x0

Anything obvious?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SCSI newbie trying to issue SCSI "MODE SELECT"
PostPosted: January 15th, 2013, 22:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3561
Location: Chicago
You forgot the page code(8) in CDB2
I'm also not sure why you using LLBA bit in CDB1

_________________
SAN, NAS, RAID, Server, and HDD Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SCSI newbie trying to issue SCSI "MODE SELECT"
PostPosted: January 15th, 2013, 23:12 
Offline

Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 17:37
Posts: 9
Location: Texas
Clarify, my bad: these are MODE SENSE (10) and MODE SELECT (10).

LLBAA is on the MODE SENSE;
bit in similar position on MODE SELECT (10) is "PF".

Regardless, I did find a problem elsewhere - and it's working just fine now. Thanks for your eyes!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SCSI newbie trying to issue SCSI "MODE SELECT"
PostPosted: January 16th, 2013, 10:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 3561
Location: Chicago
Right, sorry for misleading you

_________________
SAN, NAS, RAID, Server, and HDD Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group