All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Head map in Ram for WD problem
PostPosted: December 17th, 2016, 5:46 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 11:12
Posts: 295
Location: Romania
Hi guys

I want to ask the one of you guys who own MRT software this:
I have MRT Express (with DE) version brought about 15 days ago, so I'm new to this tool. I have installed the latest version of software and started to play with it. I've tested some utilities from Hitachi, Samsung and Seagate and all was ok (at least until now).

I have a WD drive , WD5000LPVX-80V0TT0 with a weak head. Enter the Marwell utility, all is ok, hdd have ID ,full sector access but of course , sectors form H1 are read slowly because H1 is weak. Now I wanted to do Head map in Ram and , to my surprise, when I press "RAM headmap edit" button , hdd make a loud click, go to busy make another click , hdd goes ready and utility say "Read Ram data Err!".

I tested a few more times and no difference. Seeing this I started to test more WD drives to see if I can get a result or not. So I tested on a FbLite, Mariner , Denali, Jamaica , Sadle G6 and a DF2_PL4K and the only one that worked was the DF2 drive (all drives are in good conditions, with full sector access but a lot of bad sectors). On all other tested drives the utility says "Get Ram Head map Data Err. Advise setting power off and try again".

Now I'm asking: Is there something I do wrong? I need to connect the serial port for HM in RAm to work? (I think not but maybe I'm wrong).
Is there something wrong with my setup or is the software that does not know how to do HM in Ram for these drives?

So , can anyone test that, or already tested and give me a clue?

Thanks
Rgds

_________________
www.datasave.ro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Head map in Ram for WD problem
PostPosted: December 19th, 2016, 2:36 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 11:12
Posts: 295
Location: Romania
So, to be more precise, I know I don't need HM in Ram to extract data from this hdd....In fact the data is copying right now on my DDI( I don't trust MRT in this moment)....I just accessed the HM in Ram function to see if it works and it did't work as I already said. I just want to know what to expect in the future regarding this.
So , is there anybody that can test if it works ?
Common guys, I know that there are a few of you that have the tool....Can you help me with an answer?

Rgds

_________________
www.datasave.ro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Head map in Ram for WD problem
PostPosted: December 19th, 2016, 4:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 2353
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
ccc wrote:
Hi guys

I want to ask the one of you guys who own MRT software this:
I have MRT Express (with DE) version brought about 15 days ago, so I'm new to this tool. I have installed the latest version of software and started to play with it. I've tested some utilities from Hitachi, Samsung and Seagate and all was ok (at least until now).

I have a WD drive , WD5000LPVX-80V0TT0 with a weak head. Enter the Marwell utility, all is ok, hdd have ID ,full sector access but of course , sectors form H1 are read slowly because H1 is weak. Now I wanted to do Head map in Ram and , to my surprise, when I press "RAM headmap edit" button , hdd make a loud click, go to busy make another click , hdd goes ready and utility say "Read Ram data Err!".

I tested a few more times and no difference. Seeing this I started to test more WD drives to see if I can get a result or not. So I tested on a FbLite, Mariner , Denali, Jamaica , Sadle G6 and a DF2_PL4K and the only one that worked was the DF2 drive (all drives are in good conditions, with full sector access but a lot of bad sectors). On all other tested drives the utility says "Get Ram Head map Data Err. Advise setting power off and try again".

Now I'm asking: Is there something I do wrong? I need to connect the serial port for HM in RAm to work? (I think not but maybe I'm wrong).
Is there something wrong with my setup or is the software that does not know how to do HM in Ram for these drives?

So , can anyone test that, or already tested and give me a clue?

Thanks
Rgds


Well,
What has head map in Ram do do with your problem .In your case you just run the wdc utility ,leave it open start de create head map and untick weak head clone all working heads and then retick weak head change parameters and work .MRT is a second tier data recovery tool like dfl .So for real work PC 3000 is the way to go ,But Mrt is not a bad tool imho .I have 2 of these units

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon
CDRLabs Data Recovery - [ Chandigarh ,India ]
My Data Recovery Experiments - > https://www.facebook.com/chandigarhdatarecovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Head map in Ram for WD problem
PostPosted: December 19th, 2016, 5:45 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2007, 11:12
Posts: 295
Location: Romania
Amarbir[CDR-Labs] wrote:
ccc wrote:


Well,
What has head map in Ram do do with your problem .


I already said that the data is copying....I only want to know if the feature works or not for thie new series of WD drives....Just to see what to expect in the future when I will need the HM in Ram feature .

Rgds

_________________
www.datasave.ro


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group