All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: MRT-Pro, about to purchase, how does it measure up
PostPosted: May 11th, 2015, 3:50 

Hi,

I am about to purchase a MRT-Pro, but would first like to hear other users experiences and should i do this. Has the investment in the equipment yielded the results and return you were looking for ? Do jobs take longer, are there issues getting things done ? Is support for firmware or other things an issue ?

I realise MRT-Pro is a new product, and thus it is easy to say there are problems. It is also about MRTLabs approach to solving problems that counts as well. In addition there will also likely be a few bad experiences among the many good ones, this is also expected. Please let me know the good and the bad.

Since I am new to this field, the MRT-Pro with its lower cost and seemingly similar functionality is attractive as opposed to PC-3000 with its excellent track record but far higher cost, but not at the cost of fewer cases solved, and thus lesser income as a result. I'd rather spend more initially and get more cases solved, thus increasing customer happiness and reputation for the company.

Your responses are eagerly awaited,

Regards,

Wayne (Nitrious)

Post subject: Re: MRT-Pro, about to purchase, how does it measure up
PostPosted: May 13th, 2015, 11:06 

You'll definitely be able to solve more cases with PC-3000, as it simply has a lot more features than anyone else. I'm not an MRT user, but from what I'm told it's decent tool. I've heard it's actually quite good for imaging unstable drives which is important. It can handle basic ROM reading/writing and basic firmware repairs. However it's lacking in some of the more advanced features.

If you need one tool that does it all PC-3000 is it. But, if you can't afford PC-3000 MRT might be a good alternative that can still handle most jobs.

I've actually been considering getting MRT just to take the load off my PC-3000 so I can dedicate it just for the harder cases.