All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Forensic Noob Questions
PostPosted: October 27th, 2015, 8:56 

Hey there guys. I am kinda new to this and am trying to switch careers into digital forensics. I already know a little something but am no where near the level most of you guys are. I thought I would put out a general list of questions I had and who ever knows the answer can put it out at their own leisure. It really would help me out a lot if anyone could help me out. Who knows maybe when I am a pro I could help you lol

1. What is a major difference between FAT12/16 and FAT32 that occurs during formatting?
2. What are the common names of the areas created when a volume is formatted with the FAT32 file system and what are the contents of the areas?
3. What is a pagefile.sys file and what does the Windows operating system use this file for?
4. What is a hiberfil.sys file and what does the windows operating system use this file for?
5. Where would you find Internet history records for Internet Explorer (version 8 or greater) in the windows 7 operating systems? What is the full path for it
6. Where would you find Internet history records for Internet Explorer running in the Metro interface?
7. What is the path you would use to determine whether or not a removable drive had been used on a computer?

Post subject: Re: Forensic Noob Questions
PostPosted: October 27th, 2015, 10:09 

I am not trying to be rude, but all of this info is already available. for most of us to answer technically, we would probably need to look it up ourselves so we got all the minutia right.. even if we know the general outline of the question.

the first question depends on the tool doing the formatting I would guess.. a camera, windows, Linux etc.. and I am not sure if you are asking what is the main difference between these filesystems, or other.

second: plenty of such resources: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc938438.aspx

3,4,5 any windows forensic blog