All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Reading residual dataa from SSD reallocated sectors (blocks)
PostPosted: February 23rd, 2021, 21:38 

This question is driven by curiosity, however it originated from a security concern. SMART attribute #5 is a count of sectors that have been removed from the LBA due to unrecoverable errors and replaced by a spare, from what I gather this is mapped in what is called the G-list for growth/grown defects. For the remainder of this thread I will refer to reallocated sectors as blocks since it is more topic appropriate. I am still a newbie so please correct me on any mistakes or misunderstandings I have, it will only make me SMARTer :? (sorry about that but hey now you understand my experience level on this forum to make such a bold dead horse joke)

The security concern was simple:

Flash storage can fail in a read-only state. Highly sensitive data could potentially reside in failed blocks and so all SSDs with any value in SMART 5 are to be shredded. A little paranoid but fine.

My question:

Is there a method to find those reallocated blocks and read from them using available software? Can I view this G-list from the SATA interface either directly or by a work around? I am certain that if the answer is yes, it will be vendor specific.

Please enlighten but a mere mortal with whatever wisdom you wish to unveil, o ancient ones...

Post subject: Re: Reading residual dataa from SSD reallocated sectors (blo
PostPosted: February 24th, 2021, 4:40