MultiDrive – free backup, clone & wipe disk utility from Atola Technology

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: It's a genuine fake
PostPosted: March 6th, 2025, 20:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: September 8th, 2009, 18:21
Posts: 16955
Location: Australia
https://community.wd.com/t/wd-red-from-china-is-it-legit/473434/17

_________________
A backup a day keeps DR away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It's a genuine fake
PostPosted: March 7th, 2025, 4:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 28th, 2009, 10:54
Posts: 3547
Location: Greece
That's indeed hilarious.
The label SCREAMS 'fake'. The PCB is Hitachi.
The WD agent should be fired.

_________________
http://www.northwind.gr
SandForce SSD Recovery
Ransomware Reverse Engineering - NoMoreRansom! partners


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It's a genuine fake
PostPosted: March 7th, 2025, 6:15 
Offline

Joined: October 3rd, 2005, 0:40
Posts: 4753
Location: Hungary
they are owning HGST after all... :lol:

_________________
Adatmentés - Data recovery


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It's a genuine fake
PostPosted: March 8th, 2025, 17:51 
Offline

Joined: March 8th, 2025, 17:31
Posts: 5
Location: North East UK
I am the OP in that WD Thread. I have been running pictures through Grok X.com AI and the only thing it picked up was a mislabel of the drives WD Red Pro and performance of a Red standard. I usually buy from reputable dealers of HDD but when I saw the advert for WD Reds for £30 delivered I though why not can always be returned as there is 90 day buyer protection and they advertised 5 year warranty.

I put some of fzazkbar's point to grok which counter that it was 99.5% a grey import or OEM drive mislabeled. I cant show any pics of the component side of the board as I have returned the drives.

How is the label a dead giveaway? Dashboard/Kitfox both ID the drives as WD Reds although not pros. Are these old Hitachi's from perhaps a data centre re-badged.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It's a genuine fake
PostPosted: March 10th, 2025, 17:50 
Offline

Joined: March 8th, 2025, 17:31
Posts: 5
Location: North East UK
Reply from WD Support, this is the kind of detail I wanted.

Thank you for contacting Western Digital. Unfortunately, the drive you have purchased is an invalid Western Digital label and not a Western Digital valid product. We do honor warranty update from the purchase date, however, every proof of purchase submitted is subject for review and verified within our own records.
According to the label, the serial number doesn't exist, the product shows as WD Red Pro, the part number listed is a WD RED plus; and model WD30EFRX-68EUZN0 has been an End of Life, Discontinued product since Mar-30-2020.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group