All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: May 31st, 2015, 20:17 
Offline

Joined: May 31st, 2015, 20:11
Posts: 2
Location: MIchigan
I'm looking for some tips on recovering a hardware G-Raid. The Enclosure died but I am certain the hard drives are still fine.
It is a 2x 2tb raid 0 array. I'm trying to figure the best software and the parameters to use to build a virtual array to recover the data.

Any tips out there?

Alternatively if anyone has an enclosure in the S/N range of MAHB370GDQ Model GR4 4000 (0G00273) it would be a good way to get rid of an old drive for decent dollars :-) I'll buy you a new thunderbolt version and pay shipping!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: May 31st, 2015, 20:25 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1198
Location: isreal
what about r-studio ?
have you tried ReclaiMe (its free)

but before you start to playing around with the drives i would strongly recommend to clone them first


Last edited by jermy on May 31st, 2015, 20:26, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: May 31st, 2015, 20:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9069
Location: Australia
freeflyfranz wrote:
Any tips out there?

Try reposting your question to the correct forum.

If you upload a detailed photo of the PCB inside the enclosure, there may be an easy DIY fix.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: G-Raid data recovery
PostPosted: May 31st, 2015, 20:50 
Offline

Joined: February 8th, 2014, 8:08
Posts: 431
Location: Eastern Europe /recovering worldwide/
freeflyfranz wrote:
I'm looking for some tips on recovering a hardware G-Raid.

Start with UFS Explorer RAID Recovery. If you're 120% sure that drives are OK, then work with them directly, but I'd still suggest to consider imaging them first anyway.

Should the software options won't work, I'll be happy to help remotely. If the issue is indeed enclosure only, then price will be more than affordable (new enclosure won't be necessary). Please check your PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: June 1st, 2015, 5:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2143
Location: Kuwait
jermy wrote:
what about r-studio ?
have you tried ReclaiMe (its free)

but before you start to playing around with the drives i would strongly recommend to clone them first


ReclaiMe : Useless App. tried it many times and NEVER worked
R-Studio & UFS are the one + Winhex of course if you know exactly what are you doing and looking for.

btw G-raid needs some custom work, never had an easy case with it.
you might be lucky never know.

good luck

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: June 4th, 2015, 7:49 
Offline

Joined: May 31st, 2015, 20:11
Posts: 2
Location: MIchigan
Thanks for the tips and offers of help everyone. Data-medics were able to use R-studio to help me recover. I'd post the solution but I didn't quite follow all the voodoo Jared had to do
to get it to work as G-raid requires non standard settings from the usual r-studio offerings.

For those who pm'd me and I didn't reply it's because I am new to the forums and it wouldn't allow me to. Sorry!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: G-Raid recovery
PostPosted: June 13th, 2015, 4:46 
Offline

Joined: March 7th, 2009, 12:43
Posts: 776
Location: World wide remote RAID help
freeflyfranz wrote:
Thanks for the tips and offers of help everyone. Data-medics were able to use R-studio to help me recover. I'd post the solution but I didn't quite follow all the voodoo Jared had to do
to get it to work as G-raid requires non standard settings from the usual r-studio offerings.

For those who pm'd me and I didn't reply it's because I am new to the forums and it wouldn't allow me to. Sorry!

Nothing really special, just need to set 512 Bytes stripe size.

_________________
http://www.angeldatarecovery.com/contact-us/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group