All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 9:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2013, 5:44
Posts: 93
Location: egypt
need toshiba 2tb rom
hdd cam without pcb


Attachments:
tttttttt.PNG
tttttttt.PNG [ 631.31 KiB | Viewed 1185 times ]

_________________
https://www.facebook.com/datarecoveryegypt
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 9:52 
Offline

Joined: March 19th, 2015, 15:01
Posts: 1400
Location: isreal
islamm3rouf wrote:
need toshiba 2tb rom

nice idea
islamm3rouf wrote:
hdd cam without pcb

good luck

BTW IMHO you shouldn't take others drives and mess with it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 15th, 2018, 14:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1856
Location: Providence, RI
What jermy is trying to say is that without the original PCB there's absolutely no possibility to recover the data.

The fact that you don't know that shows that you're unqualified to be offering data recovery services.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 16th, 2018, 7:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 9th, 2013, 5:44
Posts: 93
Location: egypt
i test other same pcb with soft
it spin without clicking and sound seems good
but identify with the donor sn
so i was thinking if we found donor soft it will rise again

_________________
https://www.facebook.com/datarecoveryegypt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 26th, 2018, 18:07 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 12th, 2010, 4:38
Posts: 1075
Location: Portugal
islamm3rouf wrote:
i test other same pcb with soft
it spin without clicking and sound seems good
but identify with the donor sn
so i was thinking if we found donor soft it will rise again


Already answered you. Without original ROM no recovery is possible.

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica
ACELab partner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 26th, 2018, 21:05 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10767
Location: Australia
pclab wrote:
Without original ROM no recovery is possible.

Does anyone know why? Which CPs are mandatory and what do they do?

FWIW, I have analysed the structure of various Toshiba CPs here:

Analysis of Toshiba CPs:
http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=2044

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 13:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2011, 0:19
Posts: 1856
Location: Providence, RI
fzabkar wrote:
Does anyone know why? Which CPs are mandatory and what do they do?


Because all the CPs except basically the G-List and S.M.A.R.T. are stored in the ROM chip. There's very little on the platters for a service area at all.

While it might be theoretically possible to rebuild the translator, p-list, etc. from scratch it's not practical in the real world. Maybe if deepest Russian secrets were stored on a drive it'd be worth the crazy amount of manual effort, but not for a typical case.

_________________
Data Medics - Hard Drive and RAID Data Recovery Service Company


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: need toshiba 2tb room
PostPosted: August 27th, 2018, 15:14 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 10767
Location: Australia
data-medics wrote:
fzabkar wrote:
Does anyone know why? Which CPs are mandatory and what do they do?


Because all the CPs except basically the G-List and S.M.A.R.T. are stored in the ROM chip. There's very little on the platters for a service area at all.

While it might be theoretically possible to rebuild the translator, p-list, etc. from scratch it's not practical in the real world. Maybe if deepest Russian secrets were stored on a drive it'd be worth the crazy amount of manual effort, but not for a typical case.

I understand where the CPs are stored, I just don't understand what they do. In fact some Toshiba models do have copies of some ROM based CPs in the SA, although you would need to reach the SA to make use of them. Catch 22.

If I were investigating this issue, I would "disturb" a particular CP and observe the sensitivity to these disturbances. That is, I would vary a particular CP parameter in both directions and determine the range over which the drive remains stable.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group