It is currently November 25th, 2014, 16:33

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 1:54 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2009, 1:45
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan
Hello, I have an Iomega Prestige 1TB external HDD, model LDHD-UP and I was wondering if my model has an internal HDD that could be connected to the inside of my computer? I was thinking since my HDD is having a connectivity issue, where it works but it can't interface with any pc, that I could try taking out the HDD and hooking it up into my PC. So is it possible to hook it up internally instead of by USB?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 3:20 
Offline

Banned User

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7496
Location: ITALY
What if the disk inside the enclosure IS the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 6:45 
Online

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 5505
Location: UK
How do you know if the HDD works, if you can't connect it?

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 10:07 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2009, 1:45
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan
Well the light on it turns on and it gets to it's normal warm temperature, sure it's a little quiet but it still makes a /little/ noise. Actually, I'm very perplexed by this, it was working perfectly fine the night before and then the next day, poof. I had the PC and it on for a few days and shut it down two nights ago when I went to sleep and yesterday morning it just stopped working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 12:12 
Offline

Banned User

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7496
Location: ITALY
5 minutes before died, he was alive. Yes, happens that way. Can be either the box or the disk that need to be serviced. If the disk has developed problems or is no longer working, this is the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 12:44 
Online

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 5505
Location: UK
What's the model of the drive inside the chassis?

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 14:59 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2009, 1:45
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan
Uh, the model is LDHD-UP like I posted in the first post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 28th, 2009, 16:21 
Online

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 5505
Location: UK
No its not!

The model of the DRIVE INSIDE, not the chassis, there is no HDD called "LDHD-UP".

I mean something like "ST31000333AS" (this would be a Seagate drive)

btw, sarcasm doesn't help when you're after free advice.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 29th, 2009, 0:40 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2009, 1:45
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan
Uh, I'm sorry then. O.o Honestly, that's what it says on the outside of the external HDD for model, LDHD-UP.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 29th, 2009, 0:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: October 6th, 2005, 3:00
Posts: 655
then give a picture

_________________
Спасибо
СУТИОНО / АПИНГ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 29th, 2009, 0:59 
Offline

Joined: June 28th, 2009, 1:45
Posts: 5
Location: Michigan
Uh, would this help? P/N: 31758600


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: June 29th, 2009, 3:33 
Online

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 5505
Location: UK
Not really, you need to open up the chassis and check the model number and/or PN on the HDD inside.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: August 31st, 2010, 1:48 
Offline

Joined: August 31st, 2010, 1:44
Posts: 1
Location: Australia
Yes, Goodnew the HDD does work in the normal computer as SATA II HDD and Portable Case come with iomega is un repair unable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: January 29th, 2011, 15:43 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2011, 15:27
Posts: 5
Location: Maryland
I'm having the same problem with an IOMEGA LDHD-UP 1TB EXT HD containing a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS drive. It seems that the external controller contained in the silver housing burned out; the disk is still spinning. According to the last reply, installing the Seagate drive into a desktop PC might bring the unit back to life. Is that correct?

Makes sense. I've been looking for an IOMEGA LDHD-UP unit without success, thinking that perhaps transferring the old internal unit to a new one would get it working again.

Factory repair or data recovery don't seem to be viable options, but I would like to recover the data from the unit.

Any thoughts?

KHH


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: January 30th, 2011, 0:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 6212
Location: Australia
khh0725 wrote:
I'm having the same problem with an IOMEGA LDHD-UP 1TB EXT HD containing a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31000340AS drive. It seems that the external controller contained in the silver housing burned out; the disk is still spinning. According to the last reply, installing the Seagate drive into a desktop PC might bring the unit back to life. Is that correct?

Can you see the enclosure using Microsoft's UVCView?
http://www.users.on.net/~fzabkar/USB_ID ... ew.x86.exe

What is the firmware version of the hard drive? Some versions were affected by the BSY bug.

Installing the drive in a desktop will at least eliminate the USB-SATA bridge board as a possible culprit. It will also allow you to run a greater range of diagnostic and cloning tools.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: January 30th, 2011, 8:53 
Offline

Joined: July 12th, 2010, 4:38
Posts: 818
Location: Portugal
Try to connect the HDD to a PC and you will see what will happen. If the HDD is OK, you will be able to work with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: August 4th, 2011, 15:45 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2011, 15:27
Posts: 5
Location: Maryland
After removing the external controller I discovered that the internal Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 HD does not have the standard HD internal EIDE connections. So that option is out. What now?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: August 4th, 2011, 15:57 
Offline

Joined: February 24th, 2011, 9:27
Posts: 82
Location: East Coast
What connection is it? Post pic if you do not know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: August 4th, 2011, 16:16 
Offline

Joined: August 12th, 2008, 13:11
Posts: 3241
Location: USA
That would be SATA rather than IDE.

Your Iomega unit is probably not the problem. If it still spins up the drive, it has most likely not "burned out".

_________________
You don't have to backup all of your files, just the ones you want to keep.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Iomega Prestige 1TB question
PostPosted: August 4th, 2011, 16:35 
Offline

Joined: January 29th, 2011, 15:27
Posts: 5
Location: Maryland
Jar wrote:
What connection is it? Post pic if you do not know.
The attached pictures show the HD connections. While the external description shows this to be an IOMEGA LDHD-UP 1TB HD, the internal drive shows it to be a Seagate HD Drive, Barracuda 7200.11.


Attachments:
100-2729.jpg
100-2729.jpg [ 1015.41 KiB | Viewed 6695 times ]
100-2724.jpg
100-2724.jpg [ 1.22 MiB | Viewed 6695 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jono-ats, Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group