All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: cloning suggestion
PostPosted: September 3rd, 2008, 6:17 

I would like to clone a clicking drive that is slowly failing, (sorry for being so vague, but it can read some sectors) anyway, would like to buy something that would clone and ignore (only 1 retry or none) on bad sector errors, i am considering deepspar disk imager or data compass or what do you suggest? i need something simple and easy to use, even though i am a qualified electronic engineer, and definitely not an DR expert, i would like to avoid extra stress that i sometimes have no patience for, but many times spend days on projects that yeild very little results, anyway, thank you for your genuine replies.

Post subject: Re: cloning suggestion
PostPosted: September 3rd, 2008, 7:55 

Hi,

You could try R-studio or copyr which are software based only and much cheaper.
Copyr has the advantage you can add a power-supply switch, so the software can switch the drive on and off if neccessary (and with bad drives, that is often needed)
Deepspar will cost you 3000$, so only if you have to clone harddisks very often.

Best regards,

Dobre

Datarecovery in Belgium, Holland, France and Germany
Datarecoverytools http://www.drtools.eu

PostPosted: September 3rd, 2008, 19:02 

Thanks for your reply and suggestion Dobre, i have tried copyr.dma in the past with little success (very slow) the rate it was going at ...would take over a month, maybe I was doing something wrong, have you had success? anyway, will keep it mind, studio -r i have not tried and will give that a go...i believe they have a trial version... will set up an experiment here...i have contacted both Salvation & DeepSpar and am leaning towards DeepSpar disk imager if i go ahead, and you are right it is around 3k....data compass is also around same cost

PostPosted: September 4th, 2008, 2:45