All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2019, 6:20 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
Hi there!

So its been a week and a half, and no progress on unlocking my Hitachi ATA HDD.
Searched a lot, done a lot things to this drive, but nothing seems to work.

First, I tried ZU, tried with multiple PC-s (about 5-6 computer) but not works. I need the data on this HDD, so I cannot format it or erase it.
I tried to connect this drive to my motherboard with IDE (btw its a 2.5 ide hdd, so it needed a cable to 3.5), and tried unlocking it with ZU, but not works. After that, I tried as a SATA drive, with cable, not works. I have correct BIOS settings, ATA set to Compatible mode, and drive is on secondary master. MHDD says its locked, high pwd, not maximum.
Can you guys help me with this, please? Im really dissapointed that I could not unlock this...One thing that I didnt try is Hiren boot cd.
I've attached some photos:
This is ZU with all commands tried already. I dont understand why it says "Now you can screw it in...press when ready"
http://www.kepfeltoltes.eu/images/2019/03/193B6D5AAE7_4DEF_45BA_AF7.jpeg
This is my setup for the motherboard-drive connection, I think this is a correct way:
http://www.kepfeltoltes.eu/images/2019/03/1832C1F0426_B744_419D_A0F.jpeg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2019, 7:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 24th, 2013, 18:13
Posts: 426
Location: Poland
This mdl is not supported by ZU.

_________________
Hello everyone, sorry for my poor english, because i using google translator.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2019, 7:52 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
pikus_09 wrote:
This mdl is not supported by ZU.

So I cannot unlock it with ZU i guess. Is there any program that could unlock it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2019, 11:56 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
Still nothing found even with Victoria HDD. Idk what to do, I really need those important data on my locked hdd... :( :( :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 2nd, 2019, 18:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Send the drive to a reputable data recovery firm ... PC-3000 should be able to support that model and unlock that drive ...

Also it would help to know how that drive got locked to start with .... Don't you remember the password anymore ?

Those drives are often used on navigation/gps systems ... If the idea is to upgrade the data on the drive be aware that removing the password doesn't mean that you will be able to lock the drive again with the same password if you don't know it already...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 3rd, 2019, 17:48 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
You are correct. Trying to update the navi. Btw, the car will lock it again if its unlocked. What if I disconnect the PCB and try to unlock it with zu.exe, and when it says that screw back in, i try to screw it back again? What could go wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 3rd, 2019, 18:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Bence98007 wrote:
You are correct. Trying to update the navi. Btw, the car will lock it again if its unlocked. What if I disconnect the PCB and try to unlock it with zu.exe, and when it says that screw back in, i try to screw it back again? What could go wrong?


That is the idea !!!

You should disconect the PCB, use ZU and then screw back the PCB !!! This is because with ATA password the drive will reject all vendor specific commands including the ones to read/write NVRam !!! When you disconect the PCB ZU patches the nvram and then sets it to boot the drive from factory compy of firmware that is not locked. With that you plug PCB and zu re-sets the security module and write native nvram flag to boot from normal firmaware.

But i'm not sure if ZU does support that model. If ZU doesn't know the super on command for that specific family of drive it will NOT unlock it.

Are you 100% sure that your navi will lock your drive again if it's unlocked ? If so there is a trick that you can do ....

Instead of using a Hitachi drive go get a WD 2.5 IDE drive ... or a seagate .... or a samsung ...

Now LOCK that drive with your navi. on a WD/Seagate/Samsung you can get the password module from the firmware and READ the original password, assuming it's the same that is used for ALL drives !!!

Read here : - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=570

On that thread we were able to get the password of the device by locking a WD drive !

There are FREE tools for WD and Samsung that will get you the password... Safer and faster way is to get a WD drive ...

Also with WD you can patch ID module so that it will ID just like your Hitachi drive and this can be of use to figure out the password if that pasasword does depend of the model of the drive + serial ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 3rd, 2019, 18:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
Also be aware that the file system of the navi might not be know by the computer even if you are able to unlock the drive ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 6:56 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
So I managed to unlock it yesterday. I updated the navi and I got bootloop in my car with this hdd.(some files missing maybe) after that I removed from the car, its locked again. But this time i cannot remove the password and i dont remember how i did it yesterday. One thing I tried to remove the pcb from hdd, use zu /s. but it waits a little then says unlock not done. After that I tried with zu /s8 it says unlock not done. When I send zu /s. command it says power off/on and execute zu again. So I removed its power and didnt restart the computer. I sent zu /s. again and nothing happened just unlock not done. Idk how I managed to do it yesterday...any idea?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 7:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
PCB Only. Run ZU. It should change NVRam. Place PCB back. Run ZU. It should unlock the drive ... Unless it's damaged now like ZU messing up the security module, etc ...

I guess that your update didn't go qute as planned ... I hope that you did image the drive prior to apply changes ...

And if you can lock ANY drive i think you should try the WD method to get the password rather than attempting to unlock the drive without knowing the password.

Good luck.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 7:53 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
Okay, thank you very much for your help! I’ll try to unlock it like you said but I think ZU could broke because it wont unlock again. I just copied the files from its partitions, but forgot to do image from it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 7:55 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
Btw, should I restard the computer before placing the PCB back? Or its enough to cut its power, or i can just screw it in when powered?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 8:11 
Offline

Joined: May 2nd, 2019, 6:06
Posts: 8
Location: Hungary
Oh i figured it out.
So your hint is really a good option. I should bit-to-bit copy the drive to a WD drive. What program do you prefer to view the password? (As a string??)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: May 4th, 2019, 14:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
You don't need to copy anything as long as the navi does lock the drive.

Asa matter of fact you can't do a bit-to-bit copy with the locked drive unless you unlock it ...

You can use MHDD scripts to read the password out of an old WD drive (WDC MCU) and if you use a modern drive based on the Marvell MCU you can use WDMarvel but i don't think you will find IDE 2.5 WD drives that are Marevell based ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: July 24th, 2019, 15:05 
Offline

Joined: July 24th, 2019, 15:02
Posts: 2
Location: Romania
Hello all

Bence98007, can you tell me how to unlock it?

I too tried with ZU and got "Now you can screw it in...press when ready"

i tried connecting only the pcb, but the PC does not recognize it anymore

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Locked Hitachi ATA Pwd
PostPosted: August 9th, 2019, 14:53 
Offline

Joined: July 24th, 2019, 15:02
Posts: 2
Location: Romania
I managed to unlock it.
1: in safe mode run zu.exe /p. or /s. But quite quickly after inserting the hdd
2: in normal mode run the same command.

Job done


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group