All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: January 7th, 2016, 3:26 
Offline

Joined: March 11th, 2008, 4:35
Posts: 1043
Location: Bangladesh
I've tested the Head Map on 5450A7 drive. (HTS545050A7380), the head map at the same location like you posted for 7250A7/5410A9.
Yes, the head map is in different location for this SERIES. If I could arrange a working HDD from the same family, comparison would be precise

There is no utility for 5410A7 so far. That's why it was accessed through BASIC/UNKNOWN FAMILY mode.
If this one is LOADED with the BASIC/UNKNOWN FAMILY, then it IDS, SN, FW, but CAPACITY 0.

_________________
__________
There is no substitute for education and experience
THANK YOU
SHAHI
shahi.mahbub@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: January 7th, 2016, 4:32 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7546
Location: UK
Which tool are you using? I'm guessing something buggy like MRT?

PC3K finds the head map fine, even on an old version using HTS545050xxxxx utility

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
http://www.pcimage.co.uk

New!! HDD-PCB.COM for all your PCB and donor HDD requirements!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: January 7th, 2016, 5:27 
Offline

Joined: March 11th, 2008, 4:35
Posts: 1043
Location: Bangladesh
pcimage wrote:
Which tool are you using? I'm guessing something buggy like MRT?

PC3K finds the head map fine, even on an old version using HTS545050xxxxx utility


Yes, in this case, it's MRT

Well, I believe this series is unsupported by PC3k as well. But I saw somewhere PC3k can access SA by other utility "5450A7" for this new series.
Question is that, the head map location is in different offset for this drive unlike other drives. For the utility 5450A7 by pc3k can access same offset value, does it really read the other offset?

There is what my confusion, is it REALLY BUG for the tool or problem with the drive itself?

Update:
I've enabled PUIS on this drive now, the Drive IDs under direct access by the tool (without utility selection). But the CAP is 0, SN/FW reads fine. The HEAD MAP reads give same output (as it's reading from offset 0x680). The info were accessed from PCB, that's why it's IDs now.

NO SA ACCESS... so far

_________________
__________
There is no substitute for education and experience
THANK YOU
SHAHI
shahi.mahbub@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 10:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
Hello!
I have a patient with a same problem.
Drive spins up, no head moving, but it's ready right after finishing speed up process.

Attachment:
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard02.jpg [ 170.44 KiB | Viewed 4211 times ]


Has anyone a solution for this?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 11:57 
Offline

Joined: October 5th, 2015, 18:53
Posts: 462
Location: Canada
I have. Did you check pcb and heads?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 14:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
I have checked PCB, but i did not see any strange.
I'm not opened the drive yet, because i dont hear any unusual except, the HSA does not move from ramp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 14:58 
Offline

Joined: October 5th, 2015, 18:53
Posts: 462
Location: Canada
you should try to change heads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: October 25th, 2016, 16:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
drHDD wrote:
you should try to change heads.



Thanks!
Is this the solution? Strange thing is, the HSA is not move from ramp to platters.
At this moment i don't have a donor for this drive......
If this is not a fw related problem, then i have to wait till i can buy a donor drive for a value price.
Thanks again....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 9th, 2016, 5:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
With donor PCB, the patient's HSA moves to platter.....so i think this is a PCB related problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 9th, 2016, 12:12 
Offline

Joined: October 5th, 2015, 18:53
Posts: 462
Location: Canada
saltwater wrote:
With donor PCB, the patient's HSA moves to platter.....so i think this is a PCB related problem.


saltwater wrote:
I have checked PCB, but i did not see any strange.


???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 11th, 2016, 8:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
Transferring ROM chip to a healthy PCB is not solved the problem....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 17th, 2016, 13:53 
Offline

Joined: March 21st, 2013, 14:45
Posts: 124
Location: India
saltwater wrote:
Transferring ROM chip to a healthy PCB is not solved the problem....


Hi Dear Friend Saltwater.

its looks like same issue which few month ago i resolved with many rnd.
your problem looks similar like my case.

if you change patient pcb with donor with nvram swap your donor works ok that mean patient pcb is ok.
if you use patient nvram with donor pcb and connect to patient then patient not power on. but if you connect ur patient nvram with patient pcb with donor then donor spinning well. that mean nvram is ok.
if you check both patient and donor nvram everything looks ok even checksum. and then if you think its head issue.
if you change head stack then also same condition. then if you think its an faulty motor issue and if you swap platter on donor then also same issue drive not power on. lol
if you want to test u can do all above test. this is very headechfull issue.

Yours Friend
Jignesh Pankhania


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 17th, 2016, 16:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
jignesh wrote:
saltwater wrote:
Transferring ROM chip to a healthy PCB is not solved the problem....


Hi Dear Friend Saltwater.

its looks like same issue which few month ago i resolved with many rnd.
your problem looks similar like my case.

if you change patient pcb with donor with nvram swap your donor works ok that mean patient pcb is ok.
if you use patient nvram with donor pcb and connect to patient then patient not power on. but if you connect ur patient nvram with patient pcb with donor then donor spinning well. that mean nvram is ok.
if you check both patient and donor nvram everything looks ok even checksum. and then if you think its head issue.
if you change head stack then also same condition. then if you think its an faulty motor issue and if you swap platter on donor then also same issue drive not power on. lol
if you want to test u can do all above test. this is very headechfull issue.

Yours Friend
Jignesh Pankhania


How did you solve it then ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 17th, 2016, 17:33 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2750
Location: Hungary
Szia Sósvíz!
Miért nem cserélsz benne fejet? Nem egy nagy történet... :)

Próbáld meg a páci pcb-t egy donoron (páci ROM, NVRAMmal), ha mozgatja a fejet, akkor fej probléma, ha nem akkor más.
SN-t nézted, stimmel?

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery
No bitcoin donations :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 24th, 2016, 9:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 3rd, 2013, 13:04
Posts: 259
Location: Hungary
pepe wrote:
Szia Sósvíz!
Miért nem cserélsz benne fejet? Nem egy nagy történet... :)

Próbáld meg a páci pcb-t egy donoron (páci ROM, NVRAMmal), ha mozgatja a fejet, akkor fej probléma, ha nem akkor más.
SN-t nézted, stimmel?



I'm not changed HSA because i dont have a right HSA donor.
With patient PCB the donor drive did a same issue as patient (with patient ROM and NVRam)
With donor PCB on patient drive (with donor ROM and NVRam) the HSA moves to platter, so i think patient HSA is good.
......but it does not matter now, because i had to give patient drive back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: November 24th, 2016, 13:23 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 2750
Location: Hungary
ok.
pepe

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery
No bitcoin donations :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: May 15th, 2019, 9:26 
Offline

Joined: March 11th, 2008, 4:35
Posts: 1043
Location: Bangladesh
After 3 years, I got exactly same case, same model... Whats your progress about this model?

_________________
__________
There is no substitute for education and experience
THANK YOU
SHAHI
shahi.mahbub@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: May 16th, 2019, 15:57 
Offline

Banned User

Joined: May 16th, 2019, 15:54
Posts: 1
Location: United state of america
shahij wrote:
After 3 years, I got exactly same case, same model... Whats your progress about this model?

Can you upload the ROM/NVRAM? I can test the checksum for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: May 16th, 2019, 19:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12002
Location: Australia
mopa34500 wrote:
shahij wrote:
After 3 years, I got exactly same case, same model... Whats your progress about this model?

Can you upload the ROM/NVRAM? I can test the checksum for you.

See https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=38412

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTS541010A7E630 (NEWEST MODEL)
PostPosted: May 17th, 2019, 18:25 
Offline

Joined: March 11th, 2008, 4:35
Posts: 1043
Location: Bangladesh
Follow the link as fzabkar gave

_________________
__________
There is no substitute for education and experience
THANK YOU
SHAHI
shahi.mahbub@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group