It is currently April 17th, 2014, 11:26

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with Kingston Datatraveler 16 GB
PostPosted: April 18th, 2009, 15:19 
Offline

Joined: April 18th, 2009, 15:07
Posts: 2
Location: Venezuela
Hello, first of all, sorry for my english. I hope you can understand.

I've bought this flash memory yesterday. I put some files (about 300 Mb) and i stopped using it. Today I connected the device to the PC and when i try to access it, windows shows a box dialog saying something like the usb has no format. It also says if i want to format it but then shows a new dialog box saying that windows can't give format to it.

It's weird, last night everything was fine. And when i try to do a low level format with the Hard Disk Low Level Format Tool it shows a lots o errors... I don't know what could it be happening.

Thank you for reading this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with Kingston Datatraveler 16 GB
PostPosted: April 18th, 2009, 16:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 3874
Location: Portugal
RMA the flash usb drive.
If you aquire it on ebay most probably you were cheated :shock:

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Place for open discourse on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with Kingston Datatraveler 16 GB
PostPosted: April 18th, 2009, 22:21 
Offline

Joined: April 18th, 2009, 15:07
Posts: 2
Location: Venezuela
No man. I've bought in a official store, the model is the Datatraveler 101, you can see in in the flash animation in the official website click here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with Kingston Datatraveler 16 GB
PostPosted: April 19th, 2009, 3:05 
Offline

Joined: December 12th, 2008, 17:00
Posts: 182
Location: Cook islands
exs wrote:
No man. I've bought in a official store, the model is the Datatraveler 101, you can see in in the flash animation in the official website click here

Why don't you give back this flash stick to store? It has a warranty.

_________________
This user was found to be affiliated with Ace Lab/PC-3000. See this topic for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with Kingston Datatraveler 16 GB
PostPosted: April 19th, 2009, 14:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2009, 3:26
Posts: 1682
Location: French Polynesia Tahiti
Normally these come with a set up disk to format and install them. Ones that I have seen have an automatic program inside of them to set them up. If you disconnect them without disconnecting from the tray first this can cause your problem. Try using hte CD to reset back to factory setting. If that doesn't work take it back and get a new one

_________________
Iorana Haraharaini


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group