All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: December 1st, 2006, 8:35 
Offline

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 10:23
Posts: 83
Anyone know Western Digital - What is DCM stands for?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 10th, 2007, 7:39 
Offline

Joined: October 1st, 2006, 6:29
Posts: 107
Noone seems to know what DCM is? from the manual DCM contains model name and serial number BUT...actually there are more info which is still puzzling me....anyone got anymore info please share...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 10th, 2007, 10:01 
Offline

Joined: September 29th, 2005, 4:10
Posts: 328
Location: Moscow
Real_Jose_Pinto

Example for old models:

DCM: HSEHYV2AH

1- Motor (H)
2- Base (S)
3- Latch (E)
4- Bottom VCM (H)
5- Media (Y)
6- Headstack (V)
7- Actuator-Preamp (2)
8- Top VCM (A)
9- Separator (H)

New models analiz modul - C5 :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 10th, 2007, 12:22 
Offline

Joined: June 27th, 2006, 11:33
Posts: 2332
Location: In ur HDD !
good info .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 10th, 2007, 12:26 
Offline

Joined: November 29th, 2006, 10:08
Posts: 7673
Location: UK
Yes, very useful.

Thanks tomset!!

Keep it up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 10th, 2007, 20:45 
Offline

Joined: October 1st, 2006, 6:29
Posts: 107
great thank's


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: July 24th, 2008, 20:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 19th, 2007, 17:30
Posts: 1915
Location: In your hard drive.
Any examples for new models?

_________________
Buy your friends Toshiba\Hitachi and your enemies Seagate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: July 25th, 2008, 9:13 
Offline

Joined: October 21st, 2005, 0:45
Posts: 1519
Location: Mexico
thats cool, but why, even if u got same DCM the hdd doesnt reach readiness, its alignment problem right?, but at some cases, even with different DCM , for example we got an case for recover data WD1200BB , and got an donnor WD1200BB the DCM was the most closest but when opened the head map was different, so searching find an WD1600BB different DCM, and after did the Head swap, the hdd reach readiness and was able to get like 70% of sectors then heads died again :(

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: July 25th, 2008, 10:28 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: May 5th, 2004, 20:06
Posts: 2818
Location: England
DCM = Drive Configuration Matrix :idea:

_________________
All went well until I plugged the drive in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: July 25th, 2008, 10:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 12th, 2005, 3:32
Posts: 704
Location: Belgrade
DCM- DRIVE CONFUSING MODULE

_________________
HddSurgery - Professional Data Recovery Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: July 25th, 2008, 15:20 
Offline

Joined: June 27th, 2006, 11:33
Posts: 2332
Location: In ur HDD !
DCM : Drive Clicking Material


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: January 20th, 2009, 9:42 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 12:06
Posts: 214
I have two newer drives with the same model, and almost same DCM. All letters are the same except for 7th. In my case, the heads are physically different. One has heads map 0,2,3 and the other 1,2,3 . Head 1 and head 0 are physically not present respectively.

_________________
http://pcrecoveryllc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2010, 7:34 
Offline

Joined: April 18th, 2008, 11:15
Posts: 30
Googeling for DCM I can across: 'Dark Cold Matter'

On two pieces of WD2500JB Caviar SE from 2006, I have two DCA codes:
DSCANTJCA and
DSBANT2CA

Would the PCBs be compatible if I swap the ROM chip?

Are there people around who read and write the ROM in situ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: January 7th, 2010, 8:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 27th, 2005, 4:26
Posts: 507
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
chipmunk wrote:
Googeling for DCM I can across: 'Dark Cold Matter'

On two pieces of WD2500JB Caviar SE from 2006, I have two DCA codes:
DSCANTJCA and
DSBANT2CA

Would the PCBs be compatible if I swap the ROM chip?

Are there people around who read and write the ROM in situ?

Better take a look at PCB label 2061-70xxxx-x00 to get know if PCB are compatible or not.

_________________
DataRecovery.bg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: February 15th, 2010, 21:39 
Offline

Joined: February 15th, 2010, 21:09
Posts: 1
Location: Gilbert, AZ USA
I know that this is a very old post... but I have a question about my somewhat current hard drive...

My DCM IS: HHNCHTJAAN
DCM I found for an otherwise model/PCB match online is HBRCNV2CBN

Does anyone know if the PCB would match enough with the different DCM's, so I could just swap the boards and/or failed PCB components to hopefully recover the data on the drive?

Thanks!

-nate

Tomset wrote:
Real_Jose_Pinto

Example for old models:

DCM: HSEHYV2AH

1- Motor (H)
2- Base (S)
3- Latch (E)
4- Bottom VCM (H)
5- Media (Y)
6- Headstack (V)
7- Actuator-Preamp (2)
8- Top VCM (A)
9- Separator (H)

New models analiz modul - C5 :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: February 15th, 2010, 22:58 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 3190
Location: Hungary
PCB swap will never work with newer WDs, as the PCB contains adaptive data. So it needs a trick to drive your drive.

pepe

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery
No bitcoin donations :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 11:32 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 900
Location: uk
Hi All,

Can I just throw in an antidotal observation. I wouldn't disagree with you but here I have had an unexpected result......

I have here 2 WD drives. One working perfectly and the other with internal problems.

a) WD2500BEVS-22UST0 Aug 2008 DCM: HAYT2ABB not working

b) WD1200BEVS-75UST0 DCM: Nov 2007 FHCTJANB working perfectly

So a couple of days ago I swapped the pcb's and the result was the broken drive remained broken but strangely the previously working drive worked flawlessly. I was able to view the full folder structure and open photos and documents without any errors. It appears there was no data shifting whatsoever!

So is it possible the adaptive information stored in the roms were close enough for this to happen?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 12:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 12th, 2005, 3:32
Posts: 704
Location: Belgrade
uh, You are missing so much, I do not know where to start explaining.

_________________
HddSurgery - Professional Data Recovery Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 15:01 
Offline

Joined: January 8th, 2008, 5:21
Posts: 900
Location: uk
Yes sorry helpdisc and other readers as I have posted the wrong drive details. Unfortunately I am unable to edit the post so I will ask all readers to ignore my previous post.

What I originally wanted to post is the following:
Can I just throw in an antidotal observation. I wouldn't disagree with you but here I have had an unexpected result......

I have here 2 WD drives. One working perfectly and the other with internal problems.

a) WD2500BEVS-22UST0 Aug 2008 DCM: HAYT2ABB not working

b) WD250BEVS-75UST0 Jun 2008 FBCT2HBB working perfectly

So a couple of days ago I swapped the pcb's and the result was the broken drive remained broken but strangely the previously working drive worked flawlessly. I was able to view the full folder structure and open photos and documents without any errors. It appears there was no data shifting whatsoever!

So is it possible the adaptive information stored in the roms were close enough for this to happen?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Western Digital - What is DCM?
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 15:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 12th, 2005, 3:32
Posts: 704
Location: Belgrade
Yes it happens that pcb can be changeble that means that micro jogs are close enough but not always.
Other thing is that You mentioned data shift. It can not happen because of pcb drives are not constructed like that...

_________________
HddSurgery - Professional Data Recovery Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: digisupport and 54 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group