All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 9th, 2015, 8:43 
Offline

Joined: April 9th, 2015, 8:41
Posts: 2
Location: My Moms house
Exclamation DRQ Eror 0x0816


Hi Guys, so first at all my name is David my lenguage is Spanish, so sorry for my grammar errors and stuff like that.

I got this problem

Quote:
Can't write firmware to drive!
DRQ Error: 0x0816


I recently bought a Wester Digital 320 GB for my 360 is WD320BEVT 24A23T0 and the first thing that i do was flash the disk. Everything was okay, but i notice that the disk was so slow, TitanFall takes a lot of time to start the textures on, so i decided to delete all the disk so i doit with GParted.

When i start the hddhackr i restore the firmware and it says `okay` alright i reboot and the disk still saying ST so i decided to flash again and everything was okay, so i reboot again, so i decided to use another BIN, and then the errors comes out, and i can't flash anything.

I moved to GpartD again and Gpartd don't detect the HDD, and de HDDHACKR don't shows anything about the HDD now, i can't do anything,

Quote:
EDIT: The disk in HDDHACKR comes out but don't have name, and when i use GParted the disk turn on and 2 sounds comes out, but when i select Gparted in the menu of the boot the disk turn off the fan is off so.. I use Sata Connection


:cry: :cry:

Thanks for see, regards.
David.‚Äč


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 9th, 2015, 14:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
HDDHACKR = You are going to kill your drive if you don't know what you are doing :)

Do you have undo files ?

Read the following articles on my forum :

HDDHackr - lost UNDO.BIN - how to restore capacity

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=141

How to modify a WD drive for use in an Xbox 360 :

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=88

If this doesn't help you out you might consider your firmware "messed up" and you wuill need to ship the drive to someone like me for proper fix with proper tools.

Cheaper alternative - Buy new drive out of ebay or buy something like WDMarvell or WDR or SeDiv for WD and try to fix the drive yourself by uploading correct modules that were messed up by HDDHACKER tool to the drive.

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 9th, 2015, 19:24 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 19th, 2006, 8:49
Posts: 10828
Location: Portugal
DRQ is a data request meaning that the drive is either waiting for data to be sent to it's buffer or waiting for data to be fetch from it.

That error in my view is due to damaged/messed firmware because of writing wrong data to some of the module(s) of the drive.

This can be fixed with specialized firmware tools and knowledge, if you are unable to fix it by undoing what you have done with hddhacker thing.

Funny because even yesterday i was talking about many years ago, back in 2006, people were playing with VTools and samsung drives and they would change the Samsung drive model and number to something else. Then when they would attempt to revert the changes the Vtools would just say that the drive would not be supported and it wouldn't work ! Idea is the code of the Vtool would check if you have (or not) a specific model of samsung drive. Now you change the name from samsung to something else. Now Vtools don't know that the drive is still the same even if the name is no longer the same, so it will refuse to work and will state that the drive is not supported.

Tools like HRT (and all decent well written firmware tools) will force the sending of the VSC (vendor specific command) to the selected drive even if model/name doesn't match. In other words, you plug a "WD" drive on the HRT and you run the samsung utility and the VSC that will be send to the drive is the samsung ones. Idea is that if your "WD" drive is not a "WD" but a Samsung renamed to "WD" the firmware by itself will accept it's own vendor specific commands and you can rename it back to the original state.

Not that i think that hddhacker would suffer from the same problem ... Just a reminder of the importance of using proper tools to fix firmware problems. If you don't have decent tools and you are using junk stuff that only supports a few bunch of very specific firmware functions (like hddhacker) when it goes bad you will not be able to fix it with the same tool ... and you are in trouble ...

_________________
1Q9xrDTzTddUXeJAFRn37aqh1Yr6buDCdw - (Bitcoin Donations)
paypal.me/Spildit - (PayPal Donations)
The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 9th, 2015, 19:49 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 12228
Location: Australia
DavidJr wrote:
so i decided to use another BIN

That's your problem. You now have an incompatible module 02 in the SA, or perhaps an incompatible 0D in ROM. Some drives have a backup copy of both modules in the SA (eg module 802F or 802E), but you would need to be able to access the SA in order to retrieve these copies.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 9th, 2015, 21:59 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 29th, 2011, 2:11
Posts: 192
Location: egypt
Quote:
I moved to GpartD again and Gpartd don't detect the HDD, and de HDDHACKR don't shows anything about the HDD now, i can't do anything,


agree with fzabkar that you have corrupt mod 0x02
and your HDD become ROM Model
so you need special tools to work with HDD SA
and re-write mod 0x02 backup if you have backup in Sa like mod
802E or 8032
there are steps to do that
and it's better if you are not technician to give your HDD to specialist in HDD Repair to do that for you
and for Slow problem you say
you can read this article here will help you

http://www.hpwlab.com/hdd/thread-101-1-1.html

_________________
http://www.hpwlab.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DRQ Eror 0x0816 WD 320GB
PostPosted: April 13th, 2015, 18:13 
Offline

Joined: April 9th, 2015, 8:41
Posts: 2
Location: My Moms house
Spildit,

Quote:
http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=141


I will try this. But i dont know, you can help me please?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group