All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 24th, 2017, 2:10 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
hi,
i recently purchased several 8tb wd easystore usb3 external drives which contain WD80EFAX-68LHPN0 wd red drives. during migration of my data, i had a poor esata connection to one of the drives and encountered a few UDMA_CRC_Error_Count, which also put errors in the log. because the drives are brand new, and the error wasn't due to the drive, i was hoping to clear out the few crc errors before putting the drive in service in my nas.

i purchased a 1 month license of wdmarvel, but apparently even though it's a "wdc" drive, it is actually a rebranded hgst internally. wdmarvel didn't detect it, but did work on older wd drives (manufactured in 2003 and 2013) i had. after emailing their support they agreed that it was actually an hgst (helioseal i guess?). the firmware is "nasware 3.0" 83.H0A83.

since wdmarvel couldn't detect it, i tried the sediv trial, but it doesn't even let me select hitachi from the menu. i don't see a way to clear smart using the demo either.

my question is, are there any utilities or methods that will let me clear the smart log of this drive that are free or cheap? the drive is technically fine, but it bugs me to see errors in the log via smartctl.

thanks,
-matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 24th, 2017, 5:28 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
hi,
just a small update. i was able to try wdr and sediv after changing my controller from ahci to ide. still, the drive didn't seem to be detected as a wd and the "clear smart" commands had no effect.
thanks,
-matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 24th, 2017, 14:45 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 522
tofurky wrote:

my question is, are there any utilities or methods that will let me clear the smart log of this drive that are free or cheap?

thanks,
-matt

Yes, but nobody is going to tell you! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 24th, 2017, 14:54 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
BGman wrote:
Yes, but nobody is going to tell you! :wink:


lol why not? i promise i don't work for the competition :twisted: since i'm new my other reply didn't go through (yet?) but i did change the controller from ahci->ide and got sediv and wdr to detect the drive, but none of the commands seemed to do anything :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 25th, 2017, 8:20 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 522
tofurky wrote:

lol why not? (


They may tell you "send it to me and I'll fix it", but nobody is going to tell you how! :wink:

Trust me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 25th, 2017, 21:09 
Offline

Joined: August 18th, 2010, 17:35
Posts: 3084
Location: Massachusetts, USA
@tofurky

What NAS model do you have?

Thanks.

_________________
Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Specialist in Massachusetts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 26th, 2017, 2:05 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
labtech wrote:
@tofurky

What NAS model do you have?

Thanks.

hi labtech,

it's a custom built one using a supermicro x7spa-h motherboard with a cfi a7879 case/backplane. the esata card is mediasonic hp1-ss3. filesystems are btrfs, os is debian stretch.

the esata enclosure/cable/card all seem fine. i believe it may have been a bit of dust that made its way into the connector while i was rearranging/installing the new drives. after a bit of compressed air and a reseat of the connector, i was able to read several tb from the disks (raid0 for the esata ones) without encountering further errors. i bought some new shorter, flexible esata cables that i plan on using to hopefully ensure a better connection in the future.

since it runs only linux, i have been hooking the drive up to my intel z77 based workstation via esata and booting into windows to run the various utilities (wdmarvel, wdr, sediv, victoria, etc.)

thanks,
-matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 26th, 2017, 10:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
Send it to me and i will "fix" it ! :D :D :D

Jocking aside your drive is a Hitachi drive even if it have a WD sticker/label/model/brand so it will work like a native HGST and will not work like a native WD. Because of that VSC (Vendor Specific Commands) for clearing S.M.A.R.T. on WD will NOT work on the Hitachi and the other way is valid as well.

WDR will not work as it was made for WD drives. In fact WDR is a "pirated" version of the HRT 5.0 UDMA WD Marvell utility + some "extra" functions added by ripping TREX code. All of that is valid for WD and will not work on HGST/Hitachi/IBM.

Cheaper and easy option is to buy SeDiv. SeDiv HITACHI utility is NOT embeded on the main SeDiv utility. When you buy SeDiv you will get MAIN utility + Hitachi utility. By the time i'm writting this SeDiv for Hitachi latest version is 1.1.1.22 . This will most lilkely clear S.M.A.R.T. on your drive and if not will allow you to gain access to modules and copy S.M.A.R.T. modules from "good" drive to the one you want to change S.M.A.R.T. values.

Apart from that you need to know the VSC yourself. This is not as easy as it looks like.

Also if there aren't any "direct" way to figure out a VSC to clear S.M.A.R.T. you will need to get to USAG, figure out where on platter the S.M.A.R.T. data is stored, retrieve that, edit, make corrections and write module back with another VSC .... so .... not easy at all ....

Advice if you really need to do something like this either :

1 - Send the drive to someone with tools.

2 - Fork out $350 and buy SeDiv.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 27th, 2017, 3:40 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
thanks all for the replies.

i have done some more digging and come across some threads in russian forums (i can't understand russian...) where 2 utilities are discussed.

one is called FormUnit from what i gather, and the other Hitachi_format or HGST_fmt.exe. i haven't tried either yet, but it seems they clear at least some smart attributes (but not power on hours, for example). no telling if they'd work on a ibm-hitachi-wd :shock:

i'd also prefer someone do it remotely, if possible. if the FormUnit command doesn't work, is there anyone who'd do a remote session (e.g. teamviewer or chrome remote desktop) to BartPE or similar and execute the commands that way? shipping the drive introduces the rough handling of the courier, and i could buy 2 new drives for $350 lol.

thanks,
-matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 27th, 2017, 9:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
Those "Format Unit" tools will move all defects on the G-List to the P-List and apply a "cosmetic fix" to the drive. This is to "hide" sectors that were "bad" and swapped by spares.

Those tools use a very well known VSC (vendor specific command) and the procedure (and commands) are described here in detail - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=2068

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php? ... 068#p13369

This will change the re-located sectors and pending sectors on S.M.A.R.T. to 0 but it will not change any other value.

This will work on Hitachi/IBM/HGST type of drives.

WD drives have the same sort of "Format" command but the VSC is NOT THE SAME as the one for Hitachi/HGST/IBM. For native WD you can use something like a WDMarvel tool, WDR or SeDiv. I guess those are the "cheaper" alternatives if you don't have something better like a PC-3000.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 27th, 2017, 9:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
tofurky wrote:

i'd also prefer someone do it remotely, if possible. if the FormUnit command doesn't work, is there anyone who'd do a remote session (e.g. teamviewer or chrome remote desktop) to BartPE or similar and execute the commands that way? shipping the drive introduces the rough handling of the courier, and i could buy 2 new drives for $350 lol.


Sorry, i don't know the VSC to clear S.M.A.R.T. on your specific drive and to do so i would had to use firmware tools like SeDiv or HRT. This would require to install hardware card in case of HRT or a valid SeDiv license that i can't get unless i pay the SeDiv price ....

Even if i had access to your system i would still need the tools installed on the system to clear the S.M.A.R.T. or download the S.M.A.R.T. modules out of your drive, unless i spend some time investigating (sniffing) the VSC and create a MHDD script for example to read/write S.M.A.R.T. modules or figure out the clear S.M.A.R.T. VSC (if any) for your specific drive. At any rate it's very time consuming and the "easy" way is to use already available comercial tools to do so (like SeDiV)

SeDiv will not "activate" and will not work on another system unless you have a valid license (copy protection is very strong) so i can't move my copy of SeDiv to your system as it would not work (license is locked to computer hardware). Also i can't move HRT to your system as it's an hardware PCI card. And i don't know the VSC to send to the drive ....

So for now the only options are to find someone near you with something that can handle S.M.A.R.T. clearing on your drive, lik a PC-3000 unit, SeDiv, etc ...

Be aware that MRT Pro doesn't work properly when clearing S.M.A.R.T. and G-List on IBM/Hitachi/HGST drives ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 4:27 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 522
FormatUnit will erase all your data and will clear only Atr. 5 of the SMART data.
It takes me less than a minute to clear SMART of all Hitachi drives and it's always free for my clients.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 7:53 
Offline

Joined: August 24th, 2017, 1:56
Posts: 12
Location: United States
someone outside of here was kind enough to send me an mhdd script which executes the hgst clear smart vsc. i haven't tested it yet but will do later.

thanks,
-matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 13:56 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
tofurky wrote:
someone outside of here was kind enough to send me an mhdd script which executes the hgst clear smart vsc. i haven't tested it yet but will do later.

thanks,
-matt


Cool !!!!

Please do let us know if it does work out for you !!!

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 13:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
BGman wrote:
FormatUnit will erase all your data and will clear only Atr. 5 of the SMART data.
It takes me less than a minute to clear SMART of all Hitachi drives and it's always free for my clients.


Are you using the SAME VSC to clear S.M.A.R.T. on ALL Hitachi/HGST/IBM drives changing only the "Super ON" command ?

Or are you reading/replacing modules ?

Regards.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 14:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
Interesting ....

I just "sniff" the command from some firmware tools ....

Super ON + VSC that is equal for all IBM drives ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 16:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9740
Location: Australia
I suspect that the UDMA CRC Error Count may be one of those attributes which compute a rolling average rather than a cumulative count over the drive's lifetime. If so, then the attribute value should clear up of its own accord, given sufficient time.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 16:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 8156
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
I suspect that the UDMA CRC Error Count may be one of those attributes which compute a rolling average rather than a cumulative count over the drive's lifetime. If so, then the attribute value should clear up of its own accord, given sufficient time.


It's "faster" with the "B0" command .....

Of course one still needs a "valid" Super ON for the specific drive. Super ON for IBM/HGST/Hitachi change very often so one needs to either compute the correct Super On or use a table of Super On commands for the specific drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 28th, 2017, 18:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9740
Location: Australia
I'd like to understand the "logic" behind pricing an internal 8TB drive at $50 - $100 more than the same drive stuffed into a USB enclosure with a DC adapter and USB cable.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: clear smart error log on wd red 8tb
PostPosted: August 29th, 2017, 8:05 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 522
Spildit wrote:

Of course one still needs a "valid" Super ON for the specific drive. Super ON for IBM/HGST/Hitachi change very often so one needs to either compute the correct Super On or use a table of Super On commands for the specific drive.


Are you sure? :shock:

It doesn't need "techno mode", as far as I know.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group