All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Spildit wrote:
Module 05 on PC3K dump have 3 modules inside one.

That is as it should be. Module 05 consists of 3 "submodules".

The first 4 bytes of each submodule are an MMDDYY date plus an 8-bit checksum. Parts 2 and 3 do not have version numbers.

    00000000 0B 12 60 F1 - 11/18/1996
    00000200 0B 11 60 F3 - 11/17/1996
    00000800 0A 0F 5B 3B - 10/15/1991

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
Ok !!! At any rate this doesn't hep to get the drive "fixed" ...

Maybe i should try a Format with P-List ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:06 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Can you provide a track dump? It won't help to fix your drive, but it may show the hidden SA modules.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
On the PC3K dump you have module 05 (Road Map) joined together with module 57 (Passport), etc ...

The VSC to retrieve Road Map should have a size of one. The command to retrieve the passport will dump the module starting on ID 57 :

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 111.36 KiB | Viewed 1448 times ]


So you can get to those with individual VSC and you will not end up with a single module with modules inside of it.

I will try to get a track dump if i can figure out the VSC to read tracks. Or maybe HDD48 can do it, i will check.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Your "passport" is a submodule. Byte 04 is not a module ID. It is the beginning of the data area, namely "W".

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Can you provide a track dump? It won't help to fix your drive, but it may show the hidden SA modules.


This is a blind shot. I did set SPT to 500 and looks like it's more then enough.

I could get track -1 to -5

If i try to get tracks past -5 i will get errors at the first sector of it. Guess those tracks are not formated. Hopefully i have them all. I didn't test to skip some tracks to get more of them. There is a possibility that the drive have for example track 6 and 7 that are not formated but there might be some more modules up ahead. I don't think so but it's a possibility.

Here you have tracks -1 to -5 :

Attachment:
Tracks.rar [81.34 KiB]
Downloaded 32 times

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:27 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Your "passport" is a submodule. Byte 04 is not a module ID. It is the beginning of the data area, namely "W".


ok :)

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
On my track dump starting at offset 0x20010 you will have another copy of the first track but for the other head.

I set reading with 2 heads so the 2nd part of the dump is for the other head.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
I was able to find this string :

PERCO_C7.I9601.26

So maybe this is a Perco C7 drive ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Part 2 of module 05 appears to be your "passport". Offsets 0x2B8 - 0x737 (in my example) look like a zone map. This subsection consists of 6 groups of 16 records, each record having a size of 12 bytes. This seems to be consistent with 6 heads and 16 zones per head.

Here are the zones corresponding to the first head in my example:

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B

00000000  62 37 3C 3F 00 2E CC 7A 05 10 47 48
0000000C  60 37 3D 3F 00 38 F4 78 05 10 47 48
00000018  5E 33 3C 3F 00 32 D5 75 05 10 47 48
00000024  5C 27 3E 3F 00 30 C6 71 05 10 47 48
00000030  5B 2F 3D 3F 00 2F BD 6E 05 10 47 48
0000003C  58 33 3E 3F 00 2C A9 69 05 10 47 48
00000048  54 33 3C 3F 00 33 B9 63 04 10 47 48
00000054  50 2F 3E 3F 00 42 DF 5B 05 10 47 48
00000060  4E 33 3D 3F 00 42 D5 57 04 10 47 48
0000006C  4A 2F 3E 3F 00 35 A2 52 04 10 47 48
00000078  47 2F 3F 3F 00 58 FF 4D 04 10 47 48
00000084  46 2B 3E 3F 00 3C A8 4A 05 10 47 48
00000090  43 2F 3B 3F 00 34 8A 46 04 10 47 48
0000009C  3F 2F 3D 3F 00 45 AD 41 04 10 47 48
000000A8  3D 33 3D 3F 00 30 73 3E 04 10 47 48
000000B4  3A 2F 3E 3F 00 6E F9 3A 05 10 47 48

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 15:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Part 3 of module 05 appears to be laid out as follows:

Code:
00000000  0A 0F 5B 3B 96 01
          10/15/91 Cs ^^^^^ number of data records = 0x196 x 8 bytes

The records appear to be ordered in CHS format (??)

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07

00000000  30 00 02 0D 40 10 FE FF
00000008  31 00 02 0D 40 10 FE FF
00000010  32 00 02 0D 40 10 FE FF
00000018  33 00 02 0D 38 10 FE FF
00000020  34 00 02 0D 50 10 FE FF
00000028  35 00 02 0D 60 10 FE FF
00000030  36 00 02 0D 88 10 FE FF
00000038  37 00 02 0D 88 10 FE FF
00000040  38 00 02 0D 88 10 FE FF
00000048  38 00 05 13 38 15 18 00
00000050  42 00 01 0D 28 19 10 00
00000058  43 00 02 0D 98 33 FE FF
00000060  73 00 03 07 60 04 FE FF
00000068  74 00 03 07 60 04 FE FF
........
00000C88  C8 0F 02 2A 54 09 FE FF
00000C90  C9 0F 02 2A 4C 09 FE FF
00000C98  CA 0F 02 2A 48 09 FE FF
00000CA0  CB 0F 02 2A 64 09 FE FF
00000CA8  CC 0F 02 2A 48 09 FE FF
          ^^^^^ ^^
          cyl   hd

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 16:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Part 3 of module 05 appears to be the P-list.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 16:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
I might end up trying to format with P-List to see if it fixes the drive but it would be better to figure out another way to do so that it's not data destructive....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 17:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
Spildit wrote:
I will need to try to fix this drive later but i can confirm now that if i turn the power on and try to scan/access media (user space) then i can't (it aborts) but if i send the SUPER ON for this drive type using HDD.exe the drive allows access to user area. If i turn power off and on again then it's again "locked" and to "unlock" it it's necessary to send the super on again.

Are you using HRT to "scan/access media", or can you do it with Victoria (after Super ON)?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 17:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Spildit wrote:
I will need to try to fix this drive later but i can confirm now that if i turn the power on and try to scan/access media (user space) then i can't (it aborts) but if i send the SUPER ON for this drive type using HDD.exe the drive allows access to user area. If i turn power off and on again then it's again "locked" and to "unlock" it it's necessary to send the super on again.

Are you using HRT to "scan/access media", or can you do it with Victoria (after Super ON)?


As soon as i send a Super On i can do it with Victoria / MHDD / whatever.

I don't even need to use HDD/HRT WD utility. I can use any ATA terminal and send the WD OLD Super On and that's it. It "unlocks" the access to the User Space. If i don't send the Super On there is no data access.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 17:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
That's weird. :?

I have extracted 37 components from your track dumps. There is more "stuff", but I don't know what it is, or where it begins and ends.


Attachments:
Modules_cut.rar [54.74 KiB]
Downloaded 34 times

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 19:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
ICBW, but module 0x20 looks like a translator.

Code:
Offset(h) 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F

00000000  01 01 5E A9 20 0A C5 A5 AD 76 31 00 40 6B 31 00
                        total ABAs = 0x316B40 ^^^^^^^^^^^

00000010  B8 0F 02 03 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 5B 02 00 00
                                              ^^^^^ ^^^^^
                          number of entries = 0x25B x 6 bytes

00000020  00 00 00 00 0F 8F 01 00 02 00 4C 91 01 00 07 00
          ^^^^^^^^^^^ first entry

The format of each entry appears to be as follows:

Code:
LBA / ABA   count
-----------  -----
00 00 00 00  00 00  first entry
0F 8F 01 00  02 00
4C 91 01 00  07 00
66 97 01 00  08 00
F8 98 01 00  0A 00
14 9F 01 00  0C 00
51 A1 01 00  0E 00
...........  .....
B8 A8 30 00  29 0B
C9 BC 30 00  2A 0B
A6 DB 30 00  2B 0B
A3 E6 30 00  2C 0B
40 6B 31 00  6D 0B
EC 7B 31 00  6E 0B
68 7D 31 00  6F 0B
C1 7F 31 00  C8 0B  last entry
FF FF FF 7F  00 00  terminator

The "count" columns appear to be a cumulative defect count.

Total LBAs = 3173184 = 0x306B40.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 19:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
Here, module 0x20 is indeed identifyed as "Translator" :

Attachment:
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 47.67 KiB | Viewed 1372 times ]


A simple "Super On" allows me to scan the drive and access to data even with Victoria :

Attachment:
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 75.29 KiB | Viewed 1372 times ]

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2018, 19:58 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9680
Location: Portugal
Looks like the end of the drive is really messed up ....

Attachment:
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 120.44 KiB | Viewed 1367 times ]


I will try this :

Attachment:
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 49.81 KiB | Viewed 1367 times ]

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WDC AC31600H firmware issue ?
PostPosted: January 8th, 2018, 15:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10847
Location: Australia
It seems strange that a drive with so many bad sectors has an empty Glist. Does this firmware architecture have a separate pending list (relolist)?

I wonder which SA modules would be affected if you were to overwrite one of the bad sectors. Hopefully the bad sector would be added to the Glist, and one pending sector would be removed from the relolist, if it exists.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group