All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 10:52 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Hello experts!

Another drive to repair :)
SSD OCZ Vertex 2 with Sandforce, no detection ( 5 PC, 3 NB ), xtimes unplugged, replugged, IDE, AHCI, chipsets, ports ...
Nothing ... only solid green LED ( after power up only red short blink, maybe test )
I read that its probably Sandforce bug - panic lock.
Tried every ressurection method I found, also praying and nothing ...
I read that when its solid green LED, still chance to ressurect ...
Any ideas?

Thx for help.

Daniel


Attachments:
SSD2.jpg
SSD2.jpg [ 173.62 KiB | Viewed 8576 times ]
SSD.jpg
SSD.jpg [ 202.41 KiB | Viewed 8576 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 12:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
you could see what the serial port gives, the VCC, GND, TX, RX connections using a serial-usb adapter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 14:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario, Canada
You could send it to one of the labs who claim that they know how to recover from bricked Sandforce controllers.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 14:28 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Thx for quick answer,

any chance for instructions? USB-serial adapter n(https://www.google.cz/webhp?sourceid=ch ... al&es_th=1) and terminal?
What pin where and wahat terminal commands?
Thx for info ...
Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 14:36 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
No data on SDD, and I want to try it myself, labs ressurection will be expensive for this old and relative small drive ... Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 19:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9745
Location: Australia
danikd wrote:
any chance for instructions? USB-serial adapter n(https://www.google.cz/webhp?sourceid=ch ... al&es_th=1) and terminal?
What pin where and wahat terminal commands?

You would need an adapter that provides a 3.3V LVTTL RS232 interface at the SSD end. The other end could be USB or a regular PC COM port. The USB type would probably be the more universal one.

You could choose to power the adapter from the SSD's 3.3V pin, or you could leave this SSD pin disconnected and use the adapter's own power supply. Don't connect the adapter's power supply to the SSD's 3.3V pin. In fact it's probably safest to leave this SSD pin unconnected.

You can't do any damage by mixing up the Tx and Rx pins. It just won't work.

You could use a terminal program such as HyperTerminal or PuTTY for communications. I'm guessing that the data format is probably 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bit (8N1). You may need to experiment with baud rates.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 17th, 2015, 3:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
something like this:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/USB-2-0-to-TTL-UART-5-PIN-Module-Serial-Converter-CP2102-STC-SOZ-/171829689407?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item2801d8fc3f

you connect ground together as Fzabkar said and

rx <-> tx
tx <-> rx

set it all up and power SSD, and see what happens on the terminal. Garbage text usually means baud rate is wrong. try another value.

here is an example:

http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=31141

also have very helpful JTAG pins labelled, but honestly without some info to go, or knowing a bit about the system and how to navigate JTAG on these ..probably not going to be much use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 17th, 2015, 12:40 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Hello,

thx for advice, found TTL Serial, connected see photo, when I power it on, on terminal there is only garbage text, change baud rate, still garbage text. Higher speed - more text ...
Connection settings :
Baudrate - Variable
Data Bits - 8
Stop Bits - 1
Parity - None
Flow Control - None

Any ideas? Or I made some mistake?
Connection is same as unbricking old Seagate 7200.11 drives ...

Thx for info.
Daniel

Attachment:
IMG_20150717_165416 (Large).jpg
IMG_20150717_165416 (Large).jpg [ 349.12 KiB | Viewed 8443 times ]


Attachments:
IMG_20150717_165451 (Large).jpg
IMG_20150717_165451 (Large).jpg [ 597.75 KiB | Viewed 8443 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 17th, 2015, 20:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Hi, test all the common baud rates in order, and post a list of the ones you tried.

I don't use hyperterminal due to the limited config of the output window, but for this purpose it will suffice for you.

try:

Baud rate: 115200
Data bits: 8
Stop bits: 1
Parity, Flow control: None


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 18th, 2015, 0:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9745
Location: Australia
@danikd, you can capture the output to a file by selecting Transfer -> Capture Text.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 18th, 2015, 7:24 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Hello,

ok, on Monday I will do it, but on which baudrate? Because everytime is different, as I wote, higher baudrate = more characters ... And I think that on same baudrate every connection, different character set ...
I post captured text here.

Thx.

Nice weekend.

D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 18th, 2015, 12:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
try 115200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 18th, 2015, 15:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9745
Location: Australia
Here is a terminal dump from a "dead OCZ Vertex2 SSD built around the Sandforce SF-1222":
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/ocz ... -firmware/

There should be some text output followed by binary stuff, all at 115200 bps.

Quote:
No it does not changes the baud but outputs binary stuff (I have checked it with my Saleae logic analyzer with autobaud).

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 20th, 2015, 3:16 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Hello,

I try 115200, with hyperteminal and with putty, same result, garbage characters, every try its different.
Attached 2 logs.
What next? Short something?

Thx.

Daniel


Attachments:
SSD1.TXT [3.78 KiB]
Downloaded 358 times
SSD.TXT [3.77 KiB]
Downloaded 244 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 20th, 2015, 3:25 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1286
Location: isreal
ground is connected ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 20th, 2015, 7:48 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
No, only TX RX, so I must connect ground from power supply to SSD ? I thought that ground connected via SATA power connector ...
Thx for info ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 20th, 2015, 19:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Adapter-SSD
---------------
GND-GND
TX-RX
RX-TX


and remove the red and brown power and ground that are connected to the power supply


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 21st, 2015, 2:49 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Hello, thx, I will connect ground from adapter to SSD, but red and brown are only powering TTL adapter ...Daniel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 21st, 2015, 3:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 4th, 2012, 1:35
Posts: 2965
Location: Adelaide, Australia
OK, I guess that's fine then. BTW what chipset is the adapter?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bricked OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
PostPosted: July 21st, 2015, 3:57 
Offline

Joined: June 25th, 2015, 16:16
Posts: 23
Location: Czech Republic
Chip is MAX232A ...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: melvin, Minho and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group