All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: March 30th, 2018, 12:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
Can you WRITE to the drive with PC3K ?

Maybe PC3K is turning on read look ahead by default when you run the drive on it ? If you use Victoria and you set the cache ON there does it READ at proper speed ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: April 1st, 2018, 19:39 
Offline

Joined: July 6th, 2013, 15:13
Posts: 293
Location: ISLAMABAD
Hi
With Pc3k only the Physical Test run with full speed.
Normal Verify is like Read look ahead.

If i use Enable Read look Ahead in RAM, no effect on the hard disk.

I also discus with My teacher, he also thinking for finding Modules, because there is no header in the start on Toshiba CP, its very difficult to find Modules in Toshiba.
I mean Exact modules, until VSC command and documentations.

till now, i have unlocked the hard disk, but have issue with Read look ahead, and writing test not start showing ERR Lights on all Sectors.

I thought that there might be some lock in the Firmware Area, and that area also available in the ROM part,

Like half adaptive in Firmware SEction and some part in Platers and some in ROm.

When all get compatiable hdd start work properly.

do you have any Vender command to unlock password by Pc3k ATA shell ?

I am trying to finish my New Lab, and then i share ROM , i think take 1 or 2 more days

Kind Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2018, 14:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
waqas_ali766 wrote:
do you have any Vender command to unlock password by Pc3k ATA shell ?


Yes, but only to unlock ATA password and it's the SAME command that SeDiv Does use as i did "sniff" those commands out of SeDiv.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: April 18th, 2018, 19:43 
Offline

Joined: July 6th, 2013, 15:13
Posts: 293
Location: ISLAMABAD
Hi

Here is the Original ROM.
Attachment:
320GB 55 VCT locked.zip [310.89 KiB]
Downloaded 52 times




Here is the Donor ROM ROM.
Attachment:
oRIGINAL rom v sERIES.zip [308.04 KiB]
Downloaded 46 times




here is the ROM which i manually make to get access of FW area.
Just copy all CP from patient to donor, and write to HDD,
i got access to FW area.
Attachment:
320GB 55 VCT unlocked.zip [308.17 KiB]
Downloaded 47 times


Kind Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: April 19th, 2018, 19:06 
Offline

Joined: December 3rd, 2017, 11:23
Posts: 4
Location: Karachi
[quote="waqas_ali766"]Hi
With Pc3k only the Physical Test run with full speed.
Normal Verify is like Read look ahead.

If i use Enable Read look Ahead in RAM, no effect on the hard disk.

I also discus with My teacher,


who is the teacher of WAQAS ALI,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: April 20th, 2018, 15:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
RAJOO wrote:
(...)I also discus with My teacher,


who is the teacher of WAQAS ALI,


Cool ! And ... ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: September 22nd, 2018, 23:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10941
Location: Australia
Has there been any progress with the write problem? I have a potentially simple solution, but I'd like to see a full track dump of both patient (locked) and donor (unlocked).

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 1st, 2018, 18:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Has there been any progress with the write problem? I have a potentially simple solution, but I'd like to see a full track dump of both patient (locked) and donor (unlocked).


Looks interesting ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 1st, 2018, 19:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10941
Location: Australia
Spildit wrote:
fzabkar wrote:
Has there been any progress with the write problem? I have a potentially simple solution, but I'd like to see a full track dump of both patient (locked) and donor (unlocked).

Looks interesting ....

I'm wondering if the locked drive uses the same security module (S) on track #2 (?). If not, and if this module is not present in the locked SA, then the unlocked ROM code might be dropping back to read-only mode. My proposed solution would be to write an unlocked S module to the SA.

See http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2552&start=20

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 9:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 24th, 2013, 18:13
Posts: 416
Location: Poland
Toshiba VS doesn't have SED lock. He only locked Rom.

_________________
Hello everyone, sorry for my english, because am using google translator.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 14:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
fzabkar wrote:
Spildit wrote:
fzabkar wrote:
Has there been any progress with the write problem? I have a potentially simple solution, but I'd like to see a full track dump of both patient (locked) and donor (unlocked).

Looks interesting ....

I'm wondering if the locked drive uses the same security module (S) on track #2 (?). If not, and if this module is not present in the locked SA, then the unlocked ROM code might be dropping back to read-only mode. My proposed solution would be to write an unlocked S module to the SA.

See http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2552&start=20



I didn't read my forum yet but ...

- Only PATA (IDE) old drives would store "S" on track 2. Modern drives do store "S" on other tracks.

- To bypass locked drive you can use command to regen "S", you can use same method as ZU to force password change, you can gain access to "S" and copy it out and replace it with "S" from unlocked drive, etc .... but this is to bypass ATA lock only.

- You need "S" otherwise the drive will show as ATA locked.

- If you do a factory format of all tracks for example with SeDiv "S" will be cleared like G-List, S.M.A.R.T., etc as all tracks will be gone (on platter). Now if you power off/on drive will be ATA locked. You have to re-create "S" using for example same VSC to clear password as that will make the drive produce the initial "S" and write it on track.

- On ALL Toshiba drives that i did saw so far if you don't have a "S" module the drive wll be locked. If you "damage" "S" the drive will be locked as well. Many times ATA password lock will apear on Toshiba even if client didn't set the password ... guess what .... maybe SA is damaged, heads are gone, pre-amp are gone etc .... if a correct "S" with correct content can't be read the drive will report and act as ATA locked.

Regards.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2018, 19:09 
Offline

Joined: September 30th, 2005, 7:33
Posts: 617
Spildit wrote:
- If you do a factory format of all tracks for example with SeDiv "S" will be cleared like G-List, S.M.A.R.T., etc as all tracks will be gone (on platter). Now if you power off/on drive will be ATA locked. You have to re-create "S" using for example same VSC to clear password as that will make the drive produce the initial "S" and write it on track.


Toshiba drives don't clear "S" module , SMART module, etc.....They replace them with template modules that are stored on the same tracks....Format tracks will erase the template modules as well...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba Clear G-list ATA command
PostPosted: October 3rd, 2018, 15:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9817
Location: Portugal
BGman wrote:
Spildit wrote:
- If you do a factory format of all tracks for example with SeDiv "S" will be cleared like G-List, S.M.A.R.T., etc as all tracks will be gone (on platter). Now if you power off/on drive will be ATA locked. You have to re-create "S" using for example same VSC to clear password as that will make the drive produce the initial "S" and write it on track.


Toshiba drives don't clear "S" module , SMART module, etc.....They replace them with template modules that are stored on the same tracks....Format tracks will erase the template modules as well...


WRONG ....

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Try this :

1 - Use SeDiv or whatever tool and do a full format of the track.

2 - Check drive. It will be locked, slow, etc ....

3 - Use SeDiv or even directly issue the command to regen "S" module. Drive will be unlocked but still slow to detect as you don't have G-List, S.M.A.R.T., etc ...

4 - Use the command to regen G-List (clear), re-gen s.m.a.r.t. ,etc ....

5 - Drive will go full speed and will be ok.

6 - Now use your head and think ... IF Format tracks were to erase the template modules as well how would the command to regen the security work ? Just test it out and you will see ! Truth is when you do format tracks you can regen stuff and drive will be back to normal so regening with VSC doesn't require data on tracks (templates) to be there as you did already erase them with format tracks and you are still able to regen track modules by VSC !!!

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shippy__ and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group