All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 17th, 2010, 5:08 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
Oh god, this keeps happening to me. I've had so many hardware problems recently, taking up all my time and money...

I'll tell you the entire story.
I have a fan on the front of the computer (quite small) that often makes alot of noise. So everytime it makes this sound, I press down on the casing or nudge it (or slap it), and it quitens down.
For the past 2-3 days though it's been EXTREMELY loud, and it's unstoppable.
A nudge shuts it up for a minute or 2, and then it starts up again. It's incredibly annoying...
So I decided to do something about it.
It's a small fan, it appears to only cool down my 2 harddrives and nothing else, so I thought I'd remove it.
Attached to the fan is a black wire and a red wire. I followed these wires back to the source. The 2 wires were seemingly forced into 2 of one the 4 pin harddrive cables (wires:red black black yellow, white plug).
[I should mention here that my computer was built by a specialist and purchased on eBay.]
I saw this and thought to my self "Easy!"
I pulled the 2 wires out and removed the fan from the casing.

When I started up the computer, everything seemed fine. No more noise!
Then I realised my 2nd harddrive wasn't showing up.
500GB of music, software and work. Important work....
I put my hand to the harddrive as the computer casing was still open. Nothing.

It's COMPLETELY unresponsive.
I look at the BIOs, it's not recognised.
I tried it in another computer. Nothing. No whirring, no sound.

If you think you've been unlucky with hardware recently, just look at my recent history....
In the past 2 months, I've had 2 harddrive failures (of different kinds) a PS3 has died, an Ipod Touch has died AND I had a serious virus affect my computer, eventually leading to a fix that took ages...
(and about 6 months ago, an external harddrive which I used for backing up died. Does nothing now but whir and click upon start up)

I can only imagine I burnt the harddrive's board out or something from doing something with the fan.
I had shut off the power when i removed it, but I was pretty hastey in pulling out those 2 wires, and i believe I might have heard a little buzz of electricity.

Any help will be MUCH appreciated.

-Tom

------Edit------

I've been doing some research since, and I believe my problem may be solved if I replaced the controller board with a working one.
I think that is where the problem lies (however, i never smelt a burnt component, which most people would if the board were burnt out)

Now here lies another problem.
Here's a link to the amazon page of the harddrive I purchased a year ago.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...ef=oss_product

My harddrive is western digital:

WD Caviar SE16
MDL: WD5000AAKS-00TMA00
DATE: 07 AUG 2007
DCM: DHNCHV2CHB
PCB: 2061 701477 900 04P

However the amazon page shows hardly any details, and i believe sells 500GB refurbished harddrives of various make...

First I would like clarifcation on if I'm heading in the right direction.
If so, where can I find a controller board for my harddrive OR the exact same harddrive???
Could I possibly get one from this forum?

I am so desperately in need of help, anything will do...
Techguys.com and Techsupportforum.com are lousy, I hope you guys can prove yourselves more helpful.

Please help. My data on that drive is my livelihood.

-Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 17th, 2010, 22:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 16th, 2007, 10:26
Posts: 1151
hi,
does your drive spin up or no? i can this kind of PCB for your drive. and be able to help you program right firmware into PCB. please contact me by email or MSN if need help. thanks.

_________________
data recovery service[/b]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 18th, 2010, 7:52 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
No spin up, like i said, completely dead. No sign of life whatsoever.

I've read that these pcbs would also require the EEPROM to be transferred into the new pcb, so I'm not sure if this would even work without some very careful electronics surgery up to me, which I'd rather not do...
Thanks anyway.

I've been messaged by someone who very kindly told me this:

Don't panic. You may be able to get away with a $0 DIY fix.

Check TVS diodes D3 and D4 (near the SATA power connector) for short circuits with a multimeter. If either is shorted, just desolder it or snip it out with flush cutters. The drive will work without it. Just be sure your power supply is good.

You will also need to check the zero ohm resistors, R67 and R64. If either is open, then replace it with a 2A picofuse, or bridge it with a short length of wire.

If you need more help with this, feel free to ask. One of us will help you. A detailed photo would help.

If you decide to swap boards, be aware that you will need to transplant the 8-pin serial EEPROM chip from patient to donor. This is because it stores unique drive specific calibration data. Changing the EEPROM is a lot harder than fixing the most likely problem on your original board.

See the following articles for help in identifying the components.

HDD from inside Main parts:
http://hddscan.com/doc/HDD_from_inside.html
easy-faultdiagnostic-troubleshooting-must-try-t12319.html

BTW, a cheap digital multimeter will cost you US$10 and will come in handy for other jobs.

Best of luck.


I'd just like confirmation from someone else that they think this would fix the problem.

I must stress, when I heard the buzz, I didn't smell ANY KIND of that familiar burnt component smell.
And unfortunately, I haven't got a torx screwdriver yet (ordered a set 2 days ago, will take a while to get here though...) so I can't inspect the possible damage.

Also, can i have some more details on what this guy means by the following:
"Check TVS diodes D3 and D4 (near the SATA power connector) for short circuits with a multimeter. If either is shorted, just desolder it or snip it out with flush cutters. The drive will work without it."

No bridge of wire then??

"make sure your power supply is good".

Well unfortunately, I've had some problems with power supplies with this computer.
In the past I've had my PSU replaced twice, after just burning out randomly and strangely. I hope my current PSU is "good"

Okay, Thanks,
More posts please!!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 18th, 2010, 10:45 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7565
Location: UK
Assuming the drive is completely dead (i.e. not spinning or buzzing) then yes is could very well be the PCB.

BUT.... the PCB's on this model have pretty much unique info programmed into the ROM which needs to be reprogrammed or recreated.

Also the ROM is masked into the MCU (unlike older models which had an external 8-pin ROM which could be fairly easily transferred)

This procedure requires specialist (expensive) equipment to perform.

We can help in UK with this, PM me if interested.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
http://www.pcimage.co.uk

New!! HDD-PCB.COM for all your PCB and donor HDD requirements!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 18th, 2010, 18:50 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
Luckily, I found the correct screw heads in my shed!!!!
YESSS!

HERE ARE MY FINDINGS WITH THE MULTIMETER!!!!!

R64 - 0.3 OHMS
R67 - 527 OHMS
D3 - 0 OHMS
D4 - 563 OHMS

There's also a setting on my multimeter to test diodes, so I gave it a go on all of them :)

R64 - 0 (BEEP)
R67 - 658 (NO BEEP)
D3 - (1 BEEP)
D4 - 712 (NO BEEP)

WHAT DOES THIS ALL MEAN?
I imagine there is a broken resistor and a broken diode in there.
I think the culprits are R64 and D4.

Instead of removing the components as I've been told to (and replacing them with wire)... Can I just solder a piece of wire from one terminal to the other, like an arch? an alternative route? instead of clipping the whole thing out???

Please tell me the answers!!!!!!!!!
What next!??????

Thank you!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 18th, 2010, 21:14 
Offline

Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 0:19
Posts: 272
Location: behind the platter
Talk to Sean from PCImage before you damage any further!!!! I believe Sean's price should be a good deal if in fact it is just the damaged PCB. If you push it a bit too far and damage additonal, you may be looking at a very expensive data recovery price!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 19th, 2010, 2:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12097
Location: Australia
hedgehog90 wrote:
HERE ARE MY FINDINGS WITH THE MULTIMETER!!!!!

R64 - 0.3 OHMS
R67 - 527 OHMS
D3 - 0 OHMS
D4 - 563 OHMS

Don't panic.

The culprits are D3 and R67.

This is a very common problem, and the repair is very easy.

See this thread:
http://community.wdc.com/t5/My-Book-for ... /m-p/12670


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 21st, 2010, 11:24 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
Balls...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 21st, 2010, 11:54 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2986
hedgehog90 wrote:
Balls...


No luck?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 21st, 2010, 16:13 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
I've followed the steps, and it didn't work.

I've emailed the wonderful fzabkar but I'm still waiting on a reply.

Anyway, I did the job, but quite messily as these pictures will show:

http://img402.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=p1010687w.jpg

I fear my lack of a steady hand may have destroyed part of the board.
Or maybe it's the wire.
Or, hopefully, there's just something else I need to change/replace.
Or maybe my PSU just isn't powerful enough. fzabkar said that I would need a reliable power source. Reliable or not though, 400W should've done the trick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 21st, 2010, 21:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 16th, 2007, 10:26
Posts: 1151
check capacitance also.

_________________
data recovery service[/b]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 7:53 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
fzabkar where are you? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 8:19 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2986
hedgehog90 wrote:
fzabkar where are you? :(


Looks like your problem may have extended beyond simple TVS damage, so Frank probably cannot help you as this is the extent of his DR knowledge. And you may have caused further damage to your board, maybe even damage has extended elsewhere.

Looks like fzakbars advice, and the reluctance to pay for a professional service, has added to your list of problems.

In your first post you say this:

Quote:
Please help. My data on that drive is my livelihood.


Now you need to decide what the value of the data is.

Also, depending on the condition of the disk, you may have inadvertently made this a more difficult, and expensive, case.

Assuming no further damage has been caused, and procedure failed because of inexperience and shaky hands, it may be possible that damage is limited to PCB, but at this point I would advise you to get a professional opinion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 8:42 
Offline

Joined: October 21st, 2007, 8:48
Posts: 1366
Quote:
I fear my lack of a steady hand may have destroyed part of the board


I don't know why data recovery companies (people) exist ?

Maybe for recovering data. :roll:

Another question: why DIY people insist to lose more money ?

I can't repair a car, WHY ?
SIMPLE
because I'm not a mechanic. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 9:13 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
I think something "wonderful" has happened when giving power - not to talk about PCB damage. What now ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 11:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2264
Location: Ontario, Canada
It is too bad that I didn't catch this thread earlier. If you would have simply placed your hard drive in a freezer for a couple of hours, then take it out to watch an episode of Seinfeld, it likely would have fixed the drive.

On a more serious note. It is situations like these that most of the "true" data recovery gurus on this forum don't provide such advice for this very reason. If it was just a problem with the TVS, you were likely to pay less than $500 for the recovery. Now, you are looking at a damaged PCB that requires greater knowledge and tools, bringing the price up between $500 and $1000...assuming that there is no internal head or surface damage.

I believe it is always wiser to get a free (or low cost) professional assessment done first. If the price is too high, then take the risks.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 11:03 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2006, 15:15
Posts: 2986
lcoughey wrote:
I believe it is always wiser to get a free (or low cost) professional assessment done first. If the price is too high, then take the risks.


Agree 100%. But unfortunately, this seems to be the final step in a DIY repair...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 16:02 
Offline

Joined: October 13th, 2008, 7:29
Posts: 1483
Removing TVS and powering the drive may have killed pre amp. Do you have £1000 -£2000 spare to recover the data? maybe Frank wiill go in halfs with you as he is such a helpful guy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 17:11 
Offline

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 18:13
Posts: 7
Location: ENGLAND
HDD Spaz wrote:
...maybe Frank wiill go in halfs with you as he is such a helpful guy.


HDD Spaz, would you kindly fuck off?
I took a calculated risk, and it appears not to have worked.

Shame on me...

Besides, Franc was actually HELPFUL, which I cannot say to the rest of you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD5000AAKS-00TMA0 PCB needs changing???
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2010, 17:45 
Offline

Joined: April 5th, 2010, 23:02
Posts: 89
Location: Winder, GA
hedgehog, I feel your pain man. I've owned an IT shop for 20 years and probably deal with more of the "DiYers" trying to fix their own PC problems only to screw it up even more. I think the attitude your getting from some of the members here stems directly from this frustration. Some people here have developed more colorful ways of saying "I told you so". In any case, if the drive meant *that* much to you it probably wasn't a good idea to do low level repair as you have tried. However, a local repair shop should have been able to unsolder those TVS diodes for about $15. I've done it here countless times. I still would at the very minimum get a professional diagnostic on it and see what they say. Most reputable places will happily perform a diagnostic on it in the hope that you'll see the process through to recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group