All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 22nd, 2012, 16:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 1027
Location: South Africa
Hi all,

Got a 2TB Elements in, lots of bads. DDI'd it and got a decent image.

Imaged onto a ST3000DM001 to begin with, HPA set to that of source. Hooked up imaged (3TB) to the USB/SATA bridge from the Elements housing, connected up power, LED comes on....nothing more. Drive doesn't spin up.

Next up tried a 2TB source drive, same LBA as original WD Elements drive. Connected the ST2000DL0003 up to Elements bridge board...LED comes on...won't spin up.

However, the original WD 2TB (WD20EACS) spins up fine, no problems. Stuck a 250GB Hitachi 2.5" into the bridge board, powers up no problem. For whatever reason neither the 2TB or 3TB Seagates will spin up when connected to the Elements bridge board.

They spin up OK on a different bridge board (with different ICs though, Symwave and different Initio IC) but refuse to spin up when connected to this particular Elements bridge board. Have tried different power supplies.

IC on bridge is Initio INIC-1607P

Any ideas?


Attachments:
DSC05899.JPG
DSC05899.JPG [ 2.26 MiB | Viewed 3825 times ]

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 22nd, 2012, 16:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 1027
Location: South Africa
Let me clarify, data has been recovered - job is complete. Did not have to pass via Initio IC as it's not encrypted. Question is why are the Seagates not spinning up when connected to this board.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 22nd, 2012, 17:43 
Offline

Joined: March 28th, 2011, 17:45
Posts: 438
Location: italy
Nick_CT wrote:
Let me clarify, data has been recovered - job is complete. Did not have to pass via Initio IC as it's not encrypted. Question is why are the Seagates not spinning up when connected to this board.


i suppose the 2 seagate need higher power to start spin-up and the board "seat"..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 22nd, 2012, 18:00 
Offline

Joined: March 6th, 2011, 23:32
Posts: 260
Location: TN
Its a conspiracy of WD so you cant use Seagate in their products !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 23rd, 2012, 22:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12751
Location: Australia
Measure the voltages on the 8-pin dual MOSFET chip. That will tell you whether power is getting to the drive. The gate pins will also tell you if the bridge IC is switching the power on.

Is pin #11 (SATA spinup enable) grounded?

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 24th, 2012, 1:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 16th, 2006, 8:51
Posts: 141
Location: Vietnam
Hi Nick_CT, the WD USB board can not work with Seagate 1TB and above, Samsung and Hitachi also (below 750GB's OK).

_________________
* Có ba thứ ngu dốt :

Không hiểu biết những gì mình đáng biết.
Hiểu biết không rành những gì mình biết.
Hiểu biết những gì mình không cần biết.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 24th, 2012, 4:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 3080
Location: Greece
hddlab wrote:
Hi Nick_CT, the WD USB board can not work with Seagate 1TB and above, Samsung and Hitachi also (below 750GB's OK).


That is actually a good piece of information. Thanks!

_________________
WD Trusted Partners
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery
Ransomware Reverse Engineering - NoMoreRansom! partners


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD 2TB Elements - weird issue of not powering up
PostPosted: May 24th, 2012, 8:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 5th, 2010, 12:29
Posts: 1027
Location: South Africa
hddlab wrote:
Hi Nick_CT, the WD USB board can not work with Seagate 1TB and above, Samsung and Hitachi also (below 750GB's OK).


Thanks to all so far for the info/advice. Interested to know why it would not power up 1TB and above, but it will power up a WD 2TB?

Will have to spend some time with the multimeter when I have a moment.

_________________
Death is nothing, but to live defeated and inglorious is to die daily.
Data Recovery Cape Town


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 78 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group