All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 6th, 2014, 7:16 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2014, 7:07
Posts: 5
Location: NAIROBI
Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB, while they are 500 GB and 1 TB?

Please help

naph


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 6th, 2014, 9:05 
Offline

Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 7:47
Posts: 299
Location: slovenija
Helo NAPHTALI,


wher is this shown, which tools and which version of software you use.
Please more details

Best regards

Jure


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 6th, 2014, 10:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1960
Location: Ontario, Canada
perhaps a photo of the hard drive label along with a shot of what you are seeing on the screen would help us better understand what you are seeing...then we can advise accordingly.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 4:40 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2014, 7:07
Posts: 5
Location: NAIROBI
during booting up of the computer is when i see that message


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 6:45 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2014, 7:07
Posts: 5
Location: NAIROBI
My hdd is detected 0MB


Attachments:
File comment: PICTURE1
IMG_20140807_115240 (1).jpg
IMG_20140807_115240 (1).jpg [ 399.34 KiB | Viewed 2879 times ]
File comment: PICTURE 2
IMG_20140807_115240.jpg
IMG_20140807_115240.jpg [ 399.34 KiB | Viewed 2879 times ]
File comment: PICTURE 3
IMG_20140807_115349.jpg
IMG_20140807_115349.jpg [ 365.73 KiB | Viewed 2879 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 7:05 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 3009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Hi,
How new is your motherboard? It may need a BIOS update.

do the drives work ok in windows(I assume you are using windows)

what version of windows, and is it just the message you are worried about or does your PC have problems?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 9:28 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2014, 7:07
Posts: 5
Location: NAIROBI
Am using windows 7 and 2008 server


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 9:37 
Offline

Joined: August 6th, 2014, 7:07
Posts: 5
Location: NAIROBI
My Western Digital 20gig hard drive is not booting. When i go to CMOS setup it shows 0.00MB as Capacity. I am running in Windows XP service pack 2. I tried slaving it on five machines and it still reads 0.00MB. When the machine boots into windows i cannot see the drive. Even when i go to MMC its not there on all five machines. I tried to do an install of XP, 98, 95 and it's not responding. Even when i use boot diskettes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 10:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 3009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
so you don't need data off it then. Why are you trying to use a 20GB drive when you could get a replacement for next to nothing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why most of my drive are detected as 0GB
PostPosted: August 7th, 2014, 14:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10069
Location: Australia
AFAICT, when a drive reports a capacity of 0 LBAs, this usually indicates an internal problem, possibly a firmware fault. That's assuming that the drive hasn't powered up in standby.

I would start with the WD drive(s) and attempt to dump their resources (ROM and SA firmware) using a tool such as the demo version of SeDiv.

http://sediv2008.narod.ru/Easy3.9Passwo ... 567890.rar

In the case of the Seagate, I would connect to the drive's serial diagnostic port and examine the output. You would need a TTL adapter. The HDD Oracle forum has several examples.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group