It is currently November 26th, 2014, 2:05

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2009, 9:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1297
Location: Ontario, Canada
This drive powers on, comes ready and detects correctly with PC3000. As there is no PC3000 utility specifically made for the Kermit series drive, I use the Tornado 2R utility. From there, I am able to back up the SA with no errors or problems. That is about as far as I am able to go.

When I view the head map via head map changing, I see that there are 6 heads, (2,3,4,5,6,7). However, when I attempt a head test, no heads show. A sector edit on all sectors results in a Read error.

I've seen similar issues with earlier WD drives and am able to simply resolve it by rebuilding the translator. This time, that doesn't work...which could just be because I don't have the correct utility to do this.

If the heads were as dead as the sector reads imply, then I shouldn't be able to read any of the SA, let alone all of it.

Another posibility is a locked drive issue, but when I load the utility, it implies that Master & User Passwords are not set...though I suppose the actual module could be damaged...but, I'm not seeing it that way.

Any thoughts?

_________________
Luke
Recovery Force Inc - Data Recovery Specialists


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2009, 9:28 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2887
If one or more heads have defects this will prevent translator from complete initialisation, this gives the symptoms of healthy SA while data access is not possible. All modules appear OK and healthy and disk gives no clicking or knocking and remains in ready state?

If this is the problem you have then as far as I know there is no obvious or simple solution :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 9:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1297
Location: Ontario, Canada
hddguy wrote:
If one or more heads have defects this will prevent translator from complete initialisation, this gives the symptoms of healthy SA while data access is not possible. All modules appear OK and healthy and disk gives no clicking or knocking and remains in ready state?


Yes, everything seems fine, except the ability to access the data areas.

hddguy wrote:
If this is the problem you have then as far as I know there is no obvious or simple solution :-(


Does anyone else have any suggestions?

_________________
Luke
Recovery Force Inc - Data Recovery Specialists


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 11:41 
Offline

Joined: December 27th, 2006, 10:15
Posts: 1721
Location: Belgium
Ace released today an update of UDMA which supports Kermit series.
Perhaps give that a try.

Dobre

_________________
Murphy was an optimist

Datarecovery in Belgium, Holland, France and Germany


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 12:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 1297
Location: Ontario, Canada
dobrevjetser wrote:
Ace released today an update of UDMA which supports Kermit series.
Perhaps give that a try.


I've been awaiting the release for a couple of weeks. I was recently told that it would be a couple weeks more before it will be released. I'm hoping that was a wrong guesstimate and that I will have access to the utility sooner than later.

Using one of the other utilities, I tested the heads. Head 5 came back as bad. It just doesn't make sense that it would cause the problem of not being able to read any sector. it also could be that it is a false report, due to the running of the wrong utility. So, here I sit awaiting the update.

_________________
Luke
Recovery Force Inc - Data Recovery Specialists


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 12:20 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 12:02
Posts: 2769
Location: Chicago
lcoughey, we have lab in Toronto area we can defenitely recover this one

_________________
My hobby is numismatics - http://coins.zoxt.net/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 12:35 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2887
You could hotswap from a working model and image by selective heads, but making donor compatible enough to read data is not easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 2nd, 2009, 16:01 
Offline

Joined: December 12th, 2008, 17:00
Posts: 182
Location: Cook islands
New PC-3000 utility works fine with Kermit. As I remember, version 4.2
Also there are other new WD families.

_________________
This user was found to be affiliated with Ace Lab/PC-3000. See this topic for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: April 3rd, 2009, 23:49 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2005, 22:58
Posts: 638
Location: Canada
New English version with Kermit support should be available on Monday or Tuesday as far as I know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2010, 8:20 
Offline

Joined: February 17th, 2006, 11:52
Posts: 34
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Hi Luke

Did you get this resolved? I have 2 Kermits with the same symptoms. SA fully available-No LBAs read.

_________________
Thanks,
GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2010, 8:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 7th, 2009, 21:36
Posts: 331
This thread is almost a year old. The problem is common and the solution is just as easy. You need to do more reading of your manual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2010, 8:36 
Offline

Joined: February 17th, 2006, 11:52
Posts: 34
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Thanks

Back to the PC3K manual. Must have missed something.

_________________
Thanks,
GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD10EAVS-00D7B1
PostPosted: February 3rd, 2010, 7:16 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2887
Will not find solution in manual. First, you need identify the problem. The fault has been described in previous posts, and I do not think anyone will simply give the solution if your not prepared to dig a little deeper to identify the problem...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group