All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 12:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1479
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Are there any videos or manuals on how to set up a new chip in VNR.
I always ask support to set it up, but would like to learn how to do it myself.

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 13:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2977
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hi Tim ,
I would Say Check ID In VNR And Check Internet To See What Model Chip Then Download Datasheet ,Set Page And Block Size ,I Have No Idea how to check planes .Then In VNR Check If Block Size is OK Or Not By Seeing SA Area ,If Wrong Set Real Size in Page Config And In Future We Can Set Real Size In Config Only .Whic is All i Know :D

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 13:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1479
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
Hi Tim ,
I would Say Check ID In VNR And Check Internet To See What Model Chip Then Download Datasheet ,Set Page And Block Size ,I Have No Idea how to check planes .Then In VNR Check If Block Size is OK Or Not By Seeing SA Area ,If Wrong Set Real Size in Page Config And In Future We Can Set Real Size In Config Only .Whic is All i Know :D

I could not find any data about page and block size online.
The guys from VNR log in and set up chips without having a datasheet so it is possible.
Its from an old Tracfone and is a mix of NAND and RAM (from the phone specs).
I have set up the chip the best way I can working backwards from the chip size (and some guesswork).
I can see its not XOR'd.
There is no SA as such definable.
So its an interesting one.

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 13:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2977
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Well,
Some Of The Oldies Have Nothing Not Even Inversion .I Had a AU6984 Thr Other Days And Bingo No Inversion ,XOR Is A Totally Different Story ,Search For FAT Tables

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 15:31 
Offline

Joined: September 16th, 2015, 9:06
Posts: 139
Location: Poland
Setting up new config is not that easy and i doubt that it will be shown on a free webinar but it's worth trying to make them do it :)

_________________
Odzyskiwanie danych
sgdata.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: September 30th, 2020, 16:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1479
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
melvin wrote:
Setting up new config is not that easy and i doubt that it will be shown on a free webinar but it's worth trying to make them do it :)

:good: :good: :good:

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 1st, 2020, 3:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 13th, 2010, 11:17
Posts: 2658
Location: Kuwait
ddrecovery wrote:
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
Hi Tim ,
I would Say Check ID In VNR And Check Internet To See What Model Chip Then Download Datasheet ,Set Page And Block Size ,I Have No Idea how to check planes .Then In VNR Check If Block Size is OK Or Not By Seeing SA Area ,If Wrong Set Real Size in Page Config And In Future We Can Set Real Size In Config Only .Whic is All i Know :D

I could not find any data about page and block size online.
The guys from VNR log in and set up chips without having a datasheet so it is possible.
Its from an old Tracfone and is a mix of NAND and RAM (from the phone specs).
I have set up the chip the best way I can working backwards from the chip size (and some guesswork).
I can see its not XOR'd.
There is no SA as such definable.
So its an interesting one.


Use info. from Nand Reader it helps a lot, besides its free: http://www.flash-extractor.com/downloads/
and fill in the blanks & try
:mrgreen:

_________________
Kuwait Data Recovery - UNIX GTC
The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once. By: Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 1st, 2020, 8:07 
Offline

Joined: July 2nd, 2014, 8:05
Posts: 199
It is a tough topic.
There are several reasons (but mainly one) why we still did not published the instructions for that.
The obvious one is a complexity of the process. Lack of datasheets.
Even onfi page doesn't always have a proper config for reading (specifically for proper page addressing/filtering).
With latest chips sometimes it takes two devices at least to prove config.
It also depends on how full you chip is when you do a raw bitmap analysis.
But the main reason is that the process is not universal enough to be even called "technology".
It's basically guessing...then proving.
We tried to explain the subject on basic training. Didn't work out well, honestly.
We shifted this topic to advanced training, and ppl still having hard times to understand it.
If you messed up even slightly with chip config you end up with having to waste another hour(s) to adjust config and reread yet another 64GB or more...(and hope you haven't tried to correct ECC..+hours of wasted time).
As I said before somewhere on forum, we do help to find new configs remotely, even if you don't have active premium support subscription. (it is in our own interests too).

_________________
VISUAL NAND RECONSTRUCTOR. A big revolution in chip-off data recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 1st, 2020, 10:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1479
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Sasha Sheremetov wrote:
It is a tough topic.
There are several reasons (but mainly one) why we still did not published the instructions for that.
The obvious one is a complexity of the process. Lack of datasheets.
Even onfi page doesn't always have a proper config for reading (specifically for proper page addressing/filtering).
With latest chips sometimes it takes two devices at least to prove config.
It also depends on how full you chip is when you do a raw bitmap analysis.
But the main reason is that the process is not universal enough to be even called "technology".
It's basically guessing...then proving.
We tried to explain the subject on basic training. Didn't work out well, honestly.
We shifted this topic to advanced training, and ppl still having hard times to understand it.
If you messed up even slightly with chip config you end up with having to waste another hour(s) to adjust config and reread yet another 64GB or more...(and hope you haven't tried to correct ECC..+hours of wasted time).
As I said before somewhere on forum, we do help to find new configs remotely, even if you don't have active premium support subscription. (it is in our own interests too).

Thanks everyone and I will try the FE NAND Reader.
I understand the restrictions.
I guess its about time I did the advanced class Sasha.....
I put in a ticket yesterday so hopefully the guys will log in soon.
Best regards
Tim

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 1st, 2020, 12:14 
Offline

Joined: October 24th, 2009, 15:22
Posts: 710
Location: Poland
There is now one way to create config, sometimes it is quite easy, sometimes it is tricky. It will be hard make instructions for it. As Sasha say, it is some kind of guessing based on some expirience. Config is one of the most important key for recovery process, if it will be wrong, user waste a lot of time try solve dump which is unrecoverable ;)

_________________
Odzyskiwanie danych


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 3rd, 2020, 0:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 3618
Location: Adelaide, Australia
What I do is try and find the ID first and foremost if the chip isn't in the tools.

Then google for the chip package part number, the ID in different formats such as changing manufacturer byte, HEX etc

"45 3a a4 93"
"0x45 0x3a 0xa4 0x93"
"98 3a a4 93"
"0x98 0x3a 0xa4 0x93"

Just trying to find any hints. Usually there will be something somewhere, usbdev.ru, flashboot.ru, text files for flash MPtool configs, service manuals. the bmp view in VNR is very helpful, even if config is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to Set Up A New Chip ID in VNR
PostPosted: October 5th, 2020, 12:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1479
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
HaQue wrote:
What I do is try and find the ID first and foremost if the chip isn't in the tools.

Then google for the chip package part number, the ID in different formats such as changing manufacturer byte, HEX etc

"45 3a a4 93"
"0x45 0x3a 0xa4 0x93"
"98 3a a4 93"
"0x98 0x3a 0xa4 0x93"

Just trying to find any hints. Usually there will be something somewhere, usbdev.ru, flashboot.ru, text files for flash MPtool configs, service manuals. the bmp view in VNR is very helpful, even if config is wrong.

:good: :good: :good:

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group