All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Software for reading and writing firmware
PostPosted: March 14th, 2006, 17:47 
Offline

Joined: March 14th, 2006, 17:42
Posts: 2
Hi!

I was wondering. Is it possible to read the firmware from a drive, save it and then later update another drive with that firmware? -And what tool could do that?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 14th, 2006, 18:39 
Offline

Joined: November 1st, 2005, 10:04
Posts: 239
Yes, it is possible and no, you don't want to do that.

Modern drives have unique data specific to a drive so you
cannot "flash" the firmware from one drive to another.

You could write certain specific portions of the firmware data from
one drive to another if the one drive has faults which need to be repaired.

Programs like pc3000 from AceLab together with some "safe" knowledge and experience of what can be overwritten can help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 14th, 2006, 19:22 
Offline

Joined: March 14th, 2006, 17:42
Posts: 2
Hmmmm...ok.
My problem is that I have a large drive array with 180Gb Hitachi drives with a special firmware from the drive array vendor. I want to change some or all of the drives to bigger ones to get some more storage space but I need to get the vendor firmware to the new drives.

Any ideas on how to do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 28th, 2006, 3:44 
Offline

Joined: June 23rd, 2005, 22:38
Posts: 20
I do think PC3000 might be help...

_________________
Never be young?
Never be a dream-maker?

Bullshit!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: yes ibm and fujitsu utility
PostPosted: April 11th, 2006, 22:32 
Offline

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 12:53
Posts: 9
Location: canada
http://biosgfx.euro.ru/hdd/

both work


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Need PCI board for PC3000?
PostPosted: May 19th, 2006, 15:17 
Offline

Joined: May 19th, 2006, 14:39
Posts: 2
I wonder if PC3000 needs a PCI board to use it or can I use it from my computer?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 19th, 2006, 16:07 
Offline

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 8:21
Posts: 761
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage ImageImageImageImageImage ImageImageImageImage ImageImageImageImage ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage ImageImage ImageImageImageImage ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 30th, 2006, 14:11 
Offline

Joined: June 30th, 2006, 14:01
Posts: 1
Location: South America
yes it is possible to use PC3k without the board, but you will need the hard lock key. however, PC3k only checks for key when executing the program, thus it is possible to run multiple computers with only one key, at the same time. don't ask me how - had to break my head to make this work. i suggest you do the same...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re
PostPosted: June 30th, 2006, 16:21 
Offline

Joined: October 7th, 2005, 2:03
Posts: 154
Location: serbia
samms_well wrote:
yes it is possible to use PC3k without the board, but you will need the hard lock key. however, PC3k only checks for key when executing the program, thus it is possible to run multiple computers with only one key, at the same time. don't ask me how - had to break my head to make this work. i suggest you do the same...


you talk for ISA version...

PCI version will not work without board!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group