All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Basic newbie help to diagnose bad drives with HD Doctor
PostPosted: March 16th, 2010, 21:27 

hi forum,

i'm very new to hd doctor so i'm having a bit of trouble just figuring out what basic steps to take to diagnose problem drives.

so far, since getting the hd doctor suite, i've had two WD ROYL 3.5" sata drives. both exhibit similar problems: most importantly: when connected to hd doctor and powered on they both show "error" and can't "load from hdd" and also in both Hi and Lo speed modes, none of the modules are visible or readable. i can put drive in safe mode and connect to hd doctor, power on, and get "pcb" - but not sure what can be done from there (modules still not available, rom not readable, etc).

at this point, i only have one of the drives left -- WD10EAVS: MDL: WD10EAVS-00D7B0 (PCB: 2060-701537-004 rev a - STICKER: 2061-701537-Q00 AD). The pcb looks brownish in spots where it should be silver. when powered on the drive starts up, spins, then tries to read (the sa?), then makes sounds like it's "seeking" or trying to find something it can't, then the noise gets a bit louder, then it stops seeking.

before getting the hd doctor i would have written this off as bad heads (which I don't replace), but since i have this device now, is there anyway to determine if the problem is indeed heads, or perhaps a bad pcb that is misdirecting the heads - giving the impression of bad heads?

is the first step in these types of cases almost always locating a matching PCB?

thanks for your help and sorry for the newbie questions -- and thanks to all the member of this forum for posting your knowledge, i've learned a lot just from reading posts over the past few months.

brian

Post subject: Re: Basic newbie help to diagnose bad drives with HD Doctor
PostPosted: March 16th, 2010, 23:10 

bcometa wrote:
hi forum,