All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Seagate mechanical 1T HDD date code 09462
PostPosted: December 3rd, 2022, 12:57 

hello everyone, newbi here.
I am a technologically capable guy from avionics, electronics, high/low voltage power generation, on grid , off grid, and have been a slave to the telecommunications facility design & infrastructure world for decades. I grow my own food, hunt and fix everything i can that still has a chance (see my youtube channel "i fix it all"). Im a troubleshooter, a virgo , and a simple redneck dumb white boy from kentucky. My degree is in computer science for which everything i learned back then now resides in the Smithsonian LOL. Why i am here is for what i dont know.......................... and i am clearly out of my league even posting here but i have very little if any pride when it comes to asking for help !!!!!!!

background:
I recently went through a lenovo laptop hdd failure and worked past all that with fresh windows7 pro , ram upgrade and new ssd. Additionally i purchased a new 4tb WD40EZAZ sata hdd external drive.
My new external 4tb drive is intended to replace my older 1tb seagate mechanical drive which in my opinion was never really an issue all these years (date code 09462) until my son convinced me to start down the rabbit hole of linux.
Linux was saying this external 1tb drive going to possibly fail soon. Historically this 1tb drive new out of the box has never acted up at all. The instructions on how to connect it up always stated to POWER up the external 1tb drive first before ever connecting the USB cable. Even since day 1,,, windows would see the 1tb drive and ask if i wanted to scan it for whatever reason,, which i have always clicked cancel and move on to using it. Using linux convinced me to get a new external drive and begin migration of files from this 1TB drive made years ago to this new 4TB drive.

What i want to do......