All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 12th, 2013, 17:09 
Offline

Joined: March 12th, 2013, 17:07
Posts: 3
Location: United States
Hello,

I am curious about how the Bandura performs with data recovery from an SSD. I did a forum search and couldn't find much on this topic. Is it only a suitable solution to traditional HDDs?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 13th, 2013, 2:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 2nd, 2008, 12:14
Posts: 446
Location: Austria / Europe
Just tried to image a 250GB Samsung 840 to a second one of this type of SSD:

Averange transfer speed: 216mb/s
Imaging time for whole 250GB: less than 18min

Why shouldnt it work - its like a standard SATA hdd for the tool. :)

+++


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 13th, 2013, 10:25 
Offline

Joined: March 12th, 2013, 17:07
Posts: 3
Location: United States
falther wrote:
Just tried to image a 250GB Samsung 840 to a second one of this type of SSD:

Averange transfer speed: 216mb/s
Imaging time for whole 250GB: less than 18min

Why shouldnt it work - its like a standard SATA hdd for the tool. :)

+++


Thanks for the input... was the source drive damaged in any way? Just wondering how it performs with damaged SSDs as it seems it can handle a standard HDD that is damaged pretty well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 13th, 2013, 18:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 13th, 2010, 8:53
Posts: 70
Location: Bergen, Norway
I find the Bandura ideal for cloning SSD disks which are readable. E.g lack of imaging by head functionality is not a problem.

Recently I have seen a couple of SSD disks which got stuck after read errors. Not all read errors, just at certain LBAs. A power reset was needed to see the disks ready again. The Bandura imaged these SSDs very nicely. Seen below is a Bandura chewing through a number of read errors. When done with this particular disk I was missing roughly 1k sectors. But for once I was lucky, all important files were intact :)

The Bandura's maximum number of power resets per session is 100. Which is easily exceeded using it this way. However, this is no show stopper. You can resume the job, then with 100 more power resets.


Code:

                 Source: Corsair CSSD-F120GB2, 2.0, 10516505330003430086
                 Target: SAMSUNG HD103SJ, 1AJ10001, S246J90B147508

                 Status: Paused (pass 2/2)

           Imaging mode: All sectors
                Pattern: 000000
          Pass settings: 2 pass (micro timeouts)
                Reverse: Off

                   Time: 3 hours 1 minute
      Sectors scheduled: 234 441 648
         Sectors imaged: 219 449 832
            Read errors: 80

Log:

172:27| Imaging paused
172:27| Read error: 8 905 337
170:50| Performing power cycle...
170:30| Resetting disk...
170:30| Source disk hung up
170:20| Read error: 8 905 336
168:43| Performing power cycle...
168:23| Resetting disk...
168:23| Source disk hung up
168:13| Read error: 8 905 335
166:36| Performing power cycle...
166:16| Resetting disk...
166:16| Source disk hung up
166:06| Read error: 8 905 334
164:27| Performing power cycle...
164:07| Resetting disk...
164:07| Source disk hung up
163:57| Read error: 8 905 333
162:24| Imaging resumed
162:02| Imaging paused


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 13th, 2013, 20:28 
Offline

Joined: March 12th, 2013, 17:07
Posts: 3
Location: United States
Great info Eleg, thank you for sharing the data. I am taking a long hard look at the Bandura as my first major piece of hardware, so I really appreciate any and all info related to it. It sounds like you are pretty happy with the unit... do you have any of the others such as the insight? It looks great, but the Bandura is more in my league price-wise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bandura SSD support?
PostPosted: March 13th, 2013, 21:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2009, 3:26
Posts: 1691
Location: French Polynesia Tahiti
I have the insight and this is a great tool. I find out that cloning with this is very good and the speeds are nice. You can clone any drive with this unit. The ethernet Inisight which I have is very fast and has good performance on the jobs I do on this tool. I like the features in this tool and if you can afford this one I would suggest that you might go with it.

_________________
Iorana Haraharaini


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group