All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Accessing/Modifying/Dumping M36L0T05 Flash Contents
PostPosted: June 18th, 2019, 17:43 

I have this little chinese NES knockoff which has built in games that aren't obviously the originals for copyright reasons. I am not asking anyone for help with anything illegal, rom related etc.

I am new to playing with flash memory at a hardware level, and I'd like to learn how to dump the contents of these chips. There are 2 on a controller board of some sort called "M400X2-256A". Ideally I'd like to access the filesystem and change files, look at them etc to learn about it.

I have experience microsoldering, have a microscope, hot air, oscilloscope etc, and some general electronics knowledge, but I will be the first to admit I have a lot to learn. Hence asking these questions. But to give you an idea what I can maybe pull off, is why I posted that info.

Anyway thanks for your time and consideration!

Post subject: Re: Accessing/Modifying/Dumping M36L0T05 Flash Contents
PostPosted: June 18th, 2019, 17:55 

Could we see the PCB?

BTW, a better forum for this type of question would be EEVblog.com or a forum that discusses arcade games, etc.

PostPosted: June 18th, 2019, 17:59 

Here you go, let me know if you need a closeup of anything and I'll post it tomorrow when I get back to work.

Attachments:
board.JPG
board.JPG [ 2.12 MiB | Viewed 39526 times ]

PostPosted: June 18th, 2019, 18:23 

The part number is M36L0T705 and the manufacturer is STMicroelectronics.

I can't find any reference to it, but in any case you may be better off determining the pinout of the 47-pin memory module and working with that. To this end you would need to identify the CPU and hope that its pinout is in the public domain.

FWIW, the M36L0T704 is a 16384 Kb "flash chip" used in the Siemens DreamTeam A31 phone:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f360/dreamteam-a31-flash-error-whats-wrong-343104/

PostPosted: June 18th, 2019, 18:45