All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 11:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hello,
Does anyone know which is the actual ROM chip on these ,The board has the following roms

1 : IC10 @ Winbond 25Q80BL
2 : IC9 @ Winbond 25Q80DL1G or IG in End
3 : IC11 Same as IC9
4 : IC12 Same As IC9

PS : IC12 is what they say is the ROM ,Is this True To Toshiba S300 HDD Also .

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 13:44 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 13665
Location: Australia
https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=37261

I believe IC10 is the ROM. I suspect that IC9, IC11 and IC12 contain cached data for power loss data protection.

If you can dump the contents of each chip, one of us may be able to better answer your question.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 15:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: June 16th, 2018, 12:09
Posts: 464
Location: Turkey
Google search says IC12 Rom

_________________
A Recovery Service In Turkey . Veri Kurtarma Türkiye https://www.digitalverikurtarma.com
Donor Drives hdddonormarket.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 16:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Well,
i am also quite sure its IC10 as it ends with BL and Rest All With DL , It would be interesting to desolder all of them and examine the dumps ,Plus it will help us all in the future ,I will do it tommorow for sure for everyone including my research .

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 16:11 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
HddDonorMarket wrote:
Google search says IC12 Rom


True ,
But Lets See it tommorow ,Might be someone can do this faster then me and attach roms here .

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 10th, 2021, 16:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 13665
Location: Australia
deleted

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 11th, 2021, 13:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
fzabkar wrote:
deleted


Hi,
+12V Line Was Short To GND and i repaired the board itself ,But now the heads are in clicking state too ,Hence gave a quotation and if its approved will swap heads and after recovery take backup of all roms and post it here

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 25th, 2021, 4:03 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Fzabkar ,
i was able to repair the original PCB ,But this Drive Has Bad Heads too ,i will replace those and once job is done make a eprom dump of all roms for you here

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 25th, 2021, 5:00 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 3786
Location: Hungary
Keep in mind that by posting the contents here you may disclose user data if they are used as NVC.
pepe

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery
No bitcoin donations :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 26th, 2021, 13:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
pepe wrote:
Keep in mind that by posting the contents here you may disclose user data if they are used as NVC.
pepe


Hi ,
Thanks I will keep that in mind

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 26th, 2021, 13:22 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 13665
Location: Australia
You could ZIP the ROMs and use a password for access.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 28th, 2021, 9:05 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: August 15th, 2006, 3:01
Posts: 3130
Location: CDRLabs @ Chandigarh [ India ]
Hello Fzabkar ,

I use My Python EPROM Programmer ChipProg-40 to Read the ROMS ,This is what i found out ,I have not parsed with Main ROM But the observations are here .

1 : ROM-04276-II is IC10 "Main ROM"
2 : ROM-04276 IC9 " Contained All FF "
3 : ROM-04276 IC11 "Contained All FF With Toshiba Signatures "
4 : The Last ROM IC12 Was Just Like IC9 all FF's i did not take a copy then

You Would be surprised that After removing TVS the board was behaving like a other similar board but heads were clicking but a Board Swap did solve the issue ,Head of this HDD was swapped but its original head also worked in donor ,This is how i came to know about the entire story ,I would say IC10 is fine to be swapped but a person should check other three ROMS also and if they have data they should also be swapped ,I read some similar threads were someone says only rom swapped ic10 did the trick while the other guy said he swapped all 4 IC's ,I think its better to check all the other three IC also .I still have DONOR board IC out that i will also read and share here for your reference .


Attachments:
Toshiba S300 ROMS.zip [434.34 KiB]
Downloaded 4 times

_________________
Regards
Amarbir S Dhillon , Chandigarh Data Recovery Labs
Logical,Semi Physical And Physical Data Recovery
Website-> http://www.chandigarhdatarecovery.com
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Toshiba S300 HDWT140UZSVA PCB G3626A [ Rom ? ]
PostPosted: November 28th, 2021, 14:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 13665
Location: Australia
I have extracted the CPs.


Attachments:
CPs_00.7z [20.42 KiB]
Downloaded 4 times

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crtkecnkl659, Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 111 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group