All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please do not post questions about data recovery cases here (use this forum instead). This forum is for topics on finding new ways to recover data. Accessing firmware, writing programs, reading bits off the platter, recovering data from dust...



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 16th, 2008, 21:56 
Offline

Joined: August 16th, 2008, 21:50
Posts: 4
How do i flash firmware for a WD3200JS? The Drive seems to only spin up in a dish network dvr 622. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 16th, 2008, 22:29 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2006, 16:08
Posts: 938
Location: NJ
If you have to ask, you won't be able to do it. It requires expensive tools. I don't have any experience with Dish Network DVR's, but I suspect your problem is something else.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 17th, 2008, 20:57 
Offline

Joined: August 16th, 2008, 21:50
Posts: 4
rchadwick wrote:
If you have to ask, you won't be able to do it. It requires expensive tools. I don't have any experience with Dish Network DVR's, but I suspect your problem is something else.


Dude, wtf makes you think i wont be able to do it? basically i was looking for either firmware utility or the hardware to flash the drive. the fact that you state you dont have ANY Experience with Dish network DVR's means you shouldn't even be responding to the thread. i know what the problem is... The Firmware on the Drive Prevents the Drive from Spinning up in a pc. The Dish Network DVR's send a command to the Drive to Start the Spinup on the drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 17th, 2008, 20:59 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2006, 16:08
Posts: 938
Location: NJ
Sounds like you've got it covered. Best of luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 17th, 2008, 23:33 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2008, 12:32
Posts: 69
Yamboo29, dont let that responce discourage you about this forum. Some of us try to be more helpfull than others. I am glad you asked your question because now I know, DVR makers are programming drives so people cant simply do their own maintenance and upgrades. That is very unfortunate, but I am sure something hackers will be trying to fix. I am also new here, and from what I gather, people are paying $12,000 for drive programmers and software. There is alot of hacking that used to go on with Direct TV with tons of tools and software that resulted from it. But a lot of lawsuits resulted, so I dont know what is left of that hacking community. I know the authorities shut down hacker stores, siezed mailing lists, and sued everybody on the lists. A very widespread attack.

So maybe somebody on a Direct TV forum is working on cheaper drive programming tools. That is where I would look next.

And can I say welcome to the forum. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 18th, 2008, 8:36 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
Yamboo, first stop this aggressive behaviour because this is not WD's neither the DVR manufacturer's help desk. Your drive is locked to work on this DVR and is not a matter of command sent (yes, it's actually sent but things are different). The same for XBOXes and other gizmos. And they are not cell phose that have a flash rom that can be reprogrammed externally via USB cable or JTAG and software. The firmware is stored partly on MCU partly (most of it) on the platters, so you need a specialised HW+SW tool to actually put the hands on the firmware. And you have to know the structure of the firmware too, so it's not a one-click solution.
You also know why the DVR manufacturer has made things like that.
There's no cheap solution for unlocking THE DRIVE itself, unless you know exactly at what level the drive has been locked.
However, for your information, such locked drives can be unlocked for use on a PC or everywhere else but you'll lose EVERY information stored in it. With proper tool (cost: about $12K !) you can do almost everything you want.
Modern HDDs have internal security that cannot be tampered with, and the purpose is to keep information secured, or - just in case - it will be automatically erased and the security level reset.
Especially on WD drives (that have a well implemented security subsystem) there is no solution apart specialised tools. Sorry.

P.S. it is also possible that the DVR manufacturer has ordered the drives with special FW from WD. In that case, things are a little more complicated.
And anyway, I have seen DVR and video surveillance recorder that LOCKED a new drive (in case of replacement) for use with that equipment only and for security reasons. Yes, the new drive became exactly locked as the previous, irreversible operation (apart using the famous $12K tool and knowledge) .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 18th, 2008, 19:13 
Offline

Joined: July 26th, 2008, 12:32
Posts: 69
Yamboo29, you are brand new here and you asked a question. That is perfectly proper, as that is why this forum is here. If you are insulted as a result of the questions you ask, it is perfectly understandable that you express your outrage at the insult. After all, it is not reasonable to expect to be insulted when you first post on a forum. Also, report the insulter to the admin. He is the ONLY authority here. It is not reasonable behavior and needs to be addressed apropriately.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 18th, 2008, 19:40 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9695
Location: Portugal
@Yamboo29

I think that you have a problem with with "Power-up in Standby" ...

Use this tool ( "turn_off_poweron_in_standby-1.01.iso) to force the drive to spin (you will have to boot from the iso).
URL for the tool is :
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=136732

Your drive have a firmware bug and WD haven't provided a fix for it, once you turn on "Power-up in Standby" you will not be able to turn that off, because the drive will report that it doesn't support it.
You will be able to boot the drive on the PC but you will not be able to fix the firmware, because WD doesn't provide any fix for it.
You could use PC-3000 to fix the drive but it very expensive.

Drive before EFh 06h:
Word 83 (A6h): 61h 7Fh
Word 86 (ACh): 41h 3Ch

Drive after EFh 06h:
Word 83 (A6h): 01h 7Fh
Word 86 (ACh): 21h 3Ch

The above EFh 06h is the ATA command for "SET FEATURES - Enable Power-up in Standby". The hex words 83 & 86 you see there are the response to the ATA command IDENTIFY DEVICE. What it says is that before the SET FEATURES command, the drive supports "Power-up in Standby" and that it is disabled. After the feature is enabled, the drive says it does not support it, yet the drive says it is enabled.

Reporting the wrong information is one thing. But once that feature is enabled, the drive refuses to disable it with the SET FEATURES Disable Power-up in Standby (EFh 86h). An ATA RESET command does not work either.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 18th, 2008, 20:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9695
Location: Portugal
Also you can try HDAT2 and turn off the "Power-up in Standby" ..
With luck you have a drive without firmware bug and you will be able to use the drive normally.
If your BIOS support it, you might turn on "Power-up in Standby" on the BIOS, and your BIOS will issue the command to make your drive spin when you power on your PC.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 18th, 2008, 20:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 9695
Location: Portugal
Also, with MHDD, HDAT2 or anything like that check if the drive is not password locked.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 19th, 2008, 5:56 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
Spildit, the problem is most probably not what you figured out. And then, if the drive reports that is ATA password locked, without knowing the correct PW either master or user or both, lock is persistent. In fact, the drive works fine with the DVR. There are many DVR and VSR that - as choice - lock the drives or accept only some drives as replacement. In DVR probably to avoid the possibility of externally reading the copyrighted contents recorded (seems crazy but it's what everyone thought when the problem came out) , for VSRs probably for more stringent security reasons.
The initial "SPIN UP" probably was intended as "WORKS". I had a lot of "defective" (worn) drives from DVRs and many of them had the drive locked. Security set to HIGH. I wanted to selfscan them for re-certifying, there was no "easy" way except working with the SA. Unless you know the original locking PW, actually without access to SA is impossible to reverse the lock (yet). Some drives accept internal erasing, some others not at all and refuse almost every ATA command.
You should know how this stuff work...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: August 19th, 2008, 10:23 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2006, 16:08
Posts: 938
Location: NJ
I did a quick Google for that model DVR before posting, but didn't find anything related to any problems reading the drive outside the unit. Perhaps that DVR had a firmware update that caused this problem, but based on the vulgar PM's I got from the OP, I suspect he was just another troll.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 3rd, 2008, 1:41 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2008, 1:37
Posts: 4
I have been messing with a HDD out of a VIP622 and this is what I have found so far. The drive will not spin up if it is hooked up to anything except the DVR, you have found this so far. However, I have deduced it has nothing to do with sending a command to the drive, it has to do with the power. If you hook the power only to the DVR, and hook the data cable to the PC, the drive will spin up and you can do as you wish with it. I am going to measure the voltage coming from the DVR as I suspect it is a higher voltage then what the PC uses and that causes the spin up. Just a guess so far though. But, it is power connector only that makes the difference. The HDD I am working with is a Seagate, 320G SATA.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 3rd, 2008, 2:17 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
And can you read/format it? Your dvr may be different. No command is sent through power connector. Many dvr use the security features and there's no solution except HW unlock or security reset working with drive modules.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 8th, 2008, 13:13 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2008, 1:37
Posts: 4
BlackST wrote:
And can you read/format it? Your dvr may be different. No command is sent through power connector. Many dvr use the security features and there's no solution except HW unlock or security reset working with drive modules.


Yes, I can format it, read it, write to it, everything. BUT, it only works with the power plugged into the DVR board, not if I use the computer power. I would really like to use this hdd in an external drive, but I need to figure out this power deal first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 11th, 2008, 14:19 
Offline

Joined: July 18th, 2006, 3:05
Posts: 7526
Location: ITALY
Either your PC has a defective cabling, or the drive has non standard power connection, tried on another PC by a chance?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 11th, 2008, 16:02 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2008, 1:37
Posts: 4
BlackST wrote:
Either your PC has a defective cabling, or the drive has non standard power connection, tried on another PC by a chance?
I have tried it in 2 external drives and in 2 different pc's, only way to spin it up is to connect the power to the dvr board.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 11th, 2008, 18:09 
Offline

Joined: December 23rd, 2006, 16:08
Posts: 938
Location: NJ
Have you measured the voltages on the power connector? Are there more than 4 wires? Is there anything unusual about the connector, either on the drive, or in the DVR?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 14th, 2008, 17:04 
Offline

Joined: July 9th, 2008, 15:42
Posts: 85
BlackST wrote:
And can you read/format it? Your dvr may be different. No command is sent through power connector. Many dvr use the security features and there's no solution except HW unlock or security reset working with drive modules.


I have to agree with Black on this whole thread so far. If you plug just the power in does it spin? I have heard that they set passwords (not master but user). It takes specialized, very expensive equipment or a great deal of knowledge to unlock the drives when passwords are set. It is very likely that the DVR company purchased special "models" from WD. I know that there is a "customer configuration" code on WD's that say who the drive was built for. So it is possible that the manufacturer built the firmware (very generalized usage of the word firmware) code to only spinup the drive after the drive has been unlocked. Which would definitely be abnormal in that sense of its operation. But then again the password is almost always kept on the platters (save for toshiba laptop drives) so you'd have to spinup the drive to gain access to the password to unlock it. Have you tried a board swap with a similar drive? If you swap the PCB and the drive spins on power up then I would suggest a hot swap and a clone. But even a hot swap takes knowledge of ATA commands or Linux or special purchased software.

Either way, I don't feel his response was out of line at all. You asked a question and got a direct answer, which is still the answer you're getting from most of the "locals" on this site, just in a less direct way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to flash firmware for WD3200JS Hard Drive?
PostPosted: October 31st, 2008, 17:12 
Offline

Joined: October 31st, 2008, 17:01
Posts: 1
I have a drive from dvr and this is what I have found.
I can boot the gparted iso disc and the drive spins up and I can delete the partitions.
I dont believe there is any mystical firmware. I believe the power-up option needs to be changed and in the
previous posts. I am going to attempt that next.

Fordwrench


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group