It is currently July 25th, 2014, 15:39

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:06 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
Hi,
I just received my new drive (western digital caviar green 1.5 TB) but can't initialize. The disk appears in the Device Manager and Disk Management. But when I want to initialize it, it gives an error message of either The Device is Not Ready or Incorrect Function.
Please advice.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:21 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
sounds like you got a possible faulty drive as it wont initialize

but need more information first

like what type of os are you using windows 7

how many drives connected up to your computer to begin with.

is this a sata drive or ide drive


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:24 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
yes Windows 7 Pro 64bit, SATA drive.
Enclosure is by Infosafe
I've tried with 2 laptops..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:30 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
possible the enclosure is at fault as you can buy cheap ones and good ones


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:35 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
http://www.startech.com/item/UNI3510U2E ... h-OTB.aspx
i got this... maybe i shall try with another enclosure..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:36 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
try this






go to start then run


type CMD.EXE (do not hit enter)
Right-click on CMD.EXE in the area above where you typed
Click on "Run as administrator"
You are now at a command prompt
Type following:

1. Diskpart and hit enter
2. List Disk and hit enter
3. Select Disk n where n is the number shown for your problem drive and hit enter
4. Create Partition Primary and hit enter
5. Format fs=ntfs quick and hit enter
6. Assign and hit enter
7. Exit and hit enter
8. Exit and hit enter

Now :
Win key
type DISKMGMT.MSC and hit enter

Does your drive show up at all


Last edited by craig6928 on March 24th, 2010, 20:42, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:39 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
ok its possible that you got a faulty case or a faulty drive
if you tried it on another machine

can you connect the hard drive up to the motherboard at all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:48 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
DISKPART> Select Disk 1

Disk 1 is now the selected disk.

DISKPART> Create Partition Primary

DiskPart has encountered an error: The device is not ready.
See the System Event Log for more information.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:50 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
from Event log:
Log Name: System
Source: Virtual Disk Service
Date: 3/24/2010 8:47:23 PM
Event ID: 10
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Frozz-PC
Description:
VDS fails to write boot code on a disk during clean operation. Error code: 80070015@02070008
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Virtual Disk Service" />
<EventID Qualifiers="49664">10</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-03-25T00:47:23.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>129914</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Frozz-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>80070015@02070008</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 20:57 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
ok what the system event log for say
there something wrong possible with the hard drive case,
not working
or possible the hard drive is faulty.
as your getting the same fault on the other machines


the only way to test it now is by connecting the hard drive up in another case or inside the machine

allso is this a bought version of windows 7 or a copied version ???????


check microsoft website for updates on your hard hardware


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 21:03 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
the code Error code: 80070015@02070008 is hard drive fail

but i think its the hard drive encloser that is at fault and not the drive itself

see if you can change it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 24th, 2010, 22:52 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2010, 2:19
Posts: 33
Location: ann arbor
yes it's the enclosure!!
thx Craig! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cannot initialize new HD
PostPosted: March 26th, 2010, 2:17 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2006, 3:38
Posts: 1026
Location: canada
no problem glad to help you out :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gtg472b, pcimage and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group