All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


No new topics are allowed in this forum. Please use other forums to create topics.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HowTO How To replace Maxtor Calypso III board
PostPosted: June 28th, 2006, 9:57 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2006, 13:51
Posts: 113
Hi you all, this is the answer I received directly from Maxtor

Quote:
Dear Mr. Robert,...

here is the paragraph that deals with your model type (DiamondMax Plus 9):

For the following Maxtor hard drive models: Fireball 3, DiamondMax 16, DiamondMax Plus 8, DiamondMax Plus 9, Diamond Max 10 and all MaxLine products there is also a GTLA Number on the model (next to barcode on the bottom of the drive). Format 1Y222J2223322. 1, 2 and 3 stand for numbers, Y and J for letters.
The numbers 1 and 3 as well as the letter Y need to be identical to be able to replace the PCB on these drives.

This number can be found on the large sticker on the top of the drive.

Unfortunately we can not give you any more information than this. Any of your DiamondMax Plus 9 drives could possibly have a matching PCB, however it is most likely to be an older one as the drive in question is almost 3 years old.

Kind regards,

Gisela Schubert
Technical Support
Maxtor Ireland Ltd.



This mean that the board and its firmware are disk size indipendent and so if you have a 120 / 160 and so on defective board, you can replace it with a 60 / 80 or what you want board.

Cheers :wink:

Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 28th, 2006, 10:34 
Offline

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 8:21
Posts: 760
Thank you for this info!

This should really simplify the process of finding a matching pcb for those who do not repair drives every day.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 28th, 2006, 16:15 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2006, 13:51
Posts: 113
You welcome

_________________
_________________________________
Servizi di recupero dati hard disk, NAS, Server, SAN, RAID, Pen Drive, CF, SD, microSD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 29th, 2006, 3:45 
Offline

Joined: June 26th, 2006, 17:40
Posts: 4
What is the email of Maxtor Ireland technical support?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 29th, 2006, 6:52 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2006, 13:51
Posts: 113
It is a noreply one.

I've wrote them through the web contact form.

Robert

_________________
_________________________________
Servizi di recupero dati hard disk, NAS, Server, SAN, RAID, Pen Drive, CF, SD, microSD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ......
PostPosted: June 29th, 2006, 7:04 
Offline

Joined: October 7th, 2005, 2:03
Posts: 154
Location: serbia
My expirience:

For DiamondMax Plus 9 with code:YAR41BW0

each pcb is compatible for every capacity (GB): 60,80,120,160....
and for MaxLinePlus II (with the same code YAR41BW0)

..............


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2006, 6:16 
Offline

Joined: September 22nd, 2006, 6:12
Posts: 1
I have two Maxtor 80Gb drives with the codes:


6Y080M042602J and:

6Y080M042732J



Can I not change the circuit boards on these drives?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2006, 9:41 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2571
Location: Hungary
Hi,

u may try it, the board difference will not cause damage. But there are things U have to be aware of:
1. if the donor board's FW is not compatible the drive may click continuously or just click one and not recalibrate,
2. if the preamp inside the bad HDD is damaged, the good board will be damaged too.

regards,
pepe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 9th, 2006, 16:25 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2927
Another way of matching PCBs is to match the code on the reverse of the PCB. always works for me :D

Though this is slightly harder to match than matching characters in the model name!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ......
PostPosted: January 23rd, 2007, 1:57 
Offline

Joined: January 23rd, 2007, 1:46
Posts: 10
gsimon wrote:
For DiamondMax Plus 9 with code:YAR41BW0 each pcb is compatible for every capacity (GB): 60,80,120,160.... and for MaxLinePlus II (with the same code YAR41BW0)


I have a 250GB Maxline Plus II with codes YAR41BW0 and 7Y250P00628R1.

I have seen replacement PCB's that match all chip codes and pcb number (301862101), etc., but come from 120 or 160GB drives. Instead of starting 7Y..., they begin 6Y....

The way I read the original post, these will not work, but I was wondering if you have evidence otherwise. It seems you may have different experience. Thanks to anyone for input.

qtonic


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 23rd, 2007, 14:38 
Offline

Joined: June 27th, 2006, 11:33
Posts: 2314
Location: In ur HDD !
No friend this will not work because both these hdd dont have the same firmware will cause cliking .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 28th, 2007, 10:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 11:12
Posts: 289
Location: Romania
Hi

A friend of mine come to me with this hdd: 6Y060L0420401, fw. YAR41VW0 and the PCB is CALYPSO.The hdd spin up but straightway start to make a sound like an hic-up and clicking....I tryed to start it with an loader(i found an exactly one) but still the same : hic-up sound an clicking, no way i can enter the SA area.

Another thing i did was to cange the PCB, but i can't find an CALYPSO pcb only CALYPSO III pcb (80 and 120Gb model,fw. YAR41BW0). After pcb swap the hdd does't make that sound, not clicking but of course don't recalibrate neither.

My question: are those boards, CALYPSO and CALYPSO III compatible?...or what is the good solution in this case?

Unfortunately the data is wanted from the hdd.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 28th, 2007, 13:04 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2571
Location: Hungary
probably U need to swap the ROM chip (M25P05, 8pin IC), and give it a try.

pepe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 1st, 2007, 3:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 11:12
Posts: 289
Location: Romania
Hi pepe

Thanks for answer me.

In my opinion, because after the pcb swap the hdd don't click and don't make that sound anymore, i think that the preamp/heads are ok. Correct me if i'm wrong.

And yes, i'll try the ROM swap and see what's happening after that.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2007, 8:07 
Offline

Joined: March 5th, 2007, 7:49
Posts: 4
Hi, first post so please excuse noob here. :oops:
I have an 80 GB Maxtor Diamondmax +9 HDD and the "Smooth" chip on the pcb nearly caught fire. (Smoked heavily)
I would like to recover some of the data on the drive if possible but don't fancy shelling out hundreds of pounds. :shock:
I have read that pcb swapping might be possible and looked at the codes mentioned in this thread and elsewhere.


Code: YAR41BWO
N,F,B,A (ARE THESE LETTERS CRITICAL) ?
SN:Y244TZ0E
6Y080L0422011
The pcb is a Calypso III and a sticker states F4FYA.
Ardent C8-1
Smooth L725OE 1.2

I have looked at the pcb replacement site in Malaysia but couldn't find a match for the N,F,B,A or F4FYA
http://www.softcom.com.my/Maxtor_Latest.htm

Could someone clarify for me EXACTLY what is critical and what is NOT ?

Many Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2007, 15:46 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2571
Location: Hungary
Hi,

FYA is critical.

pepe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 6th, 2007, 8:06 
Offline

Joined: March 5th, 2007, 7:49
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply pepe.


So any that have FYA are acceptable ?
There are about four all ending FYA on the website I posted previously.
D6FYA
L6FYA
M6FYA
U1 FYA

It cannot be that easy, the L6FYA matches mobo and other chip description codes.

What is the difference between F4FYA and L6FYA ?
What does the "*" denote in **FYA ?
Can the first two letters be ignored ?

Thank you for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 6th, 2007, 19:14 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2571
Location: Hungary
Hi,

I did not say the first two is *dontcare*, but that the last 3 is critical.
that is it should work in most cases.

pepe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 9th, 2007, 21:39 
Offline

Joined: October 7th, 2005, 2:03
Posts: 154
Location: serbia
D6FYA is used on disk with f/w code YAR41VW0
AND IT IS NOT compatible
with:
F4FYA
L6FYA
M6FYA......
that are used on hdd with f/w code YAR41BW0

All of these:

F4FYA
L6FYA
M6FYA......are fully compatible....!!!

U1FYA is SATA interface.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 24th, 2007, 7:19 
Offline

Joined: March 5th, 2007, 7:49
Posts: 4
Many thanks to all here on the forum.
I managed to locate and purchase a secondhand hdd unit that was a L6FYA and replaced the pcb with no problems.
I had to power the HDD on and off a few times but then it whirred and clicked into life and I retrieved the data I needed.
I have now purchased a new HDD and backed up my data on to DVD and the new HDD (as I should have done before).

Finally is there any reason why the replaced pcb should be considered less reliable than the original unit ?
(This was the main reason for me purchasing another new HDD)
Or should I thank my lucky stars I got my data back and dispose of the maxtor drive entirely.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 94 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group