All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2018, 13:44 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
The HDD doesnt get recognized in OS.

When I apply power to the HDD without SATA Connection, the drive spins up and makes few clicking noises with pause, then again few clicking noises. Then drive spins down.

When I connect to PC it spins up, makes clicking noise, pause, clicking noise, pause, and so on... Doesnt spin down....

I already checked TVS Diodes and 0Ohm resistors. I can see no damages on PCB.
I also cleaned Oxidized connectors.

Next I want to try to swap PCBs, so I ordered donor PCB from Ebay:

https://www.ebay.de/itm/Hard-Disk-HDD-P ... 2749.l2649

It has exact same Partnumber, but comes from an WD2500AAJS drive.

Is it enough when I swap U12 ROM?

Is there anything else I can do?

The HDD already had a few bad sectors before it completely went dead... I checked with SMART Tool....

The Data isnt THAT important to me... I try it just for "fun". :)

Thanks!!!


Attachments:
IMG_20181122_165115.jpg
IMG_20181122_165115.jpg [ 351.61 KiB | Viewed 1251 times ]
IMG_20181122_165059.jpg
IMG_20181122_165059.jpg [ 556.92 KiB | Viewed 1251 times ]
IMG_20181122_165031.jpg
IMG_20181122_165031.jpg [ 720.19 KiB | Viewed 1251 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2018, 16:14 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
chick0n wrote:

When I apply power to the HDD without SATA Connection, the drive spins up and makes few clicking noises with pause, then again few clicking noises. Then drive spins down.



Then most likely the PCB is ok and the problem is with bad head(s) and/or pre-amp.

The drive does need clean room service and it's not DO-IT-YOURSELF ...

Sorry.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2018, 16:17 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11024
Location: Australia
chick0n wrote:
Is it enough when I swap U12 ROM?

Yes, but don't get your hopes up. :-(

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: November 22nd, 2018, 16:42 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7239
Location: UK
Spildit wrote:
chick0n wrote:

When I apply power to the HDD without SATA Connection, the drive spins up and makes few clicking noises with pause, then again few clicking noises. Then drive spins down.



Then most likely the PCB is ok and the problem is with bad head(s) and/or pre-amp.

The drive does need clean room service and it's not DO-IT-YOURSELF ...

Sorry.


Absolutely right, it’s less than 0.1% chance it’s PCB on this model.

Most of the time the heads are bad and/or damaged on these, and the more you power it up the more damage you are doing, letting the damaged heads scrape the platters.

We have seen loads of these with heads mangled and/or broken off, often after a power outage.

Normally damaged heads are caused by physical force, but we’ve seen so many of these from desktop PC’s with the clients swearing blind it’s not been knocked that we are of the opinion there’s some issue with the heads dismounting mechanism.

If your data is important then PLEASE STOP killing this drive and seek pro assistance.

_________________
PC Image Data Recovery
http://www.pcimage.co.uk

New!! HDD-PCB.COM for all your PCB and donor HDD requirements!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: November 23rd, 2018, 11:31 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Then I will try Head Stack Swap for Fun. :P

I have access to an laminar flow box at work.

I think I already found a good donor on ebay.


Attachments:
Donor_Drive.jpg
Donor_Drive.jpg [ 191.81 KiB | Viewed 1174 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 6th, 2018, 13:39 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
OK...I got my Donor drive yesterday. So I swapped Heads, PCB and EEPROM today at work.

Then I powered up the drive: "Nothing." No spin up...nothing.

Then I swapped PCBs again. (With the EEPROM from donor drive) Drive Spun up, and after a minute or so I really saw the Partitions come up in Windows.
So I fired up HDclone to make a drive Image. Didnt work...0% after 20min. (I heard the Heads working, but saw no progress in HDclone.)

Then I swapped the original EEPROM back to original PCB. "Nothing."
Looks like I killed my original EEPROM. :P

Do I have any chance now?

If I hadnt swapped the F...ng EEPROMS , it could have worked... :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 6th, 2018, 17:20 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Why the hell did you swap the PCB and the ROM chip ?

If you replaced the head stack correctly and assuming the drive did had only head issues and no firmware problems (caused by bad heads adding sectors to pending list, etc) a direct head swap + using the native PCB should have worked (assuming no need to play with microjogs) ....

Now you killed ROM ...

You could have read ROM first using WDMarvel, WDR, etc .... No need to swap ROM chip ...

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=1127

Funny thing is that you did mess up the easy part after managing to swap the head stack (dificult part).

Now you need to patch your ROM ....

There are no copies of ROM modules on platter as your drive does have external ROM chip ...

You need to regenerate ROM modules to match original ROM ...

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=2526

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 6th, 2018, 17:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 11024
Location: Australia
deleted

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 6th, 2018, 19:44 
Offline

Joined: October 22nd, 2018, 11:46
Posts: 32
Location: Virginia
I'd be interested to see how this goes if you end up messing with it any more. Guys here helped me diagnose a very similar situation a little while ago, all the way down to using a 250 donor PCB to jump-swap the 320. :D

Good luck on it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 7th, 2018, 6:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 25th, 2018, 16:03
Posts: 17
thanks for sharing,,
i have same situation on severals PCB to hot swap,,
so now i know, how no to swap CHIP,, only write how this tutorial ... TKs :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 7th, 2018, 13:19 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Spildit wrote:
Why the hell did you swap the PCB and the ROM chip ?

If you replaced the head stack correctly and assuming the drive did had only head issues and no firmware problems (caused by bad heads adding sectors to pending list, etc) a direct head swap + using the native PCB should have worked (assuming no need to play with microjogs) ....

Now you killed ROM ...

You could have read ROM first using WDMarvel, WDR, etc .... No need to swap ROM chip ...

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=1127

Funny thing is that you did mess up the easy part after managing to swap the head stack (dificult part).

Now you need to patch your ROM ....

There are no copies of ROM modules on platter as your drive does have external ROM chip ...

You need to regenerate ROM modules to match original ROM ...

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=2526



Sooo....do I need to regenerate the whole content of the ROM? Or just Module 47h?

Sorry...I dont have any clue about HDD Firmware...

Why do they put some Modules in Flash ROM on PCB, and some in SA?

How can I access SA of my drive?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 7th, 2018, 15:41 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Jidis wrote:
I'd be interested to see how this goes if you end up messing with it any more. Guys here helped me diagnose a very similar situation a little while ago, all the way down to using a 250 donor PCB to jump-swap the 320. :D

Good luck on it!


Do you stil have the original PCB and the compatible PCB ?

Maybe you shoul do one last test.

Try to copy the original ROM dump to the donor PCB and see if it stil clicks ...

I did had a very recent case with a WD drive with PCB problem (original PCB wouldn't even power up the drive) and when i did replace original PCB with compatible one the drive would just click. When i did move the ROM code over the drive start working normaly. Might be worth one last check ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 7th, 2018, 19:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 25th, 2018, 16:03
Posts: 17
:D hello Spildit


when replacing the ROM needs the patient and donor is connected turned on?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 8th, 2018, 13:46 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Can I Rebuild ROM with WDmarvel?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 8th, 2018, 14:31 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 848
Location: uk
It is also possible the original problem was with the pcb only.

By fzabkar
Quote:
The 88i6745-TFJ1 is afflicted by a fault that mimics bad heads

I remember other members have also mentioned the problem in various threads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 8th, 2018, 17:29 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
Nvidea wrote:
:D hello Spildit


when replacing the ROM needs the patient and donor is connected turned on?


:shock:

What ?

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 8th, 2018, 17:31 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
chick0n wrote:
Can I Rebuild ROM with WDmarvel?


Yes. But using manual procedure only.

You do need to copy ROM modules from donor ROM resource and rebuild adaptives using the info on the provided links. On your drive model it should be possible and relatively easy.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 8th, 2018, 17:48 
Offline

Joined: November 22nd, 2018, 12:22
Posts: 7
Location: Germany
Spildit wrote:
chick0n wrote:
Can I Rebuild ROM with WDmarvel?


Yes. But using manual procedure only.

You do need to copy ROM modules from donor ROM resource and rebuild adaptives using the info on the provided links. On your drive model it should be possible and relatively easy.


So I understand module 47 regeneration should be enough...

I will try to "comprehend" the info in the link. :oops:

You guys are ingenious... :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 9th, 2018, 11:59 
Online
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9985
Location: Portugal
dick wrote:
It is also possible the original problem was with the pcb only.

By fzabkar
Quote:
The 88i6745-TFJ1 is afflicted by a fault that mimics bad heads

I remember other members have also mentioned the problem in various threads.


I have to agree with that .... It's a Pinclite drive so the first thing to try would be PCB swap with ROM copy but normaly those drives wouldn't simply click and spin down ... They normaly allow some LBA reading and also some SA access even when PCB is "bad" ....

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1067

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD3200AAJS-00L7A0 Recovery
PostPosted: December 9th, 2018, 16:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 25th, 2018, 16:03
Posts: 17
Nvidea wrote:
:D hello Spildit
when replacing the ROM needs the patient and donor is connected turned on?


dear
I cann't understand very well about hot swap and smart hot swap,,pleaase can clarify this?

hot swap:
1 - read ROM Donor
2 - spin down sleep
3 - swap PCB to patient
4 - spin up
5 - read modules or write modules
5 - power off-On

smart hot swap:
1 - read modules patient
2 - swap PCB to donor
3 ???

my question if I just read the patient's ROm and write to the donor, I'm doing a hot swap?
or only i need read ROM patient, turn OFF, swap PCB, turn ON and write ROM to Donor?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group