All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 28th, 2020, 6:02 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 156
Location: on the space
Hello,
I have an SSD drive that using kind of Linux. It is an SSD drive for MITEL 3300 switch: Image
I want to create a backup from it. The SSD drive has below structure:
Code:
$ lsblk -f
NAME FSTYPE LABEL UUID                                 FSAVAIL FSUSE% MOUNTPOINT

sdc                                                                   
├─sdc1
│    vfat   /sysro
│                 020C-0000                                           
├─sdc2
│    vfat   /db   0257-0000                                           
├─sdc3
│    vfat   /vmail
│                 02F6-0000                                           
├─sdc4
│                                                                     
├─sdc5
│    vfat   /sysro
│                 036A-0000                                           
├─sdc6
│    vfat   /db   037F-0000                                           
└─sdc7
     vfat   /unused
                  03FA-0000           

First, I unmounted all of the partitions:
Code:
$ sudo umount /dev/sdcX

Then, used below command to create a clone:
Code:
$ sudo dd if=/dev/sdc of=/home/jason/SSD.dd
234441648+0 records in
234441648+0 records out
120034123776 bytes (120 GB, 112 GiB) copied, 2850.17 s, 42.1 MB/s

And:
Code:
$ file SSD.dd
SSD.dd: DOS/MBR boot sector; partition 1 : ID=0x6, active, start-CHS (0x0,1,1), end-CHS (0x8f,254,63), startsector 63, 2313297 sectors; partition 2 : ID=0xb, start-CHS (0x90,0,1), end-CHS (0x3ea,254,63), startsector 2313360, 13799835 sectors; partition 3 : ID=0xc, start-CHS (0x3eb,0,1), end-CHS (0x3ff,254,63), startsector 16113195, 29543535 sectors; partition 4 : ID=0xf, start-CHS (0x3ff,0,1), end-CHS (0x3ff,254,63), startsector 45656730, 188784918 sectors

After it, I plugged another SSD drive with the same capacity and executed below command to recover the image to this new SSD drive:
Code:
# dd if=SSD.dd | pv | dd of=/dev/sdc bs=1M
234441648+0 records iniB/s] [                      <=>                         ]
234441648+0 records out
120034123776 bytes (120 GB, 112 GiB) copied, 4376.66 s, 27.4 MB/s
111GiB 1:12:56 [26.2MiB/s] [                     <=>                          ]
1+2129501 records in
1+2129501 records out
120034123776 bytes (120 GB, 112 GiB) copied, 4415.03 s, 27.2 MB/s

But, when I plugged this new SSD to the switch then it doesn't work!
Any special tools for cloning this kind of operating system?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 7:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 3080
Location: Greece
The operating system is irrelevant to the cloning procedure.

Just do a sector-by-sector clone to another hdd using HDDRawCopyTool (win) or HDDSuperClone (linux).
As you're already using linux, HDDSuperClone will be your pick.

Connect destination drive, launch HDDSC, select source and destination and just let it finish.

_________________
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery
Ransomware Reverse Engineering - NoMoreRansom! partners


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 7:38 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 156
Location: on the space
northwind wrote:
The operating system is irrelevant to the cloning procedure.

Just do a sector-by-sector clone to another hdd using HDDRawCopyTool (win) or HDDSuperClone (linux).
As you're already using linux, HDDSuperClone will be your pick.

Connect destination drive, launch HDDSC, select source and destination and just let it finish.

I already did it!, "dd" don't do it?
What is the different between "dd" and "HDDSC"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 15:13 
Offline

Joined: February 14th, 2017, 16:21
Posts: 205
Location: united kingdom
HDDSuperClone Pro is a very powerful cloning tool. Try the free version (somewhat limited) or by a 2 month Pro licence for not very much. As you already understand Linux you'll soon be up to speed.
http://www.hddsuperclone.com/sitev1/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 15:59 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 813
Location: United States
hack3rcon wrote:
northwind wrote:
The operating system is irrelevant to the cloning procedure.

Just do a sector-by-sector clone to another hdd using HDDRawCopyTool (win) or HDDSuperClone (linux).
As you're already using linux, HDDSuperClone will be your pick.

Connect destination drive, launch HDDSC, select source and destination and just let it finish.

I already did it!, "dd" don't do it?
What is the different between "dd" and "HDDSC"?

I actually did a test with the dd commands, and the outcome was an exact duplicate of the device. So unless something went wrong, there may be something else going on. Maybe the switch it somehow tied to the serial number of the drive. Or maybe the drive has an HPA or DCO where the switch is accessing a hidden area that is not cloned by normal methods without removing the HPA or DCO.

One thing I will point out is that using pv with the dd command doubled the amount of time it should have taken to write back to the drive.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 17:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12751
Location: Australia
There doesn't appear to be a HPA. Using the IDEMA standard, the reported number of LBAs is consistent with a 120GB drive.

    97696368 + (1953504 x (120 – 50)) = 234441648

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 29th, 2020, 18:24 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 813
Location: United States
FYI the MITEL 3300 is not a switch, it is a proprietary VOIP controller. It would not surprise me if it is locked to the drive somehow. And if you mess up the original drive, you may brick the whole thing.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 30th, 2020, 3:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 3080
Location: Greece
A quick Google search told me that Mitel requires the replacement drive to be of the size and manufacturer at least. So it could be that.

_________________
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery
Ransomware Reverse Engineering - NoMoreRansom! partners


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: November 30th, 2020, 5:21 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 156
Location: on the space
maximus wrote:
hack3rcon wrote:
northwind wrote:
The operating system is irrelevant to the cloning procedure.

Just do a sector-by-sector clone to another hdd using HDDRawCopyTool (win) or HDDSuperClone (linux).
As you're already using linux, HDDSuperClone will be your pick.

Connect destination drive, launch HDDSC, select source and destination and just let it finish.

I already did it!, "dd" don't do it?
What is the different between "dd" and "HDDSC"?

I actually did a test with the dd commands, and the outcome was an exact duplicate of the device. So unless something went wrong, there may be something else going on. Maybe the switch it somehow tied to the serial number of the drive. Or maybe the drive has an HPA or DCO where the switch is accessing a hidden area that is not cloned by normal methods without removing the HPA or DCO.

One thing I will point out is that using pv with the dd command doubled the amount of time it should have taken to write back to the drive.

Can I copy the serial number of the old SSD to the new one?
How can I sure about HPA or DCO?
Others cloned the SSD drive by HDD Docking device like https://www.jaycar.com.au/medias/sys_master/images/images/9369001590814/XC4697-dual-2-5-3-5-sata-hdd-docking-station-usb-3-0ImageMain-515.jpg and its worked!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2020, 2:44 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2014, 15:11
Posts: 156
Location: on the space
The HDDSC is not OK for bootable Disks?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning an SSD drive.
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2020, 18:49 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2012, 1:43
Posts: 813
Location: United States
hack3rcon wrote:
The HDDSC is not OK for bootable Disks?

HDDSuperClone is very good for bootable disks. It makes an exact sector by sector clone/image of the whole disk.

_________________
http://www.sdcomputingservice.com
Home of HDDSuperClone and HDDSuperTool


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group