All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: WD10TMVW - Non-Invasive Recover?
PostPosted: May 24th, 2021, 2:49 

Hi all,

I am trying to help a friend recover some photos off a WD10TMVW drive that is not being recognized properly when attached to windows. It is one of the drives with the USB PCBs. I work as an IT admin so I'm reasonably comfortable running software but I am not comfortable doing anything requiring soldering etc to the drive (especially not while there's data that they really want to recover from the disk).

Symptoms:
-On initial power on, the drive does make strange noises, but not the usual hard click that I am familiar with. It sounds more like its scrubbing across the drive? It isn't constant and it does eventually stop.
-On windows the drive is usually recognised but inaccessable - just hangs.
-On linux, after what I assume is a timeout period, I am able to read data with ddrescue.
-ddrescue is painfully slow, even with some tweaking of the parameters (--force -n -N -c32 -R -vvvv)
-ddrescue is throwing ocassional read errors ~1000 every 24 hours of running time.

Progress So Far:
After a few weeks of running ddrescue I was able to get about 80% of the data written to an img file on another drive, but the remaining 20% is crawling along at ~1-2 kb/s so would take literally years to complete at this rate.

Questions
1. Given the symptoms, does this sound like a hardware issue alone? Or could a sata / firmware patch help the situation?
2. Are there any freeware tools that can test if the heads are OK?
3. If there's a bad head, is it possible to do anything in software to disable it and have another head compensate for it?
4. Any other non-destructive tips / tricks that I can try?

Thanks in advance!

Post subject: Re: WD10TMVW - Non-Invasive Recover?
PostPosted: May 24th, 2021, 7:22