All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Failing 2TB Seagate HDD clone-able with RAW COPY?
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2019, 18:30 

This 2TB drive is used for storage in my W7 i5 16GB tower. It's only 16 months old, but it's suddenly developed bad sectors and will likely fail entirely very soon.
For the moment, I'm able to copy files to another drive but it's extremely slow - like 11 minutes per 1 GB. And there's about 900GB I'd like to retrieve.
Will RAW COPY help with this? Does it do the copying in DOS? How does it cope with bad sectors?

Post subject: Re: Failing 2TB Seagate HDD clone-able with RAW COPY?
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2019, 19:24 

If you can, take it to a pro.

If you can't, perhaps a linux distro with hddsuperclone might be your best choice.

PostPosted: April 24th, 2019, 0:29 

I am a pro. Retired pc builder and serviceman. So RAW COPY won't do the job?

PostPosted: April 24th, 2019, 4:17 

Quote:
>> If you can, take it to a pro.

Quote:
> I am a pro. Retired pc builder and serviceman

By "pro", user DRUG probably meant a pro in data recovery. Not a professional in PC building.
It is like he suggests going to surgeon and you answer him that you are a general practitioner. Both are useful, but not the same specialization.

Quote:
> If you can't, perhaps a linux distro with hddsuperclone might be your best choice.

I agree. Both hddsuperclone and ddrescue will allow software based low level cloning.
Expect some learning curve before you can use them efficiently.

PostPosted: April 24th, 2019, 21:17 

Thanks for the tips, folks.
I should have said the data isn't really important - certainly not enough to warrant paying for its recovery.
Actually, I've managed to retrieve a lot of the files using Beyond Compare. Only problem with this app is that the ailing drive occasionally disappears from Windows and I have to reboot to see it again.