All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHIBA
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 8:00 
Offline

Joined: December 21st, 2012, 7:20
Posts: 15
Location: Amsterdam
and now the toshiba is beeing recognised as the WD, so the two cant be connected together :shock:
It was done using live clonzilla (so no back up of the original boot loader).. anyway to fix this easly? thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 9:07 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Just repartition or zero fill the toshiba disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 12:13 
Offline

Joined: December 21st, 2012, 7:20
Posts: 15
Location: Amsterdam
rogfanther wrote:
Just repartition or zero fill the toshiba disk.

will do :) thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 18:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Of course you will end up without any data on the drive !

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 18:36 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
If it was already a clone of the other drive....

Ok, I answered how to solve it, considering the guy knows what he is doing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 18:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
He stated that he cloned the "boot loader" on the topic ... not the entire drive.

:? :? :?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 19:28 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
Maybe what we instinctively consider a bootloader is different.

After reading his post, I considered that he used clonezilla to clone one drive to the other. I never saw an option in clonezilla to clone just the MBR from one drive to the other, not that there couldn´t be one.

Basically, I think he cloned one drive to the other due to some error, do not know exactly how to explain what he wants to do now, and want to see both disks connected to the computer at the same time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 19:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
I don't see how and why he wouldn't be able to :

- Connect the 2 drives at the same time (original + full clone) as long as you have channels on the board to plug the drives and he does have otherwise he wouldn't be able to plug the drives to clone.

- See the Toshiba as a Toshiba ... If you CLONE you should still be able to ID the drive correctly. Drive will still respong to "EC" as a Toshiba even if you clone all LBAs from the WD ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 17th, 2018, 19:46 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2013, 13:21
Posts: 717
Location: Brazil
That is what I mean.

He isn´t explaining himself correctly.

After I forgot the part about bootloaders : I believe what he did was clone just one disk to the other, and now is calling the MBR bootloader, and mixing partition Labels as the drives themselves. Nothing as advanced as changing the way drives identificate in bios or whatever, because I would be positive that clonezilla cannot do that kind of manipulation.

As for maybe the reason for them not working together, I do not remember if it is windows 7 or other, but when you connect two drives with same Disk Identifier, the OS will error and not allow access to the disk. Do not remember exactly why, but I have already have to change said disk identifier to make the os happy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cloned the boot loader accidentally from a WD to a TOSHI
PostPosted: May 18th, 2018, 13:48 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9510
Location: Portugal
Most likely OP lost interest or solved the problem already ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group