All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2009, 18:49 
Offline

Joined: August 2nd, 2009, 18:41
Posts: 1
Location: Sweden
Hello. Just want to say that theese posts saved my day. I'm far from an expert but i'm an experienced user that have encounterd many known and unknown hardwareproblems out there. Seems to have bad luck that way but at least you get som experience with tinkering around untill you find the solution . I understanded the risks but found them exeptable. I got the equipment needed and followed the steps. And that saved me 700 Gb of data =) Couldn't have done it without this forum. Thanks alot :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2009, 18:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10837
Location: Portugal
Your welcomed.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2009, 22:23 
Offline

Joined: March 27th, 2009, 3:10
Posts: 76
Location: Wisconsin
bigal.nz wrote:
prodata wrote:
the reason is so simple.

WILL A DOCTOR GIVE OR TEACH DIY MANUAL. SO EVERY USER CAN HEAL THEIR ILLNESS BY THEMSELF....???

I think the Doctor will.. But not a FULL one.. there is only some information and advice but not Fully direct the user to DIY...


To compare a doctor who holds a person life in there hands, and data recovery is unrealistic. What is at stake in your example is completely disportionate (sp), but to use your example:

If you were on a yacht at sea and you could not get to a doctor but had to preform say a trachotomy (akin to the person who has lost there data, but cant afford a DR expert) would the doctor then give instructions over a radio on how to perform the trachotomy to save the life? (akin to giving instructions here on the forum) YES of course the doctor would. The person may very well still die if the trachotomy is not done right (they may still loose there data if not done right) but in both cases they have nothing to loose because if they do nothing they die (loose data) anyway!

-Al


I saw very scenario on M*A*S*H once. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: September 24th, 2009, 17:50 
Offline

Joined: September 21st, 2009, 11:36
Posts: 6
Location: Lima, Peru
To return to the simple fact if it works or not: I consider myself a (minor) expert on DR and asked a friend to build this device for me. Costed me about $10, but I was happy to pay it. To prevent power-problems we used a second PSU to power it and used the lines suggested in other forums. A small test on a working drive did no damage, it is still running and the only drive in the computer I'm using to write this reply.

This small device already saved 2 drives of customers of mine, without using my SD-doctors. I agree, you really have to follow the instructions to the letter (capitals or not), because else the chance of F-ing up four drive are tremendous, but with me it worked wonders. Thanks very much for this option!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2009, 18:39 
Offline

Joined: October 2nd, 2009, 18:34
Posts: 2
Location: Kansas City
I am having the LBA 0 error with my Seagate hard drive and I purchased this cable that your recommended. Does it require anything else other than connecting this cable correctly the the hard drive and supplying power to be able to use in Hyper Terminal to repair. I would appreciate any help you can offer.

Thank you,
Darrin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2009, 18:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 28th, 2008, 7:52
Posts: 1479
Location: Europe, Hungary
Hi,

This tutorial is not for beginners.
If your data is important, ask somebody for do it for you, who have done this at least 1 time successfully.
If you make any mistake, you can render your drive unrecoverable.

Janos


results-the-yourself-solutions-t11912.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: October 3rd, 2009, 10:34 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2009, 10:28
Posts: 1
Location: british
very nice,the data was still on the disk sometimes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: October 5th, 2009, 13:02 
Offline

Joined: October 2nd, 2009, 18:34
Posts: 2
Location: Kansas City
willr666,

I am having the LBA 0 error with my Seagate hard drive and I purchased this cable that your recommended. Does it require anything else other than connecting this cable correctly the the hard drive and supplying power to be able to use in Hyper Terminal to repair. I would appreciate any help you can offer.

Thank you,
Darrin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 6th, 2009, 11:30 
Offline

Joined: December 6th, 2009, 11:23
Posts: 1
Location: India
Hi All,

I could be able to successfully retrieve my 500GB Seagate drive with this method.


I got the same error as frodo.baggins.

F3 T>/2

F3 2>Z

Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 0.146 msecs
F3 2>U

Error 1009 DETSEC 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 7 mins 17 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180
F3 2>

This is due to the contact issues between the HDD and the PCB. So i , I had tightened all screws (with power ON to the HDD. So we need to do this carefully. Any wrong doings could fry the PCB) and then i issued the command 'U'. Now I got the spin complete message. Then i successfully completed the remaining steps to get my 500GB back(465GB actually :D ).

Thanks
Guru


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 0:34 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 11:18
Posts: 22
Location: india
will i get my data back if i do all that exactly as you say :?: :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 2:17 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 3959
Location: Hungary
If the problem is the same, probably yes, but there's no warranty, as there can be some problems with defect lists that make the process a bit more complicated.
Also be aware that ANY wrong move can render your data gone forever, so if you are not confident, it may be worth finding a pro who did many of these...
Please also read this

pepe

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery
No bitcoin donations :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 4:16 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 11:18
Posts: 22
Location: india
I did exactly as given but first i did the 0LBA and the it completed successfully but still the drive did not come back then i tried with bsy it also completed successfully but still the drive is not showing up


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 8:10 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7826
Location: UK
You need pro help, DIY has gone as far as it will go in this case.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
http://www.pcimage.co.uk

New!! HDD-PCB.COM for all your PCB and donor HDD requirements!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: December 31st, 2009, 10:34 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2009, 11:18
Posts: 22
Location: india
can there be any other problem than this one
If the hard disk is not getting detected in the bios and windows too ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: January 11th, 2010, 12:41 
Offline

Joined: January 11th, 2010, 12:36
Posts: 1
Location: turkey
Thanks for the guide guys

I'm doing it right now and 10 mins left after m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 but nothing happens and i'm waiting :/ hdd's motor is spinnin non-stop. it has 450 gb data maybe because of this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: February 22nd, 2010, 16:57 
Offline

Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 14:50
Posts: 1
Location: London
hi..
just had my 1TB seagate fail on boot up... seagate say it's is not affected by the 0LBA issue.. and thus won't waranty the data... but if i put drive in another machine and use linux and run
Code:
smartctl -a /dev/sda

smartctl version 5.36 [i686-pc-linux-gnu] Copyright (C) 2002-6 Bruce Allen
Home page is http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net/

Device: ATA      ST31000333AS     Version: CC3H
Serial number:             9TE1FQAA
Device type: disk
Local Time is: Mon Feb 22 20:29:19 2010 UTC
Device does not support SMART

Error Counter Logging not supported

so drive is there...
and
Code:
hdpram -i /dev/sda

/dev/sda:

Model=ST31000333AS                            , FwRev=CC3H    , SerialNo=            9TE1FQAA
Config={ HardSect NotMFM HdSw>15uSec Fixed DTR>10Mbs RotSpdTol>.5% }
RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=0, SectSize=0, ECCbytes=4
BuffType=unknown, BuffSize=0kB, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=?16?
CurCHS=16383/16/63, CurSects=16514064, LBA=yes, LBAsects=0
IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:120,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120}
PIO modes:  pio0 pio1 pio2 pio3 pio4
DMA modes:  mdma0 mdma1 *mdma2
UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 udma5 udma6
AdvancedPM=no WriteCache=enabled
Drive conforms to: unknown:  ATA/ATAPI-4,5,6,7

* signifies the current active mode


but whats this... LBAsects=0 surly that means 0LBA..
so will this fix work on this drive...

many thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2010, 6:54 
Offline

Joined: March 20th, 2010, 9:22
Posts: 21
Location: brasil
gsustek wrote:
I just did this on a Maxtor DiamondMax 22 500GB with MX15 firmware (same as SD15 on the Seagate brand).

Success!
Many thanks to Gradius and fatlip for posting this solution!

The Seagate serial checker shows my drive as unaffected, but it had "LED:000000CC FAddr:0024A051" error.

Just one comment: make sure you use correct upper/lower case letters for the commands.

I did "z" instead of "Z" and got
"Error 1008 DETSEC 00005006 R/W Status 2 R/W Error C4090081
Next User PLP CHW 000001.0.0108
Remaining Transfer Length 00000000"

seems OK though.

same forum
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?sho ... 8807&st=40

4 : 0 :)


Hi,
You are right my friend, Gradius deserves sincere Thanks for the help he posted on MSNF forum, I used it , and
worked perfectly. I am new on this formu too, seeking more knowledge from Gurus.
My regards,
Toni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 6:55 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 14262
Location: Australia
See this thread for instructions and photos:
http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/mes ... 467#M18467

Good luck.

-Franc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 8:55 
Offline

Joined: March 24th, 2010, 8:33
Posts: 1
Location: Ottawa
+2 "zero LBA" drives recovered with data intact.

I had extremely bad luck: 2 of my 5 drives in a RAID-5 (ZFS RAID-Z actually) failed at exactly the same time. Bad timing too... I had just installed 5 new bigger disks in order to migrate the array onto them. I thought, why fail now, just as I was to retire the disks, and why TWO of them at the SAME TIME! What bad luck! If it had just been one, I wouldn't have cared... I actually might have been thrilled because the RAID array would still have given me my data intact, and that would have validated all the effort and expense. But two failures at the same time was a real kick in the shorts.

These were ST3500320AS with AD14 firmware. As shipped from the factory, they had SD04 firmware. I think I remember updating them shortly after buying them because of performance issues with the SD04.

I mucked around with different cables and controller cards for nearly two days. Seagate support insisted that my drives are not affected by the firmware issue and I should just return them for warranty. This was despite the symptoms being identical to the firmware issue. I didn't accept that and decided to search for other people with similar problems. I found this board within minutes. It took me just a few minutes to rig up a RS232-TTL converter - having a fully stocked and fully equipped electronics workshop in my basement doesn't hurt - and within a few minutes I had both drives working again.

My converter has an ADM232 (Analog Devices MAX232 clone), and I powered it with 2 LR44 alkaline button cells for 3.0 Volts. I took apart a CD-to-soundcard connector cable to make the connectors, I just removes the 'female' connectors from the housing and added some shrink tubing to the bare connectors so I could plug each to the appropriate pins on the HDD. The connection would have been a lot easier if they had used standard 0.1" headers instead of 2 mm ones. Anyway, I got it done. The drives and my data are alive again.

Thanks a million.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: resolve 0 LBA,SEAGATE 7200.11 BIOS don't recognize
PostPosted: April 7th, 2010, 2:17 
Offline

Joined: April 7th, 2010, 2:12
Posts: 1
Location: new zealand
is there any reason why i cant just "pinch" the HD controller off another identical 500gb seagate 7200.11 drive that isnt stuck in busy mode to get my data off - yes i know it doesnt resolve the drive issue but im more concerned about my data than a $NZ100 hard disk

i need my data back now and can wait to resolve the drive issue either by RMA/replacement to the supplier, or the RS232 method described


thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 188 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group