HDD GURU FORUMS
http://forum.hddguru.com/

Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not initi
http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=36445
Page 3 of 3

Author:  rogfanther [ February 28th, 2018, 18:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

Just to register the correct situation, the ttl adapter ( the max232 circuit ) gets its power either from the rs232 port it is connected to, or from the circuit ( when you connect it to a router, for example ) .

As for working before and now, not necessarily, because that old 500gb drive was probably 2.5 or 3.3V, and this 3TB one can be 1.8V where your adapter may or may not work. If you do not have another working hard disk to establish the adapter condition, start with measuring the voltage levels in the serial port pins of the hard disk. I think @fzakbar explains how to do it in one of his threads.

Author:  igirao [ March 1st, 2018, 17:14 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

So, does all seagate drive has the same connector pinout as posted before?

Attachments:
seagateconnector_pinout.jpg
seagateconnector_pinout.jpg [ 28.96 KiB | Viewed 4803 times ]

Author:  rogfanther [ March 1st, 2018, 18:47 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

Yes, it should be. Depending on the terminology used, the picture could mean RX from the drive point of view, or RX from the computer point of view. So, if it doesn´t work at first, swap the rx and tx wires and try again.

Author:  igirao [ March 2nd, 2018, 15:21 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

Ok, took the voltage measure from TTL and this 3TB drive as follows:

TTL
gnd/tx = 3.77v
gnd/rx = 2.05v

HDD 3TB

gnd - tx/rx = 1.82v

So, do you think that I need to get other TTL adapter as mentioned before?

Author:  igirao [ March 2nd, 2018, 16:53 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

So, here's the situation for a Seagate 4TB drive. The TTL worked with this drive. My desktop motherboard has indeed limitations with large drives capacity. See the images. Well, I think that the 3TB drive has its controller board issues, heads problems or corrupted rom.
And now, the end is near and so my friends I will end up with a paper weight drive.

Attachments:
Disk Manager WIn 7.jpg
Disk Manager WIn 7.jpg [ 936.17 KiB | Viewed 4685 times ]
Desktop BIOS 4TB drive.jpg
Desktop BIOS 4TB drive.jpg [ 978.46 KiB | Viewed 4685 times ]
TTL 4TB Drive.jpg
TTL 4TB Drive.jpg [ 770.94 KiB | Viewed 4685 times ]

Author:  maximus [ March 2nd, 2018, 18:33 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

igirao wrote:
So, here's the situation for a Seagate 4TB drive. The TTL worked with this drive. My desktop motherboard has indeed limitations with large drives capacity. See the images.

From the images the BIOS is unable to show the correct size, but the OS shows that it can see the correct drive size. That supports my previous post that as long as you are not trying to boot from from the drive, it does not matter if the BIOS on the motherboard can correctly identify the size. That does not help your situation with the failed drive, but I am just trying to make clear that the BIOS and motherboard have nothing to do with the issue. Some like to think that if the BIOS doesn't show the correct size, then the OS can't either, and that is most definitely not true.

Author:  igirao [ March 2nd, 2018, 22:43 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

@maximus wrote:

Quote:
but I am just trying to make clear that the BIOS and motherboard have nothing to do with the issue.


Just to clarify things: 1) the test that I did with the TTL was not through my desktop but my laptop Sony Vaio (windows 7 64b). 2) the image from my desktop was just to show that the bios has a limitation indeed and 3) the image of the disk manager showing the 4TB disk capacity was taken from my laptop and not desktop. Now, I am not sure whether or not the OS of my desktop will show the correct capacity - and here windows XP has also limitations - the thing is that I did not run any test on my desktop yet to see if BIOS and motherboard has any relations regarding drive capacity. By the way, my desktop has dual boot - Windows 7 and XP. And my laptop has triple boot - Windows 7, 10 and Android.

Author:  rogfanther [ March 3rd, 2018, 8:00 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

Rapaz,
Mixing too much configurations makes things harder.

Try to make tests with the desktop booted to win7 ( you have service pack 1 installed, yes ? ) .

As win7 doesn´t have a terminal client, you can install putty in it. That picture of the 4TB disk in disk manager was with it connected through usb, I suppose ? Connect it to the desktop sata port, and lets see how disk manager ( from windows 7 ) shows it.

Author:  igirao [ March 19th, 2018, 14:26 ]
Post subject:  Re: Seagate expansion USB desktop 3TB Unknown device, not in

Hi guys! Just gave up on that 3TB seagate. It has head problem. So, thank you all for assistance.

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/