All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Change memory modules
PostPosted: August 9th, 2007, 13:21 
Offline

Joined: June 27th, 2006, 11:33
Posts: 2319
Location: In ur HDD !
Just experimenting with Rams so and idea came in my mind :
In Rams we have seen there are memory chips for eg in 32 mb rams there are 4 chips then each chip hold data of 8mb if i change one of the chip with 16 mb will the ram show 40mb ?
Can this idea work ?
Any comments welcome .

Thanks .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change memory modules
PostPosted: August 18th, 2007, 13:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 14:14
Posts: 125
Location: In the Middle - bit to the left
If your thinking about expanding the hard disk cache then NO . Unless you have specific firmware that will address the extra data area address's nothing will happen.

You could experiment with a 16MB firmware.. try and find an 8MB PCB etc etc etc if you really want :idea:


rameez wrote:
Just experimenting with Rams so and idea came in my mind :
In Rams we have seen there are memory chips for eg in 32 mb rams there are 4 chips then each chip hold data of 8mb if i change one of the chip with 16 mb will the ram show 40mb ?
Can this idea work ?
Any comments welcome .

Thanks .

_________________
A man is as old as he feels, and a woman as old as she looks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change memory modules
PostPosted: August 18th, 2007, 13:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 14:14
Posts: 125
Location: In the Middle - bit to the left
Ah, now I read your messgae again. Memory module :oops:

Answer still NO :oops:


rameez wrote:
Just experimenting with Rams so and idea came in my mind :
In Rams we have seen there are memory chips for eg in 32 mb rams there are 4 chips then each chip hold data of 8mb if i change one of the chip with 16 mb will the ram show 40mb ?
Can this idea work ?
Any comments welcome .

Thanks .

_________________
A man is as old as he feels, and a woman as old as she looks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change memory modules
PostPosted: August 18th, 2007, 14:49 
Offline

Joined: June 27th, 2006, 11:33
Posts: 2319
Location: In ur HDD !
Thanks for answer i get the point . :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group