All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to reset PUIS on WD drives after Highpoint RAID
PostPosted: August 8th, 2011, 1:32 
Offline

Joined: August 7th, 2011, 22:28
Posts: 2
Location: New Zealand
Hi,

this post gives some clearer instructions on how to do this using the script files provided by Guru in the following discussion
wd5000aavs-pm2-puis-activated-unable-revert-t19107-20.html
in puis.zip (also attached here for simplicity - thanks guru).
Please note, guru says
"As the weather is nice and I am in a good mood
Use the script and .bin file with MHDD.
I cannot support this and will not accept PM's :O)
This is a hack but it does work ( I have tested it)"

I used this successfully to reset drives that had been PUIS'd by my RocketRaid RAID controller.
My drives were WD10EACS 1TB WD Green drives but the original post worked on 500GB drives.
So, I am assuming it will work on most WD drives.

The problem I had was trying to run the script as a BATCH file, which is the impression the thread gives...
The main trick is to put the files from Guru in to the script sub-directory and then run using .puis.
Nobody seems to say that to run a script you should use type .scriptname once you have selected the device.
(So, I will say how to run a MHDD script here so that this post comes up in searches)

Pre-reqs:
You will need to use version 4.5 of MHDD to run the script.
A Mint Linux (or others may work) boot CD will help - to get the drive to spin up initially.
A floppy disk drive or vfd ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/vfd/ ) and Nero (or similar) to make a boot CD.

Please check that you don't have the PUIS/PM2 jumper set on your HD! This will overide the software settings...

Method:
Insert a floppy in to your drive or make a virtual floppy using vfd.
Make a bootable floppy of MHDD - using the bootable floppy version of the MHDD download
Extract the two files from the puis.zip file in to the script directory of the MHDD.zip file on the floppy
If you are using a real floppy you can reboot to the floppy, otherwise you need to make a boot CD from the virtual floppy using Nero.

As the drives show up as blank in BIOS (if not spun up) then it is hard to identify the right drive for fixing. So, I recommend shutting down, attaching the problem drive and uplugging the sata cables from other drives for extra safety. Then boot up to your Linux Mint CD and Mint will detect the drive and using Gparted you should be able to see it as an unpartitioned drive. No need to do anything to it now. The trick is to now reboot (without powering off) and swap to the MHDD boot CD. You should notice that the drive now shows up in BIOS which is good for a start:)

Once in MHDD you can select the drive by typing in the drive number from the list.
Then hit F2 to see the drive info if you want.
Then type in .PUIS to run the script.
Then you just need to type 1 to accept and it will spin up the drive and reset the PUIS setting:)

Then shutdown (full power off computer) and turn on again to check that the drive now spins up and identifies in BIOS:)

HINT: To make life easier, I used an external sata caddy and once I new the drive number could power down the caddy down and change drives, then power up and select the drive number again and run the .puis on the next drive. Worked a treat:)

I have spent a whole day getting to the bottom of this problem and feel quite annoyed by the lack of knowledge shown by both WD and Highpoint. I hope my post helps save a lot of time for other people with the same problem. Please spread the word.

Yours,
Shafoo

NOTES:
For info on PUIS you can check the wiki at
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power-up_in_standby
It seems that the highpoint controller puts the drive in to PUIS mode but can't (or won't) take them out again.
This little script does the business.
It is interesting to see all the drives that WD simply RMA's and that WD doesn't provide a solution! They (WD and Highpoint) don't seem to know it can be fixed! I would have thought they could have made an automated version of this process on a bootable .iso to allow people to quickly fix the issue!!!



More keywords for searching:
Drives not identified in BIOS
WD drives don't spin up after removal from Highpoint RAID 23xx 2300 2310
WD PUIS problem
WD PM2 problem
Reset WD PUIS
How to reset WD PUIS
How to fix staggered spin up problem with drives after highpoint Raid
Invisible drives after highpoint raid
Highpoint RAID makes drives unusable


Attachments:
File comment: Thanks to guru
PUIS.zip [609 Bytes]
Downloaded 343 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to reset PUIS on WD drives after Highpoint RAID
PostPosted: August 20th, 2011, 11:19 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2011, 23:55
Posts: 5
Location: Argentina
Hi shafoo, i'm trying u'r process, but always same result: drive error. I have wd5000avvs, but with PUIS and master password, security hi, my question is, exist out there some app or tool that will do the two unlocks at the same time, i mean, unlock puis and master pass without reset, cuz mhdd with PUIS unlock turn up my hard disk, same like doing hdparm or turn_up_in_stand_by, but when reset puis is back and lose my hard disk again. well, i hope u or someone else can help me, sorry for disturb u and take it easy, always thanx 4 all, and all fellas in the forum, c ya.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to reset PUIS on WD drives after Highpoint RAID
PostPosted: October 6th, 2011, 21:35 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2011, 23:55
Posts: 5
Location: Argentina
well, thanks for answer ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to reset PUIS on WD drives after Highpoint RAID
PostPosted: May 15th, 2012, 21:30 
Offline

Joined: May 10th, 2012, 4:45
Posts: 6
Location: United States
Thank you! This post and the puis script helped me bring two WDs back from rocketraid-induced PUIS hell.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ccc, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group