All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Questions about M.2 NVME SSDs
PostPosted: September 24th, 2021, 4:28 
Offline

Joined: September 24th, 2021, 4:24
Posts: 1
Location: New York
My main drive is apparently dying and I'm planning to replace it with an NVME since I've noticed some of them are actually cheaper then even big name brand SATA ssds (probably an Adata or a Kingston NVME will be my choice)


However, I am very unfamiliar with M.2 and how they work (or how motherboards work in general) and I just had a few concerns.


It's worth pointing out that my mobo is an **Aorus elite X570 wifi**.


Some people have told me that apparently even though I have the SATA connections and the m.2 slots for all my storage devices, some mobos will only accept a certain amount of storage devices at a time. How can I tell if mine will accept a new NVME on top of the other already installed devices?

ATM, I currently have a 1tb HDD, a 1tb SSD and a 500 gb NVME m.2 into my mobo as a boot drive (I also have a 1tb hdd but that's the drive thats dying and I have to replace; but while I clone its partition to the new drive I would have to have it plugged into the mobo) PLUS the new NVME 1tb. Do you guys think my mobo will be compatible with yet another storage device installed? I can't find anything in the user manual referencing a "maximum accepted storage devices" or anything like that.


2) I noticed on my board that the M.2A slot is really close to the gpu. Like, REALLY close. Almost to a point where I'm nervous the m.2 would even touch it when the heatsink is slapped onto it. Should I be concerned about this? I'm scared I'll buy this new NVME, put all my important applications and files on it only for it to die from the heat emitted by the gpu. Is that how PCs work lol?


Thank you for any help! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about M.2 NVME SSDs
PostPosted: September 24th, 2021, 12:48 
Offline

Joined: November 7th, 2020, 5:31
Posts: 467
Location: The_UK
Assuming this isn't a troll.

1) If you have slots you can populate them - I make that only 5 drives anyway.
2) No. Your NVME will kick out enough of it's own heat.

Who cares if it cooks as you will BACK IT UP regularly, won't you ! :roll:

_________________
The 4 horsemen of data loss : Gravity, Modular PSUs, Youtube and Your mate who works in IT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about M.2 NVME SSDs
PostPosted: September 24th, 2021, 15:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 13664
Location: Australia
Some motherboards share the first SATA port with the m.2 port, so you cannot populate both at the same time.

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions about M.2 NVME SSDs
PostPosted: September 24th, 2021, 15:57 
Offline

Joined: November 7th, 2020, 5:31
Posts: 467
Location: The_UK
https://download.gigabyte.com/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_x570-aorus-elite-wifi_1002_e_v1.pdf
6 SATA and I can't see any mention of shared resources. But given, I am out of touch with all the new toys the cool kids have nowadays :lol:

_________________
The 4 horsemen of data loss : Gravity, Modular PSUs, Youtube and Your mate who works in IT.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group