All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 14:43 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
Hi gurus!
Tinkering with these tools I just stumbled upon this error from time to time, and lately I figured that it happens because of the updates. Once you update your Sw you can work with it but you cannot get back to work with a previous version if you require it. It is much bothering and an additional limitation though, and happened to me mainly with two doctors: Seagate and Hitachi.
Any idea for fixing this particular issue? ;)
Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 16:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Just use the latest version available ?

Unless they do break functions that were working on older versions ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 16:30 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
This is the point spildit :)
For some drives older versions fits better, it is not a rule (i have a very limited experience with sd stuff) but sometimes i managed better using older versions. The last Hitachi sw (7.3) is declared as beta by the developers actually.
Hope to find a way for having this thing fixed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 16:36 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
I hope that you do have something better than just SD tools ... At least something like SeDiv ....

You can't live on just with SD stuff ....

Might be VERY GOOD for OLD drives like MAXTOR and by all means get it even if you have MRT / SeDiv as you do need MAXTOR support that MRT / SeDiv doesn't have or is very poor but for ... MODER drives you need something way better than SD junk ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 18:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11819
Location: Australia
Do these updates affect the firmware in the Doctor, or just the host software, or both?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 18:25 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
Thanks for your reply and i got your point, nonetheless i'm trying to have them sorted out and, fixing issues is a good way for better understanding what we do normally (imo). I worked with ace stuff and actually there are so many things i used to and which i'm not able to replicate without it, but i'm trying to keep up ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 18:47 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
fzabkar wrote:
Do these updates affect the firmware in the Doctor, or just the host software, or both?


Following my experience I'd say both, but some doctors are more critical than others. Seagate and Hitachi got much more issues in this case :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 19:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Why don't you get cheap tools like SeDiv, WDMarvel and SHTR to compensate for the "problems" with those doctors ?

Also i think Data Compass can't image/clone drives bigger than 500 GB ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 19:56 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
I'm used to fix problems :) and trying to fix that one doesn't mean that I'm avoiding other tools for working (anyway i don't have those ones, but wdmarvel is a truly good one imo).

Data compass is a fair good imager, just slow as molasses!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: December 26th, 2018, 20:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
livetheenergy wrote:
I'm used to fix problems :) and trying to fix that one doesn't mean that I'm avoiding other tools for working (anyway i don't have those ones, but wdmarvel is a truly good one imo).

Data compass is a fair good imager, just slow as molasses!


Yeah .... try to image/clone 1TB drives (or bigger) with it ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: January 5th, 2019, 14:11 
Offline

Joined: November 17th, 2014, 13:18
Posts: 75
Location: roma,italia
Hello everybody, I hope this new year got off to a pretty fair start for you all gurus ;)

There's anybody here who can help with this error?
Thanks so much


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Soft ver error. Looking for a solution
PostPosted: January 5th, 2019, 16:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
livetheenergy wrote:
Hello everybody, I hope this new year got off to a pretty fair start for you all gurus ;)

There's anybody here who can help with this error?
Thanks so much


I think that if you do update the box firmware to the latest version you will be "stuck" with the latest version of the software as well. If you do want to use old version of software do not update the box firmware and on that case you will not be able to use the newer software ... Guess that you can't have them all ....

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group