All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DDI v3 won't read/identify source drives (Probably dumb q.)
PostPosted: May 12th, 2018, 18:26 
Offline

Joined: March 20th, 2018, 7:55
Posts: 52
Location: Los Angeles
I know this shows just how ignorant I am - but for some reason I'm unable to ever get my DDI v3 to ever acknowledge a source drive.

- Tried the original (old old) DDI v.3 version, then upgraded it to the newest release
- Both versions appear to have the same problem.
- I've confirmed it's getting correct voltage.
- Green light is flashing on the DDI
- Destination drive connected to DDI is visible.
- F11 powers the source - but it still won't recognize it.

I've ordered a replacement PCI card...
I've tried two different brand new PATA to SATA adapters...

Computer boots, will run any OS I'd like; FreeDOS, DeepSpar's DOS, Windows.
Though I've ordered a duplicate replacement PCI PATA/SATA card, I'm skeptical it'd resolve anything. If the PATA cable or card weren't working, then the DeepSpar device shouldn't be able to load it's recovery environment.

As I've never set this unit up before (previously it was used by my cohorts) I believe it works. That said, I also bet I'm overlooking something stupid. Any help would be appreciated.

(Yes, I have a DDI 4, but I'd like to see what use this device has before I consider selling it.

Thank you,

Truman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDI v3 won't read/identify source drives (Probably dumb
PostPosted: May 13th, 2018, 4:28 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7187
Location: UK
Is it an IDE Drive you’re connecting?

With some IDE drives you have to disconnect the IDE cable, power up the drive and then connect the IDE cable once the drive has spun up.

Also DDI3’s are fussy about motherboards, which one are you using?

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
www.pcimage.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDI v3 won't read/identify source drives (Probably dumb
PostPosted: May 13th, 2018, 12:50 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 11th, 2013, 17:01
Posts: 1022
Location: USA
From what I recall, the DDI 3 also has an issue with recognizing some destination drives, Especially larger Seagate drives, but I did not have issues recognizing source drives. If you have a DDI4, then I wouldn't bother wasting too much time on it. It is outdated technology.

_________________
HDD, SSD, Flash and RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDI v3 won't read/identify source drives (Probably dumb
PostPosted: May 13th, 2018, 13:41 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 9th, 2009, 16:13
Posts: 2071
Location: Ontario, Canada
If IDE, make sure that the patient is marked as master with slave and IDE ribbon cable has pin 1 cut on line to system.

_________________
Luke
RAID Data Recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DDI v3 won't read/identify source drives (Probably dumb
PostPosted: May 15th, 2018, 1:53 
Offline

Joined: March 20th, 2018, 7:55
Posts: 52
Location: Los Angeles
AWESOME. Thank you very very much for taking the time to write and help. I will try those ideas...

Hola DDrecovery
The motherboard was actually already used with this system by one of my former techs. I just don't know what model it is exactly - but I'll get that info later and post it.


Luke
Thanks, yeah, I think I did a good job cutting pins 1 and 2 - according to the manual... but maybe it's JUST pin 1? Im pretty sure it's 1+2... however, what you're saying about starting the drive first? beyond F11 ? Or do you mean power it via the power cable - then ... hot-connect the device to the data cable?

Thank you both! :) :) Regardless of what happens...


I had (maybe mistakenly?) thought that it'd be wise to have a second, low cost imaging tool that I could use for older drives when more pernicious problems were occupying the DDI4.

Maybe if you guys rank the order of efficacy the following products..?

DDI4
DDI3
RapidSpar (took me a while to get the hang of it but it's pretty good and will get better).
Atola network v.3
Atola imager (current model, but the light version).
MRT Ultra

Should I just sell off the DDI 3? Or is


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group