HDD GURU FORUMS
http://forum.hddguru.com/

Question about Pair Element
http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=35948
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 13th, 2017, 13:06 ]
Post subject:  Question about Pair Element

Is there a way to only use one part of the Pair element. By that I mean applying the 'split by block' but not 'join by pairs'. I have a Sandisk chip and I have seen solutions where splitting by block and then applying joining by dump is the right mix. Is there a way I can do this in VNR?

Author:  Sasha Sheremetov [ October 13th, 2017, 14:15 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Yes there's at least 3 ways to do it in VNR

1 - Separate element does exactly what you need (page 21 of manual part 2)

2 - Offsets element (page 26 of manual part 2)

3 - Extract/Skip area functions from toolbar

Let me know page size and dump size to calculate parameters.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 13th, 2017, 14:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Sasha Sheremetov wrote:
Yes there's at least 3 ways to do it in VNR

1 - Separate element does exactly what you need (page 21 of manual part 2)

2 - Offsets element (page 26 of manual part 2)

3 - Extract/Skip area functions from toolbar

Let me know page size and dump size to calculate parameters.

38672007168
17664
Thanks Sasha.

Author:  Sasha Sheremetov [ October 14th, 2017, 17:07 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Use Separate element:
Number of partitions = 2
Movable block size = 17664
Area size = 38672007168

If you need a deeper assistance with the case drop message to Patryk (patryk@rusolut.com) he's our Sandisk expert.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 15th, 2017, 13:07 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

After that do we us Unite? If so I presume we use two inputs and what would the area size be?

Author:  Sasha Sheremetov [ October 15th, 2017, 15:10 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

How many dumps/chips you have?

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 15th, 2017, 15:15 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

One dump, one chip.

Author:  Sasha Sheremetov [ October 15th, 2017, 16:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Then there's nothing to unite.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 15th, 2017, 16:58 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Indeed hence my initial question. Several solutions in the PC3000 database have unite by dump after splitting blocks. All the cases are single chip sandisk cases.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 15th, 2017, 17:46 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

To give you a little background. Rusolut support signed in last week and helped with the case. Using the stadard Pair - Pair elements still leaves corrupt data. I looked at similar cases on PC3000 and the join by dump is used in many successful Sandisk single chip recoveries.

Author:  p_patryk [ October 16th, 2017, 12:53 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

How many planes do you have? You can check it in configuration window.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 16th, 2017, 13:05 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

It has 2 planes.

Author:  p_patryk [ October 16th, 2017, 15:45 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Use Pair Element:
Number of planes = 2
Movable block size = 35328
Area size = 38672007168

Then build Markers Table.

If you need a deeper assistance just let me know.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 16th, 2017, 16:49 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Unfortunately the software will not allow it. It will not allow changing block size to anything other than page size. Same with the area size (unless I missed something?).

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 17th, 2017, 14:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

ddrecovery wrote:
Unfortunately the software will not allow it. It will not allow changing block size to anything other than page size. Same with the area size (unless I missed something?).

Any other advice you can give would be appreciated.

Author:  HaQue [ October 17th, 2017, 19:35 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

can you post a screenshot of elements window, and include the structure?

I had one where I needed to add banks. I intended to setup like (plane)->(Bank)->(block)-(Page)->(data + SA)

but I could not set Bank. In the end I got rid of plane and started with Bank and it worked. I may have been doing something wrong but if previous elements aren't right things wont work.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 17th, 2017, 19:51 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Here you go :wink:

Attachments:
Page Structure.JPG
Page Structure.JPG [ 75.83 KiB | Viewed 7266 times ]
Elements.JPG
Elements.JPG [ 29.59 KiB | Viewed 7266 times ]

Author:  p_patryk [ October 18th, 2017, 10:06 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

If it is standard Sandisk, you don't have to split dump, so Separate element isn't necessary here.

I need to know one more thing: can you tell me or make screenshot of parameters of first pair element.

Also, can you explain me why you cannot edit parameters of pair element? This element has three fully adjustable parameters. You can change text fields of this element by pasting there value.

If to two inputs of unite element you connect same dump, in results, depend what parameters you type, you will get JBOD or RAID0.

Author:  ddrecovery [ October 18th, 2017, 20:01 ]
Post subject:  Re: Question about Pair Element

Many thanks Patryk. I have sent you a PM.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/