All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 28th, 2015, 17:36 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2015, 17:29
Posts: 8
Location: Germany
Hello Leute,

I want to get access to the Service Area of hard disk, I have

Seatgate (ST 3120026AS), (ST380815AS) , (ST3500418AS),
WD 2500KS-00MJB0 and
Samsung HD103SI


at my disposal for this experiment.

Any tips/ pointers will be highly appreciated :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 28th, 2015, 18:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2975
Location: Adelaide, Australia
You only need to post in 1 section. Posting 6 of the same post will not win you any favours!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 28th, 2015, 19:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1936
Location: Ontario, Canada
How much money do you want to spend?

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 29th, 2015, 5:31 
Offline

Joined: February 8th, 2014, 8:08
Posts: 448
Location: Eastern Europe /recovering worldwide/
alphajatin wrote:
I want to get access to the Service Area of hard disk

What exactly you are looking to do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 29th, 2015, 17:52 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2015, 17:29
Posts: 8
Location: Germany
Dmitri wrote:
alphajatin wrote:
I want to get access to the Service Area of hard disk

What exactly you are looking to do?



I read a research paper about Service Area present on the PCB of a hard drive and it sparked my interest. I have collected all the spare hard drives from my friends to experiment, I consulted one of the professor about it and his reply was "Try to get the firmware -> Look for the Vendor Specific Commands (VSC) -> Use the VSC to get access.

I am a student and I can't afford PC 3000 U devices :'(

P.S. He is the one who referred me this site, maybe he is a member and looking carefully at this question.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 30th, 2015, 4:49 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 6947
Location: UK
Service area (SA) is not on the PCB.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: June 30th, 2015, 14:44 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2015, 17:29
Posts: 8
Location: Germany
pcimage wrote:
Service area (SA) is not on the PCB.



OMG! I have trying to reverse engineer firmware for the VSC to get access to the SA. if its not on the PCB then where is it?

And how can I access it? :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: July 2nd, 2015, 5:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 2661
Location: Greece
It's on the platters.

_________________
Northwind Data Recovery - Greece
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: July 2nd, 2015, 16:10 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 6947
Location: UK
northwind wrote:
It's on the platters.



:idea: Bingo! :-)

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: July 19th, 2015, 14:54 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2015, 14:43
Posts: 2
Location: Holland
Im very new to this forum so forgive my ignorance or incorrect information. (experts, please reply with correct answers or hints in the right direction)

If im correct you should either get the VSC (wich sound very logical to use to find those service areas)
from the firmware or software tools made for your specific hard-drives. these can be very vendor specific.

Firmware can be obtain in a few simple ways, some even cheap or free.
Getting the commands to actually work from one of the three ways to communicate with the harddrive is another story.

First firmware, either get the official or unofficial firmware update/repair tool and look in the binary for the firmware (try "reverse engineering").
Use a programmer or cheap adapter and try reading the onboard flashroms. BUT, not always do these romchips contain the full firmware, sometimes not at all.
Jtag, could be expensive, but can be build aswell for "free"... learn the jtag commands and try speaking to the devices on the pcb, one might be able to get the firmware.. maybe access the service area it self !!

Commands, well, you got either the firmware or some commands... connect to the harddrive and start talking to it.
Maybe use jtag, or a serial com on the RX and TX lines. There might be some ATA commands wich you can combine but this part I dont know much about.

base line is, is hardware hacking new, this would be a hard road. Software reverse engineering should also not scare you if nobody is sharing the easy parts here (Service or master commands, if they are locked behind "paywalls", reverse engineer them :D )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2015, 15:50 
Offline

Joined: May 21st, 2007, 16:10
Posts: 1441
Location: Gothenburg/ Sweden
northwind wrote:
It's on the platters.

Not on all drives :-)

_________________
Rescue IT Datarecovery service Sweden
Rescue IT Dataräddning Göteborg AB
http://www.rescue-it.se


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2015, 17:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2004, 20:06
Posts: 2770
Location: England
Toshiba

_________________
All went well until I plugged the drive in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2015, 17:41 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1289
Location: isreal
guru wrote:
Toshiba

G-List, password, SMART (and a few other non-critical modules) is on the service area on disk surface


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: August 4th, 2015, 8:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 2661
Location: Greece
I thought we were talking about OP's drives, ie. Seagate, Samsung and WD.

_________________
Northwind Data Recovery - Greece
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can I access Service Area (SA)?
PostPosted: August 4th, 2015, 23:15 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2975
Location: Adelaide, Australia
seems a massive deficit in prerequisite experience/research.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group