All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 5:34 
Offline

Joined: November 21st, 2009, 10:38
Posts: 52
Location: Europe
Starting to use my new MRT ultra I noticed that you can not save only working files :shock: (like PC3000 do).
All files (working and broken) will save also.
Support say "auto-identification was considered in our improvement list".

So actually when have a disk with lot of bad sectors result will be lot of broken files mixed with working files. .......that's it.

When client receive recovered files can be a problem because some important file can be broken.

I will ask to other MRT users.....how to deal this problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 7:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1934
Location: Ontario, Canada
It is better to use PC3K DE or DeepSpar DiskImager for cases when you want/need to separate the good and bad.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 8:34 
Offline

Joined: November 21st, 2009, 10:38
Posts: 52
Location: Europe
Client: "have you recovered my files"?
DR: "yes"
Client: "all working files"?
DR: "just some"
Client: "ok, how many working"?
DR: "...........some"
Client: "some???? .......10....100...or 100000? ...how many are working?"
DR: ".......... some.......I dont know"


Hei MRT team, this function is so basic???
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 9:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 19th, 2017, 2:05
Posts: 53
Location: Dubai
hi,
we have raised this issue about 6 months back gave team viewer access to Technical Team and show how it works in Pc3000 nothing yet they said Developers are working on it by next update we get it waiting still :) ......

_________________
Specialized in Physical Data Recovery

http://www.lifeguarddatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 17:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9786
Location: Australia
ISTM that the bad sectors should be cloned with a signature, eg "BADBADBAD ...". Then a simple search tool could easily identify the bad files.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 17:41 
Offline

Joined: November 21st, 2009, 10:38
Posts: 52
Location: Europe
fzabkar wrote:
ISTM that the bad sectors should be cloned with a signature, eg "BADBADBAD ...". Then a simple search tool could easily identify the bad files.


This is wonderful suggestion!!!

Still no undertand why so simple solution no yet implemented on their software :shock: :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 5th, 2017, 17:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 9786
Location: Australia
It would a lot simpler to determine the bad files by referring to the FAT or to the MFT, etc, assuming the file system is otherwise intact. Anyway, ddrescue can fill bad sectors with user specified signatures.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 7th, 2017, 0:45 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 18:00
Posts: 12
Location: in the lab
fzabkar wrote:
ISTM that the bad sectors should be cloned with a signature, eg "BADBADBAD ...". Then a simple search tool could easily identify the bad files.


Are you saying a option like this?
Attachment:
FailureData-1.jpg
FailureData-1.jpg [ 240.12 KiB | Viewed 1917 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 7th, 2017, 0:56 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 18:00
Posts: 12
Location: in the lab
Alkemist wrote:
Client: "have you recovered my files"?
DR: "yes"
Client: "all working files"?
DR: "just some"
Client: "ok, how many working"?
DR: "...........some"
Client: "some???? .......10....100...or 100000? ...how many are working?"
DR: ".......... some.......I dont know"


Hei MRT team, this function is so basic???
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:



In File Explorer, when you select to save a file, if it has corrupted sectors in the log will appears "File saving Error..." in RED!
You can save the log and filter the files with error ... Piece of cake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 7th, 2017, 10:04 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 18:00
Posts: 12
Location: in the lab
Alkemist wrote:
Client: "have you recovered my files"?
DR: "yes"
Client: "all working files"?
DR: "just some"
Client: "ok, how many working"?
DR: "...........some"
Client: "some???? .......10....100...or 100000? ...how many are working?"
DR: ".......... some.......I dont know"



Continuing the conversation:

Client: "Do not know or do not know how to use the tool you have?"
DR: "errr...In fact, I just bought this tool ..."
Client: "You mean you're a newbie?"
DR: "No, I'm well experienced with another tool ..."
Client: "But if you do not know how to use the tool you have, you're a newbie!"
DR: "hmmmm....Wait a minute, let me enter in a forum and try to solve my doubt, if no one respond I will attack the company that made it."
Client: "Do not you think that instead of wasting your energy on it, you should use it to LEARN to use the new tool?"
DR: "... hmm..... maybe...."
Client: "and that you SHOULD NOT be done with the client´s HDD?"

Call ended.
Lost customer ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 8th, 2017, 7:15 
Offline

Joined: November 21st, 2009, 10:38
Posts: 52
Location: Europe
Probably I'm a newbie unable to use this function :roll:

........probably:

lifeguarddubai wrote:
hi,
we have raised this issue about 6 months back gave team viewer access to Technical Team and show how it works in Pc3000 nothing yet they said Developers are working on it by next update we get it waiting still :) ......


..................probably:

Image

So the software have or not this funtion?? .......Is my fault....and I'm not able to use it???

I like MRT, after a short use I'm really impressed about capability of tool (better than I thought), my post is not related to company or tool but just only about this function.

PS: Honestly I no understand why you need to hide behind a fake user account to give answer instead of a real reply using company name


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 8th, 2017, 8:17 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 18:00
Posts: 12
Location: in the lab
It was just a joke with his hypothetical dialogue. I do not want to start a flamewar. Not at all.
The MRT does not have (AFAIK) the ability to separate good files from bad files.
But in his dialogue, he speaks of the amount of good files and this it can precisely inform. That's what I joked about. And with another common characteristic of every user of PC3000 that happens to use the MRT: hopes to have a work mode or the identical functions and who hopes to have a learning curve as steep as a vertical line.
In most cases if there is not the function or feature that you expect, this can usually be solved in another way. Obviously, sometimes using external resources to the tool.
Of course the tool has bugs and lack of some desirable functions.

I have no business relationship with MRTLabs, other than to be your customer.
As for me using a nickname. It's just like you. It's just a nickname.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 8th, 2017, 9:09 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 18:00
Posts: 12
Location: in the lab
Ok, let's do this productive post:
I do not have a PC3000, so I can not know the utility of this function, but what does it do with files with bad sectors?
Does it save only good files?
What if a PST that has 10GB and has some bad sectors does it discard it?
A .doc file with 1 bad sector is discarded?
This function I do not see much use because in most cases customers also want to know what they lost.
And if any file has bad sector, there is still the possibility of it opening normally or even being repaired.

Situations like this, is it not better to inform what may not open properly?

As you said:
"When client receive recovered files can be a problem because some important file can be broken."

Do you want to hide these files from your client? So that he does not know that he has lost important files? I did not understand the issue.
Would not it be better, require a function that reads the bad sectors of this file? And save an intact file? Does the PC3000 do this? Of course not. Bad sector is bad sector.
If the files are important and are damaged, I think that's it: Important files damaged.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can not save only working files
PostPosted: September 8th, 2017, 20:51 
Offline

Joined: November 21st, 2009, 10:38
Posts: 52
Location: Europe
Simply can choose.
You can save both broken and good (like MRT actually do) or choose automatic deletion of broken (contain bad sectors or not completely read).
Also can choose to save broken files in a special folders.
On destination folder also will created a log files with problematic files.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group