Switch to full style
Tools for hard drive diagnostics, repair, and data recovery
Post a reply

Is there still any use/future for HDD's?

July 10th, 2020, 12:07

There are companies searching to keep expanding HDD's and come up with new ways for storage on hard drives such as heat assisted magnetic recording but I don't see the point. Why keep trying to beat a dead horse here, won't HDD's be obsolete very soon and move onto flash memory or MRAM technology?

I'm asking because I'm an undergrad researcher at a UNI and we are studying materials used for perpendicular magnetic recording for heat assisted magnetic recording devices. However I don't see the point at all, it seems like could be a waste of time.

Re: Is there still any use/future for HDD's?

July 10th, 2020, 16:33

well, AM radios were a waste of time too... and wheels without tires, and so on.
Flash technology is still far from being a reliable replacement. Each technology has its advantages and drawbacks, you can decide by your application.

pepe

July 11th, 2020, 11:43

terkobitel2 wrote:There are companies searching to keep expanding HDD's and come up with new ways for storage on hard drives such as heat assisted magnetic recording but I don't see the point. Why keep trying to beat a dead horse here, won't HDD's be obsolete very soon and move onto flash memory or MRAM technology?

I'm asking because I'm an undergrad researcher at a UNI and we are studying materials used for perpendicular magnetic recording for heat assisted magnetic recording devices. However I don't see the point at all, it seems like could be a waste of time.

You seeing the point or not is irrelevant, just as long as it's economically viable.

July 13th, 2020, 5:33

They'll be used less and less as boot devices, which is frankly just fine. For a lot of small computers, a mechanical hard drive doesn't really make sense, so SSDs are a fine choice.

July 16th, 2020, 7:39